DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

CyClones?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Other Wolf3d Based Games View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Martin
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 09 Sep 2014

Topics: 8
Posts: 152
Location: Wroclaw
poland.gif

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 2:29 am
   Subject: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

CyClones? I can bet many of you didn't hear anything about this game.. It's a 3D shooter, but it looks more like Wolfenstein 3D than Doom or (haha) Quake - the maps are very simple. It is very unique because of very innovative moving system. The crosshair isn't just in the center of screen in this game. You can use your mouse to move it! It's pretty hard to get into it, but it's very funny. Graphics, storyline and gameplay are just medium, but there are some cool sounds and musics. There are also some movies in it (I don't know what about Internet version - I had a CD edition borrowed from a friend).

It was produced by SSI. Requires 486DX/33 and 4 MB RAM. It was released on CDs only, and it's available on Underdogs (http://www.the-underdogs.org/game.php?id=1480)

Has anyone played it? It's a very nice experiment, and the game is really interesting (but hard).

Martin

p.s. I'm not sure about the engine.. so I don't know is it a good section.



EDIT: The Underdogs version is a cd-rip, so it doesn't have any movies.. a shame.

_________________
Martin
Mishran
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Last Visit: 04 Jun 2017

Topics: 5
Posts: 104
Location: Delta Base
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:21 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I had that game, I thought it was a good game. Bought the CD version at Wal-Mart back when it was $15.00. I actually remember there was a small catalog of games that came in the box that mentioned a floppy version as well. Really good game, wish I still had it. Oh, well. Neutral

_________________
Corridor 8 Lives!

Check out my Corridor 8 Overview
Ringman
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 08 Aug 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 1172
Location: up my nose
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:58 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I played the game awhile back, the first part of the first level was cool, but after that it kind of got blaze.
Mikey X
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Last Visit: 06 May 2012

Topics: 1
Posts: 312
Location: Vermont
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 9:34 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Never even heard of CyClones, the screenshot looks pretty cool though.
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 8:40 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Martin wrote:
CyClones? I can bet many of you didn't hear anything about this game.. It's a 3D shooter, but it looks more like Wolfenstein 3D than Doom or (haha) Quake - the maps are very simple. It is very unique because of very innovative moving system. The crosshair isn't just in the center of screen in this game. You can use your mouse to move it! It's pretty hard to get into it, but it's very funny. Graphics, storyline and gameplay are just medium, but there are some cool sounds and musics. There are also some movies in it (I don't know what about Internet version - I had a CD edition borrowed from a friend).

It was produced by SSI. Requires 486DX/33 and 4 MB RAM. It was released on CDs only, and it's available on Underdogs (http://www.the-underdogs.org/game.php?id=1480)

Has anyone played it? It's a very nice experiment, and the game is really interesting (but hard).

Martin

p.s. I'm not sure about the engine.. so I don't know is it a good section.



EDIT: The Underdogs version is a cd-rip, so it doesn't have any movies.. a shame.
that game is for dos Crying or Very sad
Arielus
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13:49 ago.

Topics: 20
Posts: 763
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
argentina.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 3:19 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That is correct, the game was developed by Raven Software and published by Strategic Simulations, Inc. in the year 1996. It can be run under MS DOS mode, yes...

Now, why the tears?

Ariel.

_________________
Hot to Rock - Long Live Metal!
Hair Machine
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2018

Topics: 8
Posts: 431
Location: editing my profile
uk.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:47 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Arielus wrote:
That is correct, the game was developed by Raven Software and published by Strategic Simulations, Inc. in the year 1996. It can be run under MS DOS mode, yes...

Now, why the tears?


