DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

[Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
Page 3 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Tutorials View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 10:16 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 910
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:08 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Okay, I fixed it. Indeed, it was a problem with the Intermission tutorial (a small bit of missing text in the GameLoop function)

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2255
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:33 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh... see.. I just looked at the code and assumed that I had done that. If it's like that in the original, then it's not my codes fault then.. lol.. I'm having a bad week and while I want to help, it looks like I'm just causing confusion... Sorry.. So ignore my statement saying uncomment that line of code, and it does mean that something else is playing with the graphics and you'll have to look elsewhere...

What I would look for Metalor is during the end level phase, is something that is caching or uncaching graphics that aren't part of the "status - gameplay" graphics section of the vswap (graphics -> STATUSBARPIC to MUTANTBJPIC). For it to garble the statusbar, something has over-written or disturbed the cached graphics in the game. During the end of level, it does cache the graphics from: L_GUYPIC, to L_BJWINSPIC and then should uncache them and load the STATUSBARPIC to MUTANTBJPIC back in IF they were uncached before loading the endlevel/endgame graphics.

Hope that helps and gives you something to work on tracking down...

Greg
BrotherTank

PS: If you comment or remove the mapname code completely, you didn't say if the problem went away or still existed??????
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 10:16 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 910
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:54 pm
   Subject: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh, the problem had nothing to do with it, it was all the fault of another tutorial. (adding intemission texts) But, it seems that a few lines were missing, now the problems all solved. I guess I've also had my fair share of goofs this week. And actually, I never did comment out any parts of the code, just rearranged a few things, but only that single line, did I ever comment out (because it was supposed to be)

It was all in the GameLoop function, I had to fix one of the strings to go from this:

::: CODE :::

#ifdef AUTOINTER
IntermissionScreens (); // Intermission Screen If file exists
ClearMemory ();
DrawPlayScreen ();
#endif


to this:

::: CODE :::

#ifdef AUTOINTER
VW_FadeOut();
ClearMScreen();
ClearMemory ();
IntermissionScreens (); // Intermission Text
ClearMemory ();
DrawPlayScreen ();
#endif


And that fixed the completely red statusbar lickety-split!

And again, I appreciate your help!

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Raziel
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Last Visit: 03 Dec 2009

Topics: 49
Posts: 485
Location: Israhell
israel.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:26 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've just implanted the code as well.. as written on page 3 by BT. it works but when I finish the first level the game crashes Neutral
note that I don't got any warnings or errors when I compile the code itself.

_________________
Raziel A.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 10:30 ago.

Topics: 163
Posts: 8169
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:29 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What's the name of the second level?
Raziel
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Last Visit: 03 Dec 2009

Topics: 49
Posts: 485
Location: Israhell
israel.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:45 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

map2 Neutral

_________________
Raziel A.
Raziel
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Last Visit: 03 Dec 2009

Topics: 49
Posts: 485
Location: Israhell
israel.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:50 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

*BUMP* anyone?? Neutral
I would really appreciate if anyone could help me on how to get it not to crush after the first level Neutral

_________________
Raziel A.
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2255
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:08 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The Code as I presented it does work, and works well. If it is not working in your source, remove it and check to see that you remove the problem when you remove it. If it removes the problem, then something that you have done in the source is interfering with the code changes for the Mapname as it works in the MMC which is using the EXACT same code as I posted it. It now also looks like Metalor also has it working, and again, the problems that he had were in his source and not the posted code for the mapname...

Greg
BrotherTank
Airslide
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 02 Jan 2011

Topics: 8
Posts: 60

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:47 pm
   Subject: Re: [Code] Displaying Map Name on Get Psyched Screen -Adam Biser
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I used the source posted here (for the SDL version) and ran into the same problem. However, it can be fixed:

::: CODE :::

US_CPrint(mapn);
fontnumber = 1;
CA_CacheGrChunk (STARTFONT + 1);
SETFONTCOLOR(0xe,0x0);
US_CPrint(mapname);


Adam mentions this fix in an earlier post but you may have over looked it, since it's not in BT's SDL tutorial post on page 3.

Basically, it worked on level 1 because the font was still loaded from the menu...afterwards, though, it got unloaded at some point, and never loaded back in.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Tutorials View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 3 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts [Code] Add Text to Screen at Skill Level select - Chris
Author: Chris
3 2874 Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:59 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts [Code] Display Different Ammo Types on Statusbar-BrotherTank
Author: BrotherTank
1 2723 Fri Feb 11, 2005 9:18 pm
Zombie_Plan View latest post
No new posts [Code] Adding a Frames per Second Counter - Darkone
Author: BrotherTank
0 1989 Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:07 pm
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts [Code] Changing an Enemies Attack Strength - BrotherTank
Author: BrotherTank
0 2300 Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:29 am
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts [Code] Changing Weapons -CheckWeaponChange- BrotherTank
Author: BrotherTank
2 3088 Sun Oct 26, 2003 1:21 am
Guest View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group