DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

WDC
Page 19 of 19 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:00 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sure thing. Let me know if these updates cause any problems. There are a couple of fixes in there that are for bugs that have been in the code a very long time.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: Online Now

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:32 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Good to see the utility being updated again. I've seen a lot of Wolf3D utilities show strong promise ... only for the updating to cease for one reason or another and never get back on track. So the bugfixes and such are welcome posts to read. Smile
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 5:33 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Main new feature in this release is the ability to export in UWMF format for use with ECWolf. This feature is somewhat experimental and might go through some changes over the next few releases.

Single letter shortcuts have been added to the map and image editors which will hopefully improve their usability.
  • Added: Ability to export maps in UWMF for use with ECWolf. See: File -> Export to WAD, then Options -> Export Maps in UWMF and Options -> Additional ECWolf Settings for more information.
  • Added: Ability to set up flat textures for plane 3 which can be used with ECWolf. These are used to create an xlat lump and as part of the UWMF map if exporting in that format.
  • Fixed: Pasting to a map while the map is scrolled was causing the map piece to be pasted to bounced around.
  • Fixed: Copying a section of a map or image then changing the zoom level works better than it did before.
  • Fixed: Selection box behaves better after completing a paste on the map.
  • Added: Project Information -> Other Options: "Ignore top row and left column while error checking maps" for projects that use the top row or left column for map settings that error checking should ignore.
  • Added: Single letter shortcuts for map and image edit tools (Pencil is P, Flood Fill is F, etc. See button tooltips.)
  • Added: Single letter shortcuts for Int (I), Hi Byte (H) and Low Byte (L) map editing modes.
  • Added: Press a number key to change planes while editing maps.
  • Added: Ctrl+Click to temporarily use the Tile Picker tool.
  • Fixed: Pasting past the edge while scrolled right or down in the map and image editors now pastes correctly.
  • Fixed: Map coordinates would sometimes not be fully visible in hexadecimal mode.

The previous version has been left up in case this release has issues.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 170

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:49 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for the update Adam. I wonder if, for the next update (assuming there will be one), would you consider adding more support for Wolf3D's Tile16/Tile16M editing? At present, the only support for them is pretty much just viewing, exporting, and using them in maps. I think the only extra things necessary would be the ability to delete and import them wherever one wishes. Also, whenever I add any Tiles to the VGAGRAPH (using modId), WDC will report an error when attempting to compile the VGA files.

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 11:14 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'll have to look into the Tile16/16Ms stuff. I *might* be able to add support for them for VGA projects. EGA games have more chunk types, I believe.

(I don't know what modId is though)

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 170

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 12:51 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
I'll have to look into the Tile16/16Ms stuff. I *might* be able to add support for them for VGA projects. EGA games have more chunk types, I believe.

(I don't know what modId is though)

Here's the link to the modId repository: https://github.com/owenmpierce/modId

You can read about it there. NY00123 modified it to support exporting/importing Wolf3D's Tile16s/Tile16Ms. It works nicely, but, being a simple command line program, it's not exactly easy to work with.

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 6:26 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for the info about modId.

I won't be able to start looking into this until next month at the earliest.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Falcon*93
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 19 May 2017
Last Visit: 04 Jul 2017

Topics: 5
Posts: 51

usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 9:16 am
   Subject: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for keeping up the great work Adam!
I was pleasently surprised when I opened up WDC the other day and got a notification for program update.
Smile
Glad to see you are still developing WDC.
WDC is my primary editior, then I use Chaos Edit 3d edit mode to see minor changes during level building before testing with major developments with Wolf/SOD.

Having the project management features in WDC really was a leap forward for Wolf modding.

_________________
Falcon 93 Studios
Demo/Level Out - Castle Court
Series/Game Coming - Knights of the SS : BeoWulfenstein
- Episode 1 Armour of Beowulf & Episode 2 The Hrunting Sword -
Smile Collaboration Welcome (:
Atina
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Last Visit: 1:01 ago.

