DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> AReyeP & MCS Games Support View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 8:12 am
   Subject: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

i played through eod 1.04. all levels that i found. and all worked. however, the game sometimes dumps out on me. it is a very minor bug that i encountered in the previous releases, but i don't recomend any changes. the major bugs are fixed, so i would just save often and not worry about it. Anyway, great work, and thanks AReyeP, MCS, and all else involved with eod. It turned out greater than i ever thought imaginable.

Happy Holidays

Hellknight0131
Commodore
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 28 May 2004
Last Visit: 29 Mar 2008

Topics: 15
Posts: 263
Location: :noitacoL
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 8:36 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

i've had dumps happen, but I assume its due to running it with restricted amounts of memory.

_________________
z2 - ZZT Archive
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 23 Sep 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 2143
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:13 am
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Just for completeness sake, did you guys notice anything else wrong in v1.04?

I noticed a bug which I think someone mentioned before; or something similar. Just press 2, wait for a guard to come kill you, then press 3 right before he kills you; and you'll have the shotgun in your next life. This works for any weapon (though some would be pointless to use, since you'd start off with 0 ammo). I'm guessing that adding one line of code to set the frames for the "weapons scrolling" back to 0 in the Died() function and/or the restart level area of the code would easily fix this problem; though.

Also, I saw some pink dots appearing in odd random places on walls once; that was cool. Mr Green
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:31 am
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I also noticed that some doors seem to open by themselves! They open even if you do not press the spacebar or the use button! An example is a door in the run and gun level and in the level with the Cyber Troop boss.

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 23 Sep 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 2143
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:36 am
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

wolf3dbreaker wrote:
I also noticed that some doors seem to open by themselves! They open even if you do not press the spacebar or the use button! An example is a door in the run and gun level and in the level with the Cyber Troop boss.

I always thought that was intentional. Considering everything, I'm sure they did it just to creep us out. Twisted Evil
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:19 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

No. What I mean is that if you just walk unto them without pressing the spacebar or the use button, they just open!

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2255
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:45 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yes... that is automatic doors....

Works just the same as the automatic doors worked in Blake Stone. When you hit a point on the map in front of the door, it opens automatically. As Chris said... It was done intentionally.

It is NOT a bug.

Greg
BrotherTank

_________________

The probability of someone watching you is directly related to the Stupidity of your actions
&
The two most abundant things in the Universe are Hydrogen & Stupidity - H.Ellison

Which of those is more relevant to you??
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:29 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh, I'm sorry. I thought it was just a bug. It looks like there is another amazing coding done by MCS!


By the way, when I get to some secret areas, the game crashes. I think its because I don't have enough memory. Just wanted to point that out anyway.

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 23 Sep 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 2143
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:42 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Just wanted to point out that today was the first time I played Level 1 all the way through (surprising, isn't it?). Our good friend Murphy made a couple of unexpected appearances in the game (with V1.04). Man, that guy is sporadic...






1 - Screen goes blueish green and freezes/pauses when near the gate (VDMSound)
2 - Pink dots appear permanently on the walls unexpectedly (normal Dos)
3 - Vertical lines appear permanently on certain sprites (normal Dos)
4 - Objects become "bright", while walls remain shadowed (normal Dos and VDMSound)

Took a little time to narrow the problems down. The first 3 bugs happened because I was playing V1.04 with no sounds on (only having music enabled); after picking up or shooting certain objects. The other one seems to happen because the "flash" when the guard shoots sometimes goes backwards and makes all other sprites bright instead of the shooting guard (permanently). I couldn't get the game to even run without strange errors in DosBox, so all screenshots were taken with a Digital Camera. Smile


Last edited by Chris on Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:00 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hey, and by the way, if you use the Backspace S to turn of shading, it works but the directional sprites are still shaded. Wink
Maybe MCS forgot to turn of the shading for the directional sprites.

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:54 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

sometimes I got bumped out of game very quickly even playing in plain dos.


I check the memory that report 360,279 by EOD, but I still getting bump off in each level after I saved before I starts the level each time... I think the 'cache' in EOD isnt enrough to clear the level before next level being played.
Blade Nightflame
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Last Visit: 16 Dec 2008

Topics: 1
Posts: 117

slovenia.gif

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:09 am
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I never got a problem in EoD, WXP with VDMSound runs EOD REAL good. The left and right memory display is literally at the top. :3

_________________
'Halten Sie!'
Haasboy
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 12 Oct 2018

Topics: 58
Posts: 581
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:04 pm
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

wolf3dbreaker wrote:
Hey, and by the way, if you use the Backspace S to turn of shading, it works but the directional sprites are still shaded. Wink
Maybe MCS forgot to turn of the shading for the directional sprites.


I've experienced that to.

_________________
Haasboy Engine - Currently under construction (To be used with future mods - F.A.D.E.D. - Mansion X - Rising Evil Series)
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:40 am
   Subject: Re: i found a very minor bug in version 1.04
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Something you all might try if you're experiencing problems with the game unexpectingly terminating. Instead of opening up the game by double clicking on the EXE. Open an MS-DOS prompt in full screen and just get to the EXE thru there. Seems to have kept the game from crashing on me.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> AReyeP & MCS Games Support View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts EOD Release Date
Author: experiencedgamer
12 3201 Tue Feb 24, 2004 9:41 pm
Guest View latest post
No new posts EOD Q's
Author: Aryan_expirement
26 5313 Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:56 pm
ZuljinRaynor View latest post
No new posts Question about www.areyep.com
Author: Guest
3 109 Sun Apr 20, 2003 5:01 am
Guest View latest post
No new posts EOD Screenshots w/URL
Author: BrotherTank
16 4378 Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:17 pm
AReyeP View latest post
No new posts EOD
Author: Guest
2 136 Tue Apr 01, 2003 7:26 pm
Guest View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group