DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Covert the Entire Wolf3d
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> DieHard Archives View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 5:24 pm
   Subject: Covert the Entire Wolf3d
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I don't know if this is possible, but anyone know if there's some way to convert Wolf3d from DOS to something more advanced, like to a 32-bit Windows?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 5:32 pm
   Subject: Re: Covert the Entire Wolf3d
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

There have been several attempts to varying degrees of success...
Straight from 3dgpu.com:

Quote:
Wolfenstein 3D:
NewWolf: Wolfenstein 3D in openGL. http://wolfgl.narod.ru/ I think this has pretty much been abandoned. It does work. Word is Darkwolf is going to do Wolf3D in the Quake Engine!
WinWolf3D: http://winwolf3d.tripod.com/
WolfGL: http://wolfgl.sourceforge.net/


Link to the "Retro Gaming Links" topic in the forum:
http://www.3dgpu.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=6285

WinWolf3D is one of my projects, but it has been on hold for about a year. Hopefully I can restart it soon.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 7:50 am
   Subject: Re: Covert the Entire Wolf3d
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
There have been several attempts to varying degrees of success...
Straight from 3dgpu.com:

Quote:
Wolfenstein 3D:
NewWolf: Wolfenstein 3D in openGL. http://wolfgl.narod.ru/ I think this has pretty much been abandoned. It does work. Word is Darkwolf is going to do Wolf3D in the Quake Engine!
WinWolf3D: http://winwolf3d.tripod.com/
WolfGL: http://wolfgl.sourceforge.net/


Yes, first link, that's mirror completely abandoned as sound, I tried to check it out few times, and he don't update any information about newwolf anyway...
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 10:56 am
   Subject: Re: Covert the Entire Wolf3d
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Maybe this new Wolf generation can finish with any memory problems.
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Oct 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 4:02 am
   Subject: Re: Covert the Entire Wolf3d
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Nemesis wrote:
Maybe this new Wolf generation can finish with any memory problems.


Since we can use RAM memory, yeah it would. But I wouldn't waste my time converting wolf (No offense guys), but I would rather make my own raycaster. Look for "Raycasting tutorial" from the web, damn I had a link for a good one, but I had to format my HD, because XP went haywire Evil or Very Mad ...

Although, I must say, it wasn't necessarily such a bad thing... (I must recommend this for everyone)


EDIT: I found the link. Here try this: http://www.permadi.com/tutorial/raycast/

It's part of FastClick network so I would disable my cookies if I were you. Wink

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Executor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 53
Posts: 709

usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:51 pm
   Subject: How difficult would it be to code Wolf in protected mode?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I know that Apogee converted the Wolfenstein engine to protected mode for Rise of the Triad, so it is beyond a doubt possible. But how difficult would it be to convert the engine into protected mode? Currently, Wolfenstein is stuck with 640k of conventional memory and up to 1MB of additional memory. But with protected mode, people's computers are really the only thing hindering you from using as much memory as you want. And since everybody has computers that would pummel the most powerful supercomputers of the days when Wolfenstein was developed, you'd have no problem allocating 16 MB or so to a protected-mode version of Wolfenstein. Just think of what the engine could do with 16MB--larger maps, more sprites, larger textures...maybe even a 16-bit color mode without having to use the buggy, rather crude OpenGL version of Wolfenstein.

But, besides the difficulty of redoing much of the engine, this would only compound the problem of compatibility with older add-ons--Wolfenstein has a terribly inflexible engine (one of the reasons it was instantly doomed when the Doom specs were released [no pun intended])! To make a real add-on nowadays, you have to change many aspects of the source code. But then--uh-oh--you've broken compatibility with the original game! And since everybody makes different changes to their EXEs, none of the different add-ons work with each other. Protected mode will make this problem much greater. Every time a new cool feature pops up, the Totengraeber engine I use for The Final Assault and The Road to Despair becomes more and more obsolete and I can't do a thing about it without radical changes throughout my add-on. This is in stark contrast to DOOM source modifications: if you set the ZDOOMGL port to 1024x768 with dynamic lighting and 3D models, you can load almost any hoary old wad from the dark ages and see it in 1024x768 with dynamic lighting and 3D models (even though it will still be a crappy level, albeit a nicer-looking one).

_________________
My Wolf3D mods on ModDB
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Oct 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:18 am
   Subject: Re: How difficult would it be to code Wolf in protected mode
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Do you mean a DJGPP conversion?

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Executor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 53
Posts: 709

usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:45 pm
   Subject: Re: How difficult would it be to code Wolf in protected mode
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Codetech84 wrote:
Do you mean a DJGPP conversion?

Huh?

_________________
My Wolf3D mods on ModDB
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 15 Oct 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:51 pm
   Subject: Re: How difficult would it be to code Wolf in protected mode
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

DJGPP is a dos based compiler made by Delorie Jones. I still don't understand why you want to port it to protected mode, if I would do it, I would port it to windows rather than dos.

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> DieHard Archives View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Help: windows 7 activation product...
Author: acuvialVoinia
3 45 Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:50 am
TheTalentedMrLeo View latest post
No new posts I need some copies of Wolf3D...
Author: Larry Stein
29 6574 Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:04 am
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts 0049 "Don't Use" question...[Remove to Wolf3D Foru
Author: Thomas
0 1618 Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:27 pm
Thomas View latest post
No new posts [curious] VOXELS in Wolf3d
Author: ChiefRebelAngel
8 2895 Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:28 pm
JoeWolf View latest post
No new posts [Info] Running Wolf3d in an XP DosBox
Author: Chris
5 2679 Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:48 am
Chris View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group