DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

[Info] Compiling the Source Code...
Page 2 of 2 Goto page Previous  1, 2
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Haasboy
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2018

Topics: 58
Posts: 581
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:31 am
   Subject: Re: help putting my changed sourcecode into my game
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What a tutorial basically is helps/shows you how to add/change a specific code. You add that code to file specified, then you save the changes. Then you copy the changed file to the folder where you compile the source codes, after that you command Borland to compile the files, therefore creating a new EXE in the output folder, which you'll copy to your project directory.

I hope that helps you out Too Cool Geek Cool

_________________
Haasboy Engine - Currently under construction (To be used with future mods - F.A.D.E.D. - Mansion X - Rising Evil Series)
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:34 am
   Subject: Re: help putting my changed sourcecode into my game
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

ooooooooooooooooooooohh! thanks! youve been great help!
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:43 am
   Subject: Re: help putting my changed sourcecode into my game
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

where is the new EXE supposed to go???
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2255
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:50 am
   Subject: Re: help putting my changed sourcecode into my game
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ok....

This conversation is getting a little lost... So lets start from the beginning. Here's a little check list to make sure we know exactly where you are in this...:


  • Make sure that you have Borland C++ 3.1 installed properly.

  • Make sure you have the source unpacked into your directory (whatever you called it)

  • Change into the source directory and type BC and press enter (this should put you into the borland C++ environment).

  • Go to the "options" menu and select "directories". Enter the directories to Borland that you have used in your borland C++ setup. ie: C:\Borland & C:\Borland\Include (or whatever directories you used when setting up borland)... Make sure the output directory is set to "OBJ".

  • From the main project window... Scroll down to the files "Gamepal.obj" and "Signon.obj". These two files have to be deleted and then REINSTALLED back into your project. Highlight the first one, press delete, then press insert and look for the gamepal.obj file in the search window that it will bring up... Load it back in.... Do this for both of those files.

  • If you are using Borland C++ version 3.1 - the go to the "Compile" menu and select "Build All". If you have done everything properly, there will be NO errors during the compile. If this is the case, then you are ready to start "editing and modifying the source" otherwise, you have to find out where the error is from (usually it's from bad directory statements in the Options menu).

  • Great... It's now working... Edit the source code and install the tutorial of your choice that you wish to add or change in your source. Again, compile with the "Build All" command... and the new "EXE" file will be located in your "OBJ" directory within your project directory. Copy that exe file to your working game directory and run it to test your new changes.

      
    Changes work - Great... Go change some more (or to your liking).
      
    Changes don't work - Go back and figure out what you did wrong or missed.



It's not a difficult process... The hardest part will be making the different tutorials out there compatible with each other (some are compatible right from the start - others take modification to make them work together).

So from all the above... Tell us where you are at?

Greg
BrotherTank
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:42 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

cool that was long! but on another thing that I had tried, it said for the directories for the output one, it said to type C:\PROJECT instead of OBJ. And whats that thing about the AUTOEXEC.BAT file?
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:55 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

YES!!! Its working!!! thanks brothertank and haasboy for all of your help! your all cool!
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 3:00 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Embarassed I diddnt know that I had to go to "TC" then "BIN" and then "OBJ" GOD! I'm so stupid! Embarassed
Haasboy
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2018

Topics: 58
Posts: 581
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:55 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm glad to that you finally understand

_________________
Haasboy Engine - Currently under construction (To be used with future mods - F.A.D.E.D. - Mansion X - Rising Evil Series)
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 12:18 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

yeah, but now i've got to do all of that stuff again, because a few errors came up for some reason Crying or Very sad
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:09 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

You should check some source code sites, like Areyep.com,Heaven and Hell...there asre many of them to help you.
asscrak
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:32 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

thanks mate! i will
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:14 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

i am amazed people cant do this. try reading the instructions, it'll solve many of your problems.
jamez
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 19 Oct 2017

Topics: 13
Posts: 186
Location: Yorkshire, UK
uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:35 pm
   Subject: Re: compiling the source code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

BrotherTank wrote:
idclev wrote:
i am using 98ME. i have a pc with xp also, but i thought 98 would be better. is the path statement the thing in autoexec.bat? if so i can post it here.

thanks


Yes... that is very important... you need to edit the autoexec.bat file....

