DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Robbbert
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Last Visit: 10:37 ago.

Topics: 10
Posts: 75

australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:32 pm
   Subject: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It says something about numchunks being 159 instead of 150.

I've tried dozens of different copies of Wolf4SDL and none work.

I'm using the original ID WL6 files that came with the BBS files in another thread.

Any ideas how I can get this to work? I also tried the updated exe file from last year.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 19 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8194
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

There's the Apogee version with the "Read this!" feature and the other versions without. The one with the "Read this!" feature has the larger number of chunks in the VGAGRAPH file.
Robbbert
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Last Visit: 10:37 ago.

Topics: 10
Posts: 75

australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

How do I get Wolf4SDL to work with it?

I had no trouble with SOD4SDL, that worked perfectly fine.

Also, I wanted to get Wolf4SDL to work with the shareware version, but again, the numbers don't match.
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:00 ago.

Topics: 38
Posts: 2485
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:14 am
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Wolf4SDL has to be compiled specifically for a certain set of data files; I think the default compiled version is the "Read This!"-less v1.4. It looks like the Wolf3D Vault has a shareware version compiled (assuming you're using the 1.4 shareware).
Robbbert
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Last Visit: 10:37 ago.

Topics: 10
Posts: 75

australia.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:30 am
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm using v1.4 commercial, and 1.1 shareware.

I'm surprised, since the DOS version seems to be happy to work with any sets of files (within reason), and doesn't need compiling again. I would have thought that the SDL, being more advanced, would *just work*

I'm trying to make up a package for my mother, so I guess I'll just send her a modified set that works.
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:00 ago.

Topics: 38
Posts: 2485
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:01 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The DOS version will likely break with data files it's not expecting if you try to do anything that expects VGAGRAPH chunks in certain places, especially if it tries to use a chunk that's beyond the end of the VGAGRAPH you've given it. The SDL version explicitly checks to make sure that you're using the right one.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 19 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8194
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:39 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I believe one of thsese EXE files will work for you:
::: CODE :::
http://www.veracottis.co.uk/TricobsBaseOfOperationspatchv141.zip
Robbbert
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Last Visit: 10:37 ago.

Topics: 10
Posts: 75

australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:25 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks, I've downloaded it but haven't had the chance to try it out.

I'll get back soon. Very Happy
Robbbert
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Last Visit: 10:37 ago.

Topics: 10
Posts: 75

australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:25 pm
   Subject: Re: Can't get Wolf4SDL to work with original Wolfenstein files
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've tried it out, but sadly, total failure.

Although all of them produced the memory screen, they then either exited without a message, exited saying "Unable to create picture surface", or exited saying it's out of memory.

So, still looking.

In the meantime I found one from a hacked set that mostly works with the non-readme version, I suppose that will have to do.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Doctor Wolfenstein!
Author: AReyeP
6 4157 Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:13 pm
Anonymous View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Plus
Author: Zach
56 11303 Sun May 01, 2005 8:23 am
Blade Nightflame View latest post
No new posts The Wolfenstein Release/Notes Chart
Author: experiencedgamer
4 3465 Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:42 am
experiencedgamer View latest post
No new posts Ideas for the "Wolfenstein" section
Author: Chris
12 4757 Wed Feb 04, 2004 5:17 pm
Zach View latest post
No new posts The Game That Started It All...Wolfenstein 3D
Author: Guest
23 558 Sat Nov 29, 2003 8:34 am
Hair Machine View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group