Here's my guess: THE EVIL WINDOWS XP!!! This game would probably run at an abysmal speed in Dosbox... Seriously, WinXP is now really beginning to tick me off. Even trying to play Wolfenstein 3d is painful... And that can run on a 286!!!! Angry

_________________
Rar rar fiddle di dee
Arielus
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13:49 ago.

Topics: 20
Posts: 763
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
argentina.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:00 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, you can always try another operative system. There ain't no need to get rid of Windows XP, if, as Hair Machine guesses, that's the one you're currently using... I haven't done this myself, but things can be set so that your computer can boot in any operative system you desire. Keeping Windows XP, a second option could be installed, like Windows '98, an MS DOS version, like the 6.22 one, or any other operative system you can think of, which makes things easier when it comes to play oldy games.

Again: I haven't done this myself, so I could help no further from here.

Ariel.

_________________
Hot to Rock - Long Live Metal!


Last edited by Arielus on Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
experiencedgamer
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2007

Topics: 4
Posts: 70
Location: CT
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:01 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hair Machine wrote:
Arielus wrote:
That is correct, the game was developed by Raven Software and published by Strategic Simulations, Inc. in the year 1996. It can be run under MS DOS mode, yes...

Now, why the tears?


Here's my guess: THE EVIL WINDOWS XP!!! This game would probably run at an abysmal speed in Dosbox... Seriously, WinXP is now really beginning to tick me off. Even trying to play Wolfenstein 3d is painful... And that can run on a 286!!!! Angry


You're right. What a shame Win XP has no DOS. Sad
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:45 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I have win xp Sad and up me other pc have I dos. Wink
Hair Machine
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2018

Topics: 8
Posts: 431
Location: editing my profile
uk.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 2:43 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Arielus wrote:
I haven't done this myself, but things can be set so that your computer can boot in any operative system you desire. Keeping Windows XP, a second option could be installed, like Windows '98, an MS DOS version, like the 6.22 one, or any other operative system you can think of, which makes things easier when it comes to play oldy games.


Yes, you are right. I've been looking into this, to install Windows 95 as a new OS. Here, WinXP reveals itself to be even crappier; it uses a different File Allocation Table to other Windows'. So you have to go through a whole mission of partitioning your hard disk into two drives, one that uses the WinXP FAT and one that runs under FAT32, which enables 32 bit Windows systems such as 95/98. Then, you have to download a boot selector so booting into your new OS is possible... Then install the older windows onto the new partition. However, the boot selector works by changing a vital file; which apparently can result in your computer REFUSING to boot up point blank. So I'm not going to do it unless I'm 101% sure I know what I'm doing...

If someone has any info on how to do this, it will be VERY MUCH APPRECIATED by me (and, I'm sure, others) if you could share it around... As Dave (Chadd? lol) said, I wish Microsoft had put Dos in WinXP. Those evil opressors of retro gamers!! Evil or Very Mad

_________________
Rar rar fiddle di dee
experiencedgamer
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2007

Topics: 4
Posts: 70
Location: CT
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:44 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I guess Microsoft didn't know that we wolfers are still retro players.

EDIT: I'm another Win XP user too. Bet that Bill Gates got a lot of complaints about no DOS in XP.
Martin
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 09 Sep 2014

Topics: 8
Posts: 152
Location: Wroclaw
poland.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 2:44 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmm.. That's interesting, Hair Machine..

I'm in making of a project, which will have FreeDos, Win 98 and Slackware Linux on one disk (only split to partitions). It's a hard way to go through, but it makes you more experienced.. You know what I'd try? Go to a friend which has '95, '98 or ME edition of Windows, ask him for a boot disk, and then run your computer from it.. I don't know is it going to work - I never used Windows XP, honestly.