If probably has a line in it now that says:

Path=C:\Windows;C:\Windows\Command;

You need to add to that so it reads:

Path=C:\Windows;C:\Windows\Command;C:\BorlandC;C:\BorlandC\Bin

That is very important... You will have to restart your system after making and saving the changes. And that's about all the help I can give you. This setup that I have explained works with Win3.1, Win95, Win98, Win98SE, and WinME.... I don't use XP so I can't help there.

Greg
BrotherTank


Just wondering about the autoexe... what OS's automatically update this for wolf... This is what happens for me...

I set up wolf for some fun, in the folder say... C:/DieHard/Project

Once compiled - autoexec.bat automatically writes the path in for me - and does this every time... no restarting PC's needed...

Just wonderin if i'm the only one who gets this - as I did that on my Win98 and Win2000 NT...

_________________
~ James
Reactor
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 24 Jan 2013

Topics: 27
Posts: 328
Location: Hungary
hungary.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:02 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

My Borland C++ doesn't compile anything...I've got strange errors.
Here'z what I did.

- I installed Borland C++ months ago. Since there is no AUTOEXEC.BAT in Windows XP, I run Borland C from Windows...exactly from BIN directory, and BC.EXE. Borland C opens in a small window, everything seems to be in order.
What I see is an empty blue screen with NONAME00.CPP on its top. Must be some kind of filename used for new projects.

- I've already set my directories as the following:
INCLUDE DIRECTORIES: C:\BORLAND\INCLUDE
LIBRARY DIRECTORIES: C:\ BORLAND\LIB
OUTPUT DIRECTORY: OBJ
SOURCE DIRECTORIES: C:\SOURCE\WOLF
I press OK.

- I open "Project" and select "Open Project". I find my WOLF3D.PRJ in the C:\SOURCE\WOLF directory, select it, and then OK.

- I see many files on a smaller light-blue window.Some files are acting strange:
FILE NAME LOCATION LINES CODE DATA
wl_asm.asm n/a n/a n/a n/a
wl_draw.c - 1635 4566 31

This means all files has the location "n/a" or "-".
This "n/a" thing also appears at .OBJ files. No matter I delete and re-insert them, it will remain the same.

- I click on the "Compile" menu. If I select "Compile", 18 error messages will appear with such text:
ERROR ID_HEADS.H 4: Unable to open include file 'ALLOC.H'

This error message also tries to open non-existing files,such as CTYPE.H, DOS.H, ERRNO.H

- If I click on "Build all", an error window will pop up with the following message:

Cannot find executable

TASM

What's the hell is this? What did I do wrong?? Anybody has some ideas 'bout this?

_________________
INCOMING TRANSMISSION
"Marine! Er....never mind..."
TRANSMISSION ENDS
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 2139
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:36 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

1. I'm pretty sure that ASM/OBJ files give you the "n/a" tag because they are already raw code. This is normal and ok.

2. ALLOC.H should be part of your C:\BORLAND\INCLUDE directory then. You said that you set up all the paths accordingly, but then you opened WOLF3D.PRJ. After you open WOLF3D.PRJ, does it still say the same directories? You may have to change the directories AFTER you open WOLF3D.PRJ, because it keeps it's own directories record inside the project file.

3. To get rid of the TASM error, the batch file procedure doesn't seem to work in WinXP on some computers. You might want to try copying your TASM files to your project directory like mentioned here. That seems to be the only way I can get it working without putting the project stuff in the same directory as the BIN folder.

Also, I think I mentioned this before, but if you're still having problems, you can try unzipping this package to C:\GAMES\WOLF3D (that's what it has it's directories set up to). It's an old pre-compiled version of the source code (7808 near bytes free) with all the folders set up already. Wink
Reactor
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 24 Jan 2013

Topics: 27
Posts: 328
Location: Hungary
hungary.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:49 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Okay,I copied the TASM files to the source code directory. It seems that the TASM error is over along with the missing .H files error...to lend the place for an another error:

I hit "Compile" or "Build all", and the following error message appears in a blue window:

Transfer to program: TurboAssembler /MX /ZI /O WL_ASM.ASM.OBJ\WL_ASM.OBJ:
Transfer 1: Error writing object file

Any solutions for this problem? As I read several places, I set Output directory to "OBJ". Now what's wrong?

_________________
INCOMING TRANSMISSION
"Marine! Er....never mind..."
TRANSMISSION ENDS
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2255
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:26 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Make sure the directory "OBJ" exists in the source code folder and also copy the 2 obj files from the source directory into the obj directory...

Greg
BrotherTank
Reactor
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 24 Jan 2013

Topics: 27
Posts: 328
Location: Hungary
hungary.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:29 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Damn! I read nowhere that I need to create an "OBJ" directory...thank you! I hope this'll help!

