DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Howling Wolfers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:25 pm
   Subject: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What do you all think of using DOSBOX to run Win95/98? Does it work just like the original OS or do certain things not work? Is it useful for testing compatibility?

_________________
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 16 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8189
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I suppose it would depend on what you're trying to run. But it pretty much involves running Win95/Win98 on 80486 hardware. I don't expect it to give you acceptable performance.
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 5:28 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Would you recommend using a virtual machine instead? I want to run Windows 95/98 programs and games, and just have them to use for when I want to use an older OS.

_________________
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 16 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8189
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:06 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yes, a virtual machine would indeed be more practical for such things. I prefer VirtualBox myself, but that's just my anti-MS self giving feedback. Smile
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:17 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That's what I was going to use, Virtualbox. Does it run Windows 95/98 games well?

_________________
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 2:19 ago.

Topics: 38
Posts: 2481
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:43 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As long as they don't require accelerated 3D and you have a processor with virtualization, most games from that era should run fine on VMWare/Virtualbox/etc. If they do require accelerated 3D, there is a solution but I don't know what it is Razz
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:48 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What kind of games would require accelerated 3D?

_________________
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 18 Sep 2018

Topics: 46
Posts: 2314
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:12 pm
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

gerolf wrote:
What kind of games would require accelerated 3D?

I think any that rely on hardware to render graphics rather than software. I might be wrong.

What games are you wanting to run?

Somewhat related, but I set up Win 3.1 in DOSBox to run the Windows versions of a couple of King's Quest games and they played pretty well. Never had a reason to try Win 95/98 though.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:11 am
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

So games like Wolfenstein 3d, Doom, etc. will work fine but things like GLQuake would not?

I'm trying to run code of my own, to see how compatible my code can be.

I've got Win95 working with VirtualBox and it seems to work well. I'll be setting up a Win98 VM soon.

BTW Merry Christmas everyone!

_________________
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 2:19 ago.

Topics: 38
Posts: 2481
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 1:26 am
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

gerolf wrote:
So games like Wolfenstein 3d, Doom, etc. will work fine but things like GLQuake would not?


This is correct (although I believe VirtualBox can actually emulate a basic 3D card itself, so that might be worth trying if your computer is powerful enough).
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 16 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8189
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:00 am
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Make sure you have the newest version of VirtualBox, btw. I've tried older versions in the past, only to find the emulation doesn't even emulate things well enough in certain areas. The newer versions also have improved support for different types of harddisk images, such as the virtual disk image of WinXP that MS supplied.
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 19 Aug 2018

Topics: 94
Posts: 470

usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:44 am
   Subject: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tricob wrote:
I suppose it would depend on what you're trying to run. But it pretty much involves running Win95/Win98 on 80486 hardware. I don't expect it to give you acceptable performance.


Is it even possible? I thought that DOSBox could only emulate a 16-bit processor.



Adam Biser wrote:
Somewhat related, but I set up Win 3.1 in DOSBox to run the Windows versions of a couple of King's Quest games and they played pretty well. Never had a reason to try Win 95/98 though.


King's Quest VI has an "enhanced" version which only works in Windows (16-bit; it can be run in DOSBox), and has higher quality visuals. I wonder why they did it this way, instead of just having the DOS version optionally have the enhanced aspects. It doesn't make any sense to have both a 16-bit DOS version and a 16-bit Windows version of a game -- 16-bit Windows is just a layer on top of DOS.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 16 Sep 2018

Topics: 163
Posts: 8189
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:00 am
   Subject: Re: Thoughts on using Win95/98 on DOSBOX?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Matthew wrote:
Tricob wrote:
I suppose it would depend on what you're trying to run. But it pretty much involves running Win95/Win98 on 80486 hardware. I don't expect it to give you acceptable performance.
Is it even possible? I thought that DOSBox could only emulate a 16-bit processor.
DOS Box emulates the 80386 and 80486 processors as well. They're both 32-bit. You never saw Doom or Jazz Jackrabbit running on a 80286. Smile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Howling Wolfers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Trouble with changing CDs with DosBox... Please help. :(
Author: Soldat 555
3 453 Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:26 pm
Soldat 555 View latest post
No new posts STILL ALIVE... NOT DEAD... STILL WANT TO WORK ON MODS...
Author: Guest
10 234 Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:15 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts And some people think WE don't take WWII seriously enough
Author: Executor
3 1521 Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:46 am
lwmxynedtodth View latest post
No new posts DosBox
Author: Soldat 555
11 768 Sun May 07, 2006 2:54 pm
Soldat 555 View latest post
No new posts Let me think about this
Author: Dugtrio17
4 1931 Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:26 pm
wolfie3dfan View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group