DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Unable to update website
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> AReyeP & MCS Games Support View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
AReyeP
Pixel Master
Pixel Master


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2013

Topics: 23
Posts: 445
Location: Jo'burg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:05 pm
   Subject: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hi all Wink

What a major bummer ... I had my internet sharing working perfectly last month using Sygate Home Network, and was able to update my site news page etc from one of my Win 98 PCs ... now the sharing isn't working (didn't help after I had a virus that buggered up desktop settings) and I had to reinstall from a backup image file a few days ago. Now I can't get the sharing to work at all, I've uninstalled Sygate and reinstalled, and adjusted various settings, and still no luck. And given the PC connected directly to the net is using Win XP and won't load Yahoo Pagemaker, I'm kind of stuck.

Does anyone here use Pagemaker on a Win XP based system? It appears to be a Java based issue, but even after installing Sun Java, I still have no luck. Or does anyone know of a good internet sharing program (not Windows ICS though ... I'd like one that runs only on the PC connected directly to the net and that's not too fiddly to set up.

Alternatively, it seems I may have to start using another webpage creation proggy Razz

Take care all and cyas soon
Steve

_________________
"How lucky for those in power that the majority of people don't think."
... Adolf Hitler!
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 3:47 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

How about using frontpage? That is what I use. And if you're website is hosted by yahoo and if you are patient, you could try using pagebuilder.

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 11:55 ago.

Topics: 163
Posts: 8166
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 5:42 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AReyeP wrote:
Does anyone here use Pagemaker on a Win XP based system?

I can probably help you out if you tell me which version of XP you've got. Is it the Home Edition or the Professional Edition?
AReyeP
Pixel Master
Pixel Master


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2013

Topics: 23
Posts: 445
Location: Jo'burg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 9:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tricob wrote:
AReyeP wrote:
Does anyone here use Pagemaker on a Win XP based system?

I can probably help you out if you tell me which version of XP you've got. Is it the Home Edition or the Professional Edition?


Thanks for helping guys Smile It's the Professional version (SP1) ... I also have SP2 but haven't installed it again after restoring my backup as I find it's default security settings to be a little too draconian Smile

_________________
"How lucky for those in power that the majority of people don't think."
... Adolf Hitler!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 11:55 ago.

Topics: 163
Posts: 8166
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:13 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AReyeP wrote:
I also have SP2 but haven't installed it again after restoring my backup as I find it's default security settings to be a little too draconian Smile

You may have - depending on what Pagemaker version you have - saved yourself a lot of frustration by not installing SP2. The link below tells why.

http://www.igniq.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=179

No luck finding a WinXP-specific guide yet, but I haven't stopped looking, either.
AReyeP
Pixel Master
Pixel Master


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2013

Topics: 23
Posts: 445
Location: Jo'burg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 8:39 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks again for that ... pretty extensive list of proggies that don't run well with SP2 aren't there?!!!
I thinkulimately I'll have no choice but to go with something like Pagebuilder in the end ... at least this way I can work offline too. Only thing is I'll have to see how it handles the pages made with Pagemaker.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 08 Aug 2018

Topics: 46
Posts: 2313
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:24 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

PageMaker is in Java? What JRE do you have installed? 1.5?
A plain text editor has always been my preference. I think Mozilla has a webpage composer, not sure.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
AReyeP
Pixel Master
Pixel Master


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2013

Topics: 23
Posts: 445
Location: Jo'burg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:48 pm
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
PageMaker is in Java? What JRE do you have installed? 1.5?
A plain text editor has always been my preference. I think Mozilla has a webpage composer, not sure.


Hi Adam - yep - this is always one of the problems I have with Pagemaker - under Windows 98 I never have a problem running it. The version of Java that comes with Win 98 must be OK I imagine ... but with Win XP I have to install some version of Java to get Pagemaker to run. The Pagemaker loading page asks if you have Java turned on or installed - well it is turned on but the link to load Pagamaker doesn't display (supposedly because java isn't installed), so if you click to install Java from the Pagemaker webpage, it takes you to the Sun Java website and you can download and install Sun java. But, this never seems to help! Plus Sun java seems a little invasive to my way of thinking ... perhaps it's just my imagination Smile

_________________
"How lucky for those in power that the majority of people don't think."
... Adolf Hitler!
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 07 Jun 2016

Topics: 101
Posts: 1614
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 4:16 am
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad I always visit your site, in hope of updates. I am very sad abou this Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
AReyeP
Pixel Master
Pixel Master


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Feb 2013

Topics: 23
Posts: 445
Location: Jo'burg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 6:29 am
   Subject: Re: Unable to update website
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well the good news is that I finally got the internet sharing working with XP's own internet sharing. Dunno why I didn't try this earlier, guess it was after a bad experience with the version of ICS that came with Win98SE.
Thanks all for your help and suggestions - seems the solution was staring me in the face but the name Microsoft scared me away Smile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> AReyeP & MCS Games Support View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Testing a Fix for the Map 11 Bug
Author: BrotherTank
45 1189 Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:31 am
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts EOD Manual/Web site
Author: Majik Monkee
1 908 Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:11 pm
ChiefRebelAngel View latest post
No new posts Another month without EoD.
Author: The Master
24 4045 Fri May 14, 2004 12:43 pm
Guest View latest post
No new posts Find Spear Resurrection on website
Author: Guest
1 85 Sat May 08, 2004 1:57 am
Guest View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Mod appears in Retro Gamer
Author: jamez
11 2593 Sat Apr 17, 2004 7:33 am
jamez View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group