DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
Page 3 of 7 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 8:02 ago.

Topics: 152
Posts: 7499
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:45 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Blzut3 wrote:
... However, I did notice that the dogs don't run through open doors. Is this consistent with vanilla?
No. As far as door-related interaction goes, dogs are only different in that they can't open or close a door. But they can move through an open door just the same, whether or not they're in Patrol mode.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:23 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Just noticed the tech demo.

But I get "can't find base game data".
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:42 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

doomjedi wrote:
But I get "can't find base game data".

Do you have the activision release of 1.4?
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:21 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

No, don't think so. Does it work only on that version? Sad
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:32 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yes. It's specifically designed to work with the Steam data out of the box. But don't worry, a patch for Windows should be coming as soon as I have enough time to figure out why bzip2 isn't working.

In the mean time of course you can grab the shareware and see if you can get it working with that. You should also be able to get Spear of Destiny to work without any problems as there does not appear to be any differences in the data files for that.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 8:02 ago.

Topics: 152
Posts: 7499
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:13 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'd have to recommend the SOD files myself. You *might* run into compatibility problems with the map files, but if you load and rewrite the map files using MapEdit or another editor, this should correct the problem (Spear v1.0 is built of off Wolf3D v1.2, if I'm not mistaken). MapEdit will save the map files uncompressed, so there's no conflicts between the compression schemes in the older engine and the newer engine (Wolf4SDL may bypass these problems in the code now, but I haven't tested it).
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:03 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Blzut3 wrote:
Yes. It's specifically designed to work with the Steam data out of the box. But don't worry, a patch for Windows should be coming as soon as I have enough time to figure out why bzip2 isn't working.

In the mean time of course you can grab the shareware and see if you can get it working with that. You should also be able to get Spear of Destiny to work without any problems as there does not appear to be any differences in the data files for that.

No, I can run my Wolf3D with it with no problem.
It's the techdemo that doesn't run and gives me that error message.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:02 am
   Subject: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

So you get that problem even if you drag/drop the techdemo over the exe? Ignore the thing about --file for now there was a bug no one noticed until now. `ecwolf.exe techdemo.pk3` is sufficient.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:03 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Blzut3 wrote:
So you get that problem even if you drag/drop the techdemo over the exe?

Yes.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:29 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Try this: Open your ecwolf.cfg file located in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ecwolf\ (or something like that). Look for the key BaseDataPaths and set it to the exact location your wolf data files are.

For example something like this:
::: CODE :::
BaseDataPaths = "C:\\Wolf-Data";


Note that the path separator should be escaped (\\ instead of just \).
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 08 Aug 2016

Topics: 96
Posts: 1491
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:34 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sadly i'm not ready mod with ECWolf yet..

ECWolf is cool but there is something about modding i have questions with....I'm not going to Mod with ECWolf anytime soon till its ready like 2.X

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:25 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Blzut3 wrote:
Try this: Open your ecwolf.cfg file located in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ecwolf\ (or something like that). Look for the key BaseDataPaths and set it to the exact location your wolf data files are.

For example something like this:
::: CODE :::
BaseDataPaths = "C:\\Wolf-Data";


Note that the path separator should be escaped (\\ instead of just \).

Thank you, it helped Smile

Nice testmaps. Engine looks very promicing.
Executor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 0:38 ago.

Topics: 49
Posts: 621

usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:27 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Richter Belmont wrote:
Sadly i'm not ready mod with ECWolf yet..

ECWolf is cool but there is something about modding i have questions with....I'm not going to Mod with ECWolf anytime soon till its ready like 2.X


What questions? If you have them Blzut3 or I could probably answer them. Blzut3 will probably write some proper documentation soon.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:30 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

For those of you who do not have the Activision release of Wolfenstein 3D. The patch utility is now up on the downloads page for all supported OSs. Thanks go to Adam Biser for providing all of the patches.

Oh and I made the wiki public, but read only since I don't have the resources to fight spam on the wiki. I'll be slowly adding documentation there. If you would like an account contact me (preferably by email) and I should be able to set you up.
aardwolf94
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Last Visit: 18 Oct 2012

Topics: None
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:29 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This port is really awesome! I have been waiting for a nice source port of this game to be released since i'm too used to WASD movements, i just couldnt play this game without being able to strafe left and right with the A and D keys. However, i can't seem to get to the secret level in episode 1 after pushing the switch as it sends me to level 2 instead. Other than that, this is a pretty nice source port! Smile
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:49 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

aardwolf94 wrote:
However, i can't seem to get to the secret level in episode 1 after pushing the switch as it sends me to level 2 instead. Other than that, this is a pretty nice source port! Smile

That's odd. It works just fine for me. I guess the first thing to do is to make sure you're using the proper wolf3d release. If you purchased through Steam or have a copy through RTCW then you should have the correct version for sure. Otherwise either check the md5sums against the ones I published on my wiki, or run the patch utility (which should identify the version as GT #2/Activision or patch the data). I highly doubt that's the problem though unless you accidentally modified your data somehow, so please don't skip this step.

