DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Mapping Mania View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2112
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 2:21 am
   Subject: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I got this working with Wolf3d, using the vgafiles from the beta and the mapfiles from the Japanese:

https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZFAmaZvsKX5DM5qNuhEyKMm3jEufPa9j4k

It says you need EMS but I got it running in Freedos without it, maybe because I apparently have 1GB of XMS Laughing

::: CODE :::
Memory Type         Total      Used       Free
----------------  --------   --------   --------
Conventional          636K        22K       614K
Upper                   0K         0K         0K
Reserved              388K       388K         0K
Extended (XMS)   1,039,174K       164K 1,039,010K
----------------  --------   --------   --------
Total memory     1,040,198K       574K 1,039,624K

I used lemm and ny00123's modid (and GIMP) to convert it to an egagraph, as TED5's egamode seems to have been more tested by ID. Aryan_Wolf has made some Episode 4-6 tiles for it too if anyone is interested in a 6-episode compatible version.





P.S. Alt-O can be used to change maps.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 7:27 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7972
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 6:17 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
It says you need EMS but I got it running in Freedos without it, maybe because I apparently have 1GB of XMS Laughing
You might also try EMM386 or QEMM. I never got EMS running in my DOS days, so I can't tell you the pros and cons of these two programs. Sad
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 22 Sep 2017

Topics: 5
Posts: 160

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 6:55 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Chris Yay, you got the Tile16s to show properly!!! Laughing Great job, man! I'm really happy we could get this to work!

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 13 Aug 2017

Topics: 161
Posts: 1073
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 8:40 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Wow this is great! Now i wonder about what sprite editor they used, since it seems they used the same one for Doom.

_________________
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2112
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:23 pm
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Here's an addon to the first zip that also shows the 36 floor colors (taken from the SAMPLMAP TILE16s):

https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZslkGZzOXGsUpi7d8wKYfBoYgU0m0oMrMX

It is not known (yet? Laughing) whether the final egagraph.wl6 used for TED5 had floors closer to the images above or below.

Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 7:27 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7972
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 5:58 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
It is not known (yet? Laughing) whether the final egagraph.wl6 used for TED5 had floors closer to the images above or below.
I doubt it seriously, as such graphics would've been in ESWAP.WL6 instead. Smile

Wolf3D was moved to VGA pretty early on. I'd honestly be surprised if 8-directional sprites of the guards ever existed for EGA. Odds are that Id got fed up with the 16-color limitations long before the Shareware sprites even had a complete set ... with or without enemy sprites.
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2112
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 9:19 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tricob wrote:
Chris wrote:
It is not known (yet? Laughing) whether the final egagraph.wl6 used for TED5 had floors closer to the images above or below.
I doubt it seriously, as such graphics would've been in ESWAP.WL6 instead. Smile

Wolf3D was moved to VGA pretty early on. I'd honestly be surprised if 8-directional sprites of the guards ever existed for EGA. Odds are that Id got fed up with the 16-color limitations long before the Shareware sprites even had a complete set ... with or without enemy sprites.

I think ID Software actually did have an egagraph, egahead, and egadict in the final version of wolf3d, used specifically for the TILE16s in TED5. Three reasons why I believe this is true:

- The GFXE_WL6.H file and it's date "Aug 09 1992" and amount of chunks point to this
- They also stuck with ega TILE16s in TED5 for Rise of the Triad / Wolfenstein II it looks like
- There is enough bugs in the "vgamode" in TED5 that I don't think it got used too much ( Laughing )

When searching for "egagraph.wl6" in quotes in google I found 0 results though... so I'm guessing the elusive egafiles with the final TILE16s used for wolf3d were never released publicly or slipped out yet. NY00123 theorized that maybe the TILE16s seen in the vgagraph (found in the beta) were only added specifically into the game for F10-O, which I think makes the most sense now.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 7:27 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7972
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 12:49 pm
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

For the remainder of the EGAGRAPH files, certainly. It was probably easy to hack up the EGAGRAPH files from Commander Keen and begin work on an EGA version of Wolf3D. Creating an ESWAP file from scratch to run an EGA-compatible version ... I guarantee that takes a little more time and effort. Smile
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 22 Sep 2017

Topics: 5
Posts: 160

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:27 pm
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

For the record, WDC can work with the Tile16s as well.


_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2112
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:57 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Here's some commands I found particularly useful when starting out:

::: CODE :::
EDITING MAPS
Pressing 1 or 2 will control which planes you draw on when you left click the mouse, or do some other operation.

Left Mouse Button    Draw current selected tiles to currently selected planes.
Right Mouse Button   Pick up value of current selected planes

Clicking on the tiles in the lower left corner will bring up a selection box for that plane.

