DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

WDC
Page 20 of 20 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:28 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm not sure that VB.NET would be the best option, but just about anything would be better than VB6. I've considered VB.NET, C#, Java, and Python, but like Tricob mentioned, time has been the real deterrent here.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
serpens
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2019

Topics: 22
Posts: 609
Location: Odrowaz
poland.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:32 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Wolfenstein 3D tile 37 (grey wall w/ Floordrain) is displayed as a floor code. This means they disappear when View Options -> Show Floors is deselected. I'm assuming this is not the intended behavior and thus reporting it as a bug.

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/nawigatorpirx - check my channel for playthroughs of some less well known mods
https://www.mediafire.com/?rs64mtw6ttjo2j3 - Treasure Hunt
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:09 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@serpens: I see wall 37 tagged as a wall code in the installation files. This look like something you accidentally changed. Just open the map tile definitions and change it from floor to wall.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
serpens
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2019

Topics: 22
Posts: 609
Location: Odrowaz
poland.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:49 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Right, I see what's up now. Feel free to ignore my bug report then; it's irrelevant. Apologies.

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/nawigatorpirx - check my channel for playthroughs of some less well known mods
https://www.mediafire.com/?rs64mtw6ttjo2j3 - Treasure Hunt
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:50 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@serpens: No problem.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Arielus
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 0:11 ago.

Topics: 25
Posts: 859
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:48 am
   Subject: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam,

Perhaps the following has been asked before, so sorry if that's been the case.

Is there any way one can expand this section of the map editor...



...so that long wall or object names can be seen completely?

Best,

Ariel

_________________
Hot to Rock - Long Live Metal!
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:21 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Arielus: No there isn't sorry, but hovering over the name should show it as a tool tip.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Arielus
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 0:11 ago.

Topics: 25
Posts: 859
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:56 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
@Arielus: No there isn't sorry, but hovering over the name should show it as a tool tip.

No problem. Thank you for confirming.

Best,

Ariel

_________________
Hot to Rock - Long Live Metal!
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 14 Nov 2019

Topics: 57
Posts: 2246
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:41 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hi Adam,

I was just curious how hard it would be to add the option to make maps larger than 180x180 that can be saved to UWMF format in WDC? That is one of the things that makes UWMF more interesting than original gamemaps format in my opinion, and AstroCreep was working on a cool idea but mentioned having to scale it back currently because of the 180x180 limit in WDC (his map editor of choice).
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:54 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hey Chris,

I don't think it would be easy. The main reason is that WDC saves maps into GAMEMAPS and exporting to UWMF is more of an after-thought.
I will look into it though. Two ideas I have:
1) Research editing the exported map files directly.
2) Have a project setting to allow save with a modified GAMEMAPS format with lengths as 4 bytes instead of 2 bytes to eliminate the original GAMEMAPS limitation.
#2 sounds the easiest.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 8:47 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Version 1.18.402 - 05/14/2019

* Added: Support for GAMEMAPS with 32-bit lengths. Set the maximum map size for this setting at 512x512. (Chris).
Project Information -> Other Options -> Use 32-bit GAMEMAPS lengths
Note that once a GAMEMAPS of this type is created, there is currently no way to go back to the original GAMEMAPS format.
Use with caution.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
AstroCreep
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 23 May 2015
Last Visit: 14:30 ago.

Topics: 39
Posts: 213
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 6:12 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I LIKE BIG MAPS AND I CANNOT LIE

Will big maps work with ecwolf fine or will I have to export to UWMF first
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 6:43 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The GAMEMAPS file structure changed (all lengths - plane length, Carmack, RLEW expand length - are now 32-bit), so without code changes, just UWMF.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 0:13 ago.

Topics: 110
Posts: 1748
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 7:18 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've found that if I try to adjust the number of map planes after changing the map sizes to 512x512 causes "Error 6 in SetupDLLFiles: Overflow"

_________________
WolfSource - Your news source since the beginning of time (2019)
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 7:40 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Zombie_Plan: Thanks for letting me know. Will check it out.
Try compiling GAMEMAPS after checking the 32-bit lengths setting and see if that helps. How many planes did you want to have?

I might have to force the compilation process to when leaving Project Information after setting that value.

EDIT: Never mind, that doesn't work. Will research.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 0:13 ago.

Topics: 110
Posts: 1748
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 8:05 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As another minor error; when you go to exit without saving and it prompts you to compile, it comes up with the "If you compile GAMEMAPS 32-bit you cannot go back" stuff. If you go "oh shit I dont want to do that" and click no, the program accepts that as "Exit without saving" and closes the program, rather than exiting the dialogues like you were cancelling the compile and letting you change those settings before compiling again.

A bit rambly, but does that make sense?