_________________
Martin
experiencedgamer
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2007

Topics: 4
Posts: 70
Location: CT
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 3:38 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Isn't DOSBox helpful?
Hair Machine
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2018

Topics: 8
Posts: 431
Location: editing my profile
uk.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 8:29 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh yeah, DosBox is decent enough up to a point... But it runs very slowly on my PC, so when you start adding features that consume power (such as textures on the floor and ceiling) it begins to drag... a lot. That means no DooM, Hexen, Heretic, Blake Stone, etc.... Probably no CyClones, either. If you have a PC that runs at a fast speed, and can run things like UT2004 no problem, then DosBox is probably all you need. But my PC isn't that fast. I want real Dos! Crying or Very sad

Oh, BTW Martin, that boot disk idea was quite good, and gave me another plan! That is to get another (portable) hard disk and install my operating system onto this. This should mean that I can boot into it using a boot disk or boot selector without going into the partition minefield...

_________________
Rar rar fiddle di dee
Martin
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 09 Sep 2014

Topics: 8
Posts: 152
Location: Wroclaw
poland.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 8:35 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

You may also try FreeDos.. I think it can be installed as a system on a 3,5 disk and it's fully bootable then. Check out www.freedos.org.

_________________
Martin
Kuki
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 18 Jan 2010

Topics: 6
Posts: 43
Location: Torun/Olsztyn, Poland
poland.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:53 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Quote:
I'm in making of a project, which will have FreeDos, Win 98 and Slackware Linux on one disk (only split to partitions). It's a hard way to go through, but it makes you more experienced..


It's really not that hard, maybe just a bit at the first time Smile

I have no experience with FreeDos on it's own partition, just running under DOSemu, but I suppose it should work in a simliar way to MS-DOS, just a bit better. Well, tell me when you finish your project how do you like it.

BTW is your Win98 an illegal copy?

Kuki
Martin
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 09 Sep 2014

Topics: 8
Posts: 152
Location: Wroclaw
poland.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 5:36 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sure thing... Cake

I had to change the hard drive because I couldn't even set MS-Dos extended partition so I can install FreeDos in it - I believe it's all about the virus that was on that disk before formatting. I got a new one, and I'm going to make partitions today.

_________________
Martin
Hair Machine
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2018

Topics: 8
Posts: 431
Location: editing my profile
uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2004 2:00 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hahaha... Just be careful Martin... Just yesterday I was trying to partition my drive into two, to get Win 98 on one part and Win XP on the other. DISASTER! I wiped my entire hard drive (stupidly I made no backups Confused )
And I still didn't get the dual boot to work! Still, one odd upshot of all this is that now Dos works, (albeit to a limited level), on my computer!! Wierd stuff.... But I'm not complaining too hard... *chucks the floppy containing DosBox in the bin* Mr Green

Gotta rewrite half my source code, though. Damn.

_________________
Rar rar fiddle di dee
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 4:18 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I am don't instal DOS. Razz Smile
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 5:23 am
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

wolfenstein3d fan wrote:
I am don't instal DOS. Razz Smile

Ahhhhh bad english

DOS i don't need it.
Very Happy
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:56 pm
   Subject: Re: CyClones?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

How can anyone actually say the Cyclones engine and the Wolf3d engine are (almost) similar? It's true, the levels are a bit... simple. But it still is superior to the much older Wolf3d engine in probably every aspect one could think of.

[off topic]I'm completely with Martin: FreeDos is a great OS. Especially since it supports FAT-32 partitions. If anybody wants to play some old games, just get FreeDos and install it as a secondary OS.[/off topic]
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Other Wolf3d Based Games View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Has Anyone else Played this Game
Author: BrotherTank
49 17367 Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:46 pm
Frenkel View latest post
No new posts Editing Blake Stone graphics, sounds, and music in FloEdit
Author: Guest
11 289 Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:38 pm
Ringman View latest post
No new posts blake graphics
Author: themannwhoknows
37 2529 Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:56 am
sentenced View latest post
No new posts Corridor 7 CD-ROM: Rendezvous with an Old Friend
Author: Anonymous
17 603 Sat Jul 17, 2004 7:35 am
Frenkel View latest post
No new posts Can anyone remember this game????
Author: nova
21 385 Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:59 pm
Guest View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group