Arrows        Move around map
1                Toggle Background plane drawing on/off
2                Toggle Foreground plane drawing
4                Toggle Background plane display on/off
5                Toggle Foreground plane display
Spacebar    Go to tile selection window
C                Copy a block: left click in upper left corner, right click in
                  lower right. Enter to copy it into buffer. Esc to stop process.
P                Paste from copy buffer wherever mouse is
B                Draw a block of the current selected tiles into current
                  selected planes.
F                 Flood-fill one plane's tiles with currently selected tile.
U                Undo last action.  This is occasionally erratic.  Be careful!
Ctrl-Arrow   Move a screen at a time in any direction

Carmacized Maps will play in Wolf3d v1.1+, but you have to use MTEMP.TMP as the maphead file (the other one is for maptemp).
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2112
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:39 am
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Here's another version that uses the "vga mode":

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9cwx2alp4c1d6ni/ted5vga.zip

This one also has Aryan_Wolf's Episode 4-6 wall tiles, the floor colors, and a 19x11 test map.

In order to get the vga tiles to look right, I had to take a screenshot of the "garble", feed it back in, take another screenshot (this time they were sideways), feed it back in, take another screenshot, and use that 3rd garble to get the correct image. Laughing

Basically I had to make it look like this:



So that it appears like this:



I kept only the secret levels this time as interesting examples, and so that the Carmack compression would be faster.

The create map option works, as long as you do delete map on that slot first. You just have give it a name then type 64 and 64 for the width and height to begin. I didn't edit the object plane (it's still the one from the beta), so you have to guess which tiles are for the Episode 4-6 bosses (I just remember they're near the Episode 1-3 ones Laughing ).

edit: I updated the link in the first post with this version too. It's more fun with the strange vgamode quirks! Haha.
Aryan_Wolf3D
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Last Visit: 22 Sep 2017

Topics: 5
Posts: 160

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:57 pm
   Subject: Re: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Great job getting the tiles to show properly! I love your solution! ;-D

Though seriously, we do need a permanent solution... eventually. Wink

_________________
"Way too many #ifdefs in the code!" - John Carmack
NY00123
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 20 May 2015
Last Visit: 25 Jun 2017

Topics: 1
Posts: 26

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:24 pm
   Subject: TED5 (the map editor used by ID)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As I think I've said in Discord, it is great to finally see Wolf3D editing with TED5 being feasible! (Side-note: It's not exactly the first time, since it was originally done during 1992, heh.)

As already hinted here, maybe TED5's VGA output support was scrapped after a short while, and only EGA was used. (As previously stated, we have EGAGRAPH files for ROTT map editing, and there are chances the VGA Wolf3D tiles were used just for the overhead map.)

Also, in case anybody's wondering, it is possible to get TED5 to recognize CGA graphics!
For my experiments, I used Keen CGA Apogee v1.4. Note that its CGAGRAPH.CK4 structure is a little bit different: It has 1 less font (no star wars scrolling text) and one more bitmap (dunno why).
Luckily, though, the tiles have the exact same offsets as in EGAGRAPH.CK4, meaning that you may copy-and-paste GFXINFOE.CK4 to GFXINFOC.CK4 (although fixes unknown to me might still be required).
Here's more-or-less how I could do it:
- Get a TED5 setup ready for Keen 4 map editing. There's probably something out there ready for you. Alternatively, you can use TEDSETUP.EXE, but you'll first have to unpack KEEN4E.EXE.
- Since this'll actually work (albeit it might be a lil. bit of cheating), copy GFXINFOE.CK4 to GFXINFOC.CK4.
- Extract CGAHEAD.CK4 and CGADICT.CK4 from the unpacked EXE. The offset of CGAHEAD.CK4, which is 14256 bytes long, is 0x1EA30+0x2C00 (in the unpacked KEEN4C.EXE). The offset of CGADICT.CK4 (1024 bytes long) is 0x3375C+0x2C00.
- Hopefully you can get TED5 to work with these graphics!

A few notes on the above:
- If TED5 finds CGA and EGA files, you'll be asked to choose between CGAGRAPH.CK4 and EGAGRAPH.CK4 on startup.
- The Video Mode Switch (F9) will *not* work if there are just CGA graphics. If compatible CGAGRAPH and EGAGRAPH files are present, though, then TED5 will first change from CGA and EGA and then shuffle through the two familiar EGA modes.
- All infoplane sprite graphics are empty. Furthermore, none of the foreground tiles is sparse. I suspect CGAGRAPH.CK4 was more-or-less created on the last minute before Keen 4 v1.0 was released, with virtually all work done with EGA in mind.
- For another hint of this, know about Catacomb 3-D? Well, although unused, it still has CGA-specific code sections from Keen Dreams, including ID_VW_AC.ASM. As in Keen Dreams, though, VW_DrawPropString and ShiftPropChar do *not* take fontnumber into account (Keen Dreams has just a single font). This had to be fixed for Keen 4, of course, but it (very) possibly happened during the last week preceding the release of Keen 4 v1.0.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Mapping Mania View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Is there a 'Manual' for TED5?
Author: BlackLion
0 585 Sat Oct 02, 2004 2:13 pm
BlackLion View latest post
No new posts Have you ever created a map with hidden design in it?
Author: Martin
3 3559 Wed Feb 18, 2004 5:15 pm
Adhesive_Boy View latest post
No new posts Map Making Mania Melee
Author: Zach
97 10499 Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:31 am
nova View latest post
No new posts How do you tackle new maps?
Author: Majik Monkee
19 2794 Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:30 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts The WolfMap Level Editor
Author: Chris
4 2118 Sat Nov 01, 2003 12:58 pm
nova View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group