[Later]

This error have been also corrected...but another appeared. I clicked "Build all", it compiled almost any files,except one: WL_MAIN.C
The following error message appears:

Transfer to program : TurboAssembler /MX /ZI /O WL.ASM.ASM\WL.ASM.OBJ:
Compiling WL_MAIN.C
Error WL_DEF.H 1030: Declaration terminated incorrectly

Now what's the problem?

_________________
INCOMING TRANSMISSION
"Marine! Er....never mind..."
TRANSMISSION ENDS
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 13 Sep 2018

Topics: 55
Posts: 2139
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:51 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Reactor wrote:
Error WL_DEF.H 1030: Declaration terminated incorrectly

This sounds like a user mistake. Maybe you added something there by accident? I'd just look around the area of line 1030 in WL_DEF.H to see if anything looks fishy, or replace your files with the original WL_DEF.H/WL_MAIN.C files that were sent with the wolf3d source code (which I know don't contain those errors).

Just remember that this thread is for people who are having trouble before messing with the code. Razz
Reactor
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 24 Jan 2013

Topics: 27
Posts: 328
Location: Hungary
hungary.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 4:45 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Uh-oh, so it's the 1030th line which is wrong in the source code! I thought it's another C++ error...I was never using this program before, y'know... Smile
I'll take a look at the 1030th line. At the first step, I've modified the code with ingame messages,when pickin' something up. I wrote here,because there are already many "dead" topics with 2 or 3 replies...it's much cleaner to write on such topic,which is already for compile things Smile
But OK,I shall find a topic like this Smile

_________________
INCOMING TRANSMISSION
"Marine! Er....never mind..."
TRANSMISSION ENDS
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:58 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I hav a bit of a problem and you guys might be able to help. I was working on the source code for Gothic Mayhem (Yes... I'm finally screwing with the code and I know... The guys who play my TCs think it's about time) and I did the whole Compile-Build All option but it says that I'm missing a program called TASM or something like that. What's up here?

I am using DosBox because my machine uses Windows XP. Everything seems to work fine like that, but I can't Build All and make the EXE file. (I think that's how you do it anyways.)


Thunderstorm Joshua Aaron Waight Thunderstorm
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:42 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Das soldat 555 wrote:
I hav a bit of a problem and you guys might be able to help. I was working on the source code for Gothic Mayhem (Yes... I'm finally screwing with the code and I know... The guys who play my TCs think it's about time) and I did the whole Compile-Build All option but it says that I'm missing a program called TASM or something like that.


I did just fix this problem, but now when I choose to Compile-Build All, it says it has difficulties linking files. I'll try to post something so you guys can see.


Thunderstorm Joshua Aaron Waight Thunderstorm
Harry sr
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Last Visit: 27 Apr 2009

Topics: 1
Posts: 5

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:38 pm
   Subject: [Info] Compiling the Source Code...
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:23 pm
Subject: bc31,, help
[ IP : Logged ]


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hello all, im back at it again never had this much of a problem with getting this thing to work
lol but that was when i was younger it gives me the success message,the new exec. goes into the project folder with the correct time and date,but when i exec. it no changes are found
my p.c. is a 98se and operate in windows not dos,,my autoexec is this

SET PATH=C:\windows;C:\windows\command;C:\borlandC;C:\borlandc\bin

my directories c:\tc\include
c:\tc\lib
c:\project
c:\source

i tryed to change source to obj and got a error,but i didnot build all,,as my vga files would have to be reinstalled,,,,do i have to make a second obj folder up and put source into it ??
im lost its probley the directory thats messed up!! any who i need some help,yes i said who lol
thanks harry sr
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 2 of 2 Goto page Previous  1, 2
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts [Help] Setting RocketLauncher: Explosive Range...?
Author: KyleRTCW
17 5476 Thu Jun 03, 2004 3:21 am
Codetech84 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Tricks - Dogs that shoot - Modifying Behaviour
Author: Guest
19 288 Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:31 am
Dugtrio17 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Alarm Sounding in game?? WSJ...??
Author: Guest
7 309 Tue Jun 17, 2003 10:04 pm
Reivax44 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Silent Gun? - Adding a Silencer
Author: Guest
4 194 Fri Apr 18, 2003 8:34 am
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts [Info] Adding Locked Doors
Author: Guest
3 244 Thu Apr 17, 2003 6:30 am
Ripper View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group