_________________
WolfSource - Your news source since the beginning of time (2019)
AstroCreep
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 23 May 2015
Last Visit: 14:30 ago.

Topics: 39
Posts: 213
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 12:55 pm
   Subject: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

fyi, for shits and giggles I loaded a 256x256 gamemaps format map in ecwolf and it seemed to load. WDC also seems to want to crash trying to export big maps in UWMF. So it seems at the present the opposite is true lmfao.
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 14 Nov 2019

Topics: 57
Posts: 2246
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 2:23 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
Version 1.18.402 - 05/14/2019

* Added: Support for GAMEMAPS with 32-bit lengths. Set the maximum map size for this setting at 512x512. (Chris).
Project Information -> Other Options -> Use 32-bit GAMEMAPS lengths
Note that once a GAMEMAPS of this type is created, there is currently no way to go back to the original GAMEMAPS format.
Use with caution.

Thanks Adam! Your #2 idea was great, as it opened the door for me to easily try out some 64x64 and 256x256 32-bit gamemaps in Wolf4SDL as well (not sure if my code changes were exactly right, but it worked so far in my test). Very Happy

Somewhat related: I'm not sure if you knew, but AstroCreep and serpens have also been using your "Wolf4GW Format" to make IMFs over 64K. I compiled some of AstroCreep's Nine Inch Nails IMFs into an audiot file for fun to replace over the default Wolf4SDL one (I think the longest imf in it was the E1L9/E2L9 replacement ALL_PIGS at a whopping 337KB Laughing ).
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 7:05 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Zombie_Plan: I think I've found a solution around that. Checking that setting will require a compile upon closing Project Information, the same as changing the number of map planes.

@AstroCreep: That's cool. By chance it works. Smile Certainly not planned by me. Will check the error.

@Chris: Glad to see some of these extra/unlimited abilities are being put to use. Smile

EDIT:
@AstroCreep: Does WDC raise an error when you export to UWMF? I can't duplicate the problem.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
AstroCreep
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 23 May 2015
Last Visit: 14:30 ago.

Topics: 39
Posts: 213
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 8:03 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

No it just freezes. However I am using it in virtualbox donít know if it has anything to do with it. However, at the present it really doesnít matter for what Iím working on. It is cool looking at UWMF though. Interested in how you have greater control over thing placement and how you can set plane heights to values that arenít multiples of 64.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 8:40 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@AstroCreep: When I tested with a single 512x512 map it was abysmally slow. I'm going to guess that the "freeze" is really it just taking a REALLY long time to create the UMWF. I'll see if I can speed it up some before posting the update. Probably not.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
AstroCreep
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 23 May 2015
Last Visit: 14:30 ago.

Topics: 39
Posts: 213
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 6:59 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Gotcha gotcha. Good to know.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 12:59 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

WDC 1.18.403

​Just a quick fix for 32-bit GAMEMAPS lengths:

  • Fixed: GAMEMAPS now must be compiled when closing Project Information after setting it to 32-bit lengths.
  • Fixed: Can now change the number of planes when using 32-bit GAMEMAPS lengths.
  • Fixed: Exporting UWMF maps should be faster than before.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 0:13 ago.

Topics: 110
Posts: 1748
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:20 pm
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hey Adam! I had a (hopefully small) feature request, if you had the time. Would it be possible to have the ability to edit maps with tiles bigger than 7x7? I've looked but I can't find if there is a way to do so.

_________________
WolfSource - Your news source since the beginning of time (2019)
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:26 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That functionality is there. Look above the tile list. There should be plus and minus buttons. I can't be more specific because I don't have there program here where I'm at now, but I hope that helps you find it.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 0:13 ago.

Topics: 110
Posts: 1748
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:26 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
That functionality is there. Look above the tile list. There should be plus and minus buttons. I can't be more specific because I don't have there program here where I'm at now, but I hope that helps you find it.


I see + and - buttons for zooming in and out on the map editor, but not for making the map symbols bigger than 7x7. I realize I should have been clearer

_________________
WolfSource - Your news source since the beginning of time (2019)
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Nov 2019

Topics: 46
Posts: 2335
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:40 am
   Subject: Re: WDC
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ah, I understand now. That's not in there, aside from the ability to use TILE16/16M when they exist, but they can't be edited. I followed MapEdit's size for them.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 20 of 20 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.13 released!
Author: Havoc
89 30870 Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:16 am
Havoc View latest post
No new posts [Tutorial] Installing Floedit for Windows 8.1
Author: Ipank7000
5 3429 Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:17 pm
Ipank7000 View latest post
No new posts Demo - Tricob's Base Of Operations
Author: Tricob
7 3789 Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:17 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit preRelease released ;D
Author: Ripper
177 42891 Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:03 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts WinWolf3D Beta Released (Dead)
Author: Adam Biser
70 21497 Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:58 am
Adam Biser View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group