The next step would be to send me a save game at the secret exit. Sounds weird, but the game saves serialize the level so the line triggers should load for me as they are for you.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 5:02 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

doomjedi wrote:
Are "ROTT-type" vertically duplicated walls implemented in this one?

Now I'm working on that! Actually not really. I'm working view height shifting for movement bob, but as a test I have it running the wall renderer twice. Still got to implement Doom style plane rendering to actually have stacked planes and go anywhere with this.
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 08 Aug 2016

Topics: 96
Posts: 1491
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 5:29 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Blzut3 Now that is Awesome but Funny looking when the Doors are stacked on top of each other Laughing

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 0:31 ago.

Topics: 96
Posts: 2559
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:20 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Cool! This is promicing
Executor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 0:38 ago.

Topics: 49
Posts: 621

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:34 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

aardwolf94 wrote:
This port is really awesome! I have been waiting for a nice source port of this game to be released since i'm too used to WASD movements, i just couldnt play this game without being able to strafe left and right with the A and D keys. However, i can't seem to get to the secret level in episode 1 after pushing the switch as it sends me to level 2 instead. Other than that, this is a pretty nice source port! Smile


That's because there is no level 10 in the tech demo. I ran out of time.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:41 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

ECWolf 1.1 has been released.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:09 pm
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The hotfix ECWolf 1.1.1 is now released.
doom44
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 20 Feb 2014

Topics: 11
Posts: 139
Location: Florida, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:33 pm
   Subject: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This source port is awesome! I think my next project will use this. But i have a question about coding. I simply don't know where to start! I wish to make my project have seamless level progression, floor and ceiling textures, and new enemies/weapons, but all i can find is the menu files (I managed to change some things like episode names to test the waters: success! Smile ). It is really awesome not having to deal with compilers, though. Very Happy

_________________
My Projects
Doom44's Mapset: In work
Mystery Project: In planning
Castle Todkrieg: In a grave... OR IS IT?!?!?!?!?! :O
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:20 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

doom44 wrote:
This source port is awesome! I think my next project will use this. But i have a question about coding. I simply don't know where to start! I wish to make my project have seamless level progression, floor and ceiling textures, and new enemies/weapons, but all i can find is the menu files (I managed to change some things like episode names to test the waters: success! Smile ). It is really awesome not having to deal with compilers, though. Very Happy

It's kind of hard to say where to start since there's quite a bit involved in doing a full mod. IIRC "seamless level progression" just means Spear of Destiny style? I guess we can start there.

All level progression information is handled in the MAPINFO file. This is either a MAPINFO lump in a WAD file or mapinfo.txt in a pk3/zip. What you'll want to do is clear the defined episodes and then add yours. If only one episode is defined then the episode menu will be skipped.
::: CODE :::
clearepisodes

// Create an episode starting on MAP01
episode "MAP01" {
    name = "My Episode"
}

From there you will need to define the properties for each of your maps. They'll look something like the following:
::: CODE :::
map "MAP01" {
    next = "MAP02"
    music = "GETTHEM"
    // More properties here, refer to the wiki for complete list of options available
    // defaultfloor/defaultceiling change the floor/ceiling texture or color
    // Textures "#RRGGBB" are solid colors.
}
// Repeat for MAP02 and so forth
// Final map will have: next = "EndTitle"

Now you have to make your maps. You can use whatever editor you want and then load your GAMEMAPS file with ECWolf. When you go to distribute your mod I do ask that you export your maps. To do this you will need WDC or HWE as ECWolf only loads WDC formatted map dumps. You will then create a wad file with the following lumps:
::: CODE :::
MAP01
PLANES

The first lump would change for the map slot, but should be empty. The PLANES lump should be the map dump. If building a PK3 save this wad into the maps directory named the same as the first lump (eg map01.wad). If building a WAD file just put those lumps in the WAD.

Now floor/ceiling textures and adding new things is where things are going to get somewhat tedious (no pun intended). You're going to have to write your own map translator so that ECWolf knows what to do with the PLANES data. I recommend opening ecwolf.pk3 and copying xlat/wolf3d.txt or xlat/spear.txt to start with. This file can be named anything you like, but to keep things simple lets just call it xlat.txt (or XLAT in a WAD file). To add third map plane support just add a flats section to the translator.
::: CODE :::
flats {
    floor {
        "FLAT1",
        "FLAT2"
    }
    ceiling {
        "FLAT1",
        "FLAT2"
    }
}

You may have up to 256 textures defined for each and they don't need to match (although it might be preferable that they do). Remember that textures named #RRGGBB are automatically generated solid color textures which may be used here (or anywhere else a texture is need) as well. Now in MAPINFO, for each of your maps add:
::: CODE :::
// For PK3
translator = "xlat.txt"
// For WAD
translator = "XLAT"