Topics: 2
Posts: 49

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:14 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I ran into an issue that can be quite limiting on the graphic side. I have created various palettes for various projects and i just noticed that WDC fails to import or load the correct colors. The palette editor also fails to load or export the correct ones. I wondered why it kept asking me that the graphics don't have the same palette as the palette which is loaded.
So far i thought it's simply empty warning but with the newest palette i noticed something is wrong. It keeps melting 2-3 colors into 1 single color. Maybe the steps are too small for it to recognize but half of the palette is wasted now. ChaosEditor seems to read it at least ok. I hope it's a simple fix since WDC is a top editor =]
Seems wolfpal.inc and the exe have same issue with doing steps in #define RGB(63,63,63)..(r)*255/63... Is there a way to fix this or is it a limitation and anyone knows what's the problem exactly?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:21 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Would you email me your palette file?
Is that your complete #define?

Not that I think this is affecting anything, but I think (without checking) that WDC uses r*4 instead of r*255/63 for converting from 6-bit to 8-bit R,G,B values, FWIW.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Atina
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Last Visit: 1:01 ago.

Topics: 2
Posts: 49

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:07 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh, I see now. It's cause of VGA effectively using 6-bits for colors. I wasn't doing the color palettes with WDC/CE so i was using a full 8-bit color palette so far.

Could i just change it from
#define RGB(r, g, b) {(r)*255/63, (g)*255/63, (b)*255/63, 0}
to
#define RGB(r, g, b) {(r), (g), (b), 0}
and use
RGB( 255, 255, 255),RGB( 254, 254, 254),RGB( 253, 253, 253),...
instead of values < 64 ?

Would there be issues/advantages/disadvantages then for the SDL version or would it only affect PC systems < 1996 that can't handle higher color depth which probably can't run the SDL version smooth anyways?
And if there are no issues would it be possible to add 8-bit RGB option for WDC without big trouble?

To make it visible for anyone that is interested.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:23 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sorry, I really guess I don't remember this stuff.

It looks like WDC is coded to expect 6-bit values when reading/write to GAMEPAL.OBJ files, Wolf4GW palettes, and Wolf4SDL palettes. When loading, WDC then converts the 0..63 values to 0..252 as mentioned.

How does your palette file look? WDC's method of reading those files is a simple text parser and is probably easy to break.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Atina
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Last Visit: 1:01 ago.

Topics: 2
Posts: 49

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:14 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I sent you the palette. It should look same as on the left side of the image.
It makes sense since the original wolf3d palette is made like that while the original game or Wolf4GW still run under DOS. Not sure why Wolf4SDL would need to have 6-bit RGB color palette converted to 8-bit if it wasn't made for old VGA hardware in the first place.
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 170

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 12:22 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm not sure if this is related to the problem that Atina has mentioned, but I'm having problems with WDC's palette/sprite importing as well. I would normally use ChaosEdit for it, but I recently discovered that WDC has an "import multiple chunks" option, which should make importing a bunch of sprites much faster. But it has a problem:

When using a modified palette, it will always import the sprites while maintaining their palette indexes instead of using the nearest matching colours (like ChaosEdit.) Is there an option anywhere to change this? I'm aware that there's a "convert to current palette" option, but it won't work once the image has been imported, since it just tries to match the already messed up colours.

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:16 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Aryan_Wolf3D: Picture Tools -> Convert to Current Palette -> Walls *should* work. It should match against the color reported by the BMP file. Matching against the indexes color makes no sense since it would simply match the color at the index. This will overwrite existing files.
If this does not work, please email me your palette and a sample BMP.

For individual images, there's a Picture Tools -> Save Image With Current Palette option. This asks to save to a new file instead of just overwriting the existing.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 170

blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:55 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Weird... I used that option, and it didn't seem to change anything. But coming back into the editor appears to update it properly, so it does work after all. Thumbs Up

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:13 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Aryan_Wolf3D wrote:
Weird... I used that option, and it didn't seem to change anything. But coming back into the editor appears to update it properly, so it does work after all. Thumbs Up

Glad to hear that it worked this time. Smile

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 19 of 19 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
Author: Havoc
88 15138 Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:46 am
Havoc View latest post
No new posts [Tutorial] Installing Floedit for Windows 8.1
Author: Ipank7000
5 1658 Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:17 pm
Ipank7000 View latest post
No new posts Demo - Tricob's Base Of Operations
Author: Tricob
7 2077 Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:17 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit preRelease released ;D
Author: Ripper
177 23466 Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:03 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts WinWolf3D Beta Released (Dead)
Author: Adam Biser
70 11643 Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:58 am
Adam Biser View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group