I can't cover everything about making things in this post. You can look for DECORATE tutorials for ZDoom. They should be mostly relevant to ECWolf. Just remember that ECWolf doesn't support all of the properties, flags, and functions provided by ZDoom. In the mean time lets cover some things needed for the translator. Here is an excerpt actor definition:
::: CODE :::
actor MyActor 1234
{ /* Stuff goes here */ }

The first line there has three parts. The actor keyword, an identifier, and a "Doomednum" (since I have nothing better to call it really) or as it will be sometimes referred to as "new thing number." If/when editors support UWMF this number will be more relevant, but for now we need to give it to the xlat. Lets look at the things section in the xlat.
::: CODE :::
// oldnum, newnum, angles, patrol, minskill
{108,   1234,   4,   HOLOWALL,   1}

This means that in your editor actor number 108-111 will spawn thing 1234 which is our new actor. Each consecutive thing number will be rotated 90 degrees per the angles number. The actor supports the HOLOWALL trick and will be spawned on skills 1 and above.

Hopefully this can get you started. Let me know if you have any specific questions.
doom44
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 20 Feb 2014

Topics: 11
Posts: 139
Location: Florida, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:18 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This will help a lot, thanks Smile

Will ECwolf be able to support music that is not IMF\MUS format? (Like an MP3 or a WAV song) I think i know how to get it ingame if it really is possible. As i recall, i played some SDL mods that had WAVs instead of the basic IMF music. I think Macenstien and Totenkopf SDL were some of them.

_________________
My Projects
Doom44's Mapset: In work
Mystery Project: In planning
Castle Todkrieg: In a grave... OR IS IT?!?!?!?!?! :O
Thomas
Mapping Master
Mapping Master


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 5:35 ago.

Topics: 185
Posts: 5106

denmark.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:31 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Totenkopf used OGG (or maybe not - but I know one mod did) and it really upped the entire ante for what music can sound like in Wolf 3D. Hopefully ECWolf will support this - it's kicked Wolf into new dimensions already, this would only be the topping.
Blzut3
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 3:37 ago.

Topics: 3
Posts: 174

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:26 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Of course. The sound code needs to be redone, but I do plan to support LPCM, FLAC, Opus, and Vorbis for any sounds (includes music) and MIDI and tracker formats for music. Possibly also include the game music emulator that ZDoom uses as well. I do not plan to support MP3 as patent issues can get in the way with things and Vorbis or Opus is better anyways. The question is when, and given that Mac Wolf uses MIDI probably by 2.0.

Speaking of Mac Wolf. I found everything I need to read MacBin files so support efforts have started. It's still a ways from completion, but in theory I should be able to support all existing Mac scenerios. Smile
doom44
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 20 Feb 2014

Topics: 11
Posts: 139
Location: Florida, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:51 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

And how is replacing enemy sprites handled? Do i just merge a sprite set file with the main "Sprites" file in the PK3 with the same name as the specific guard's tag?

_________________
My Projects
Doom44's Mapset: In work
Mystery Project: In planning
Castle Todkrieg: In a grave... OR IS IT?!?!?!?!?! :O
Executor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 0:38 ago.

Topics: 49
Posts: 621

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:01 pm
   Subject: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

You import graphics into a folder labeled "sprites" in your mod's pk3 (do not edit ecwolf.pk3!) with whatever names you want, and, if you are using SLADE3 and importing any format other than PNG, do a Convert to Doom Graphic or PNG (I usually use Doom Graphic, because ECWolf does not support true color and putting non-palette colors in your graphic is thus very unwise).

Sprites have a four-letter tag (for instance, GARD* for the guard), a letter for the frame, and a number 0-8 for the rotation (i.e. the guard's first frame is GARDA1), just like in Doom. Note that using 0 for the rotation means that that sprite replaces ALL rotations for that particular frame (i.e. GARDA0 would appear when viewing a standing guard from any direction).

See also:
http://doomwiki.org/wiki/Sprite

It's very easy to work with when you get the hang of it.

You can also make your mod a Doom .wad file, in which case sprites go between two lumps named S_START and S_END. However, .wad files are less convenient than PK3s and take up more space.
WSJ
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 11 May 2016

Topics: 24
Posts: 520

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:28 am
   Subject: Re: ECWolf - Advanced Source Port
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What about Ripper's directional 3D sprites? Are they available in ECWolf? They're a VERY handy substitute for see-thru walls.

Thomas wrote:
Totenkopf used OGG (or maybe not - but I know one mod did) and it really upped the entire ante for what music can sound like in Wolf 3D.

Yeah, all the Totenkopf SDL music and sound effects are in OGG. I prefer that format over MP3 because it seems to have slightly better compression, and no proprietary BS associated with it.

AlumiuN's advanced sound manager makes it so much fun to work with sound in Wolf3D (I hated the old sound manager.) Smile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 3 of 7 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group