DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

IMFCreator
Page 2 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:03 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks. Hopefully I'll get around to updating it soon so that pitch bends work and it converts MUS files, which would be cool. Smile

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 6:27 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

IMFCreator 1.0.9 is out.
Several problems have been fixed: instruments dying away and some instrument-shifting weirdness.
Plus, it now does pitchbends. You have to turn them on in the Options menu. You can also make adjustments to them from there.

They are of by default because they can really make the IMF size boom. Adjusting the pitchbend threshold causes small pitchbends to be ignored so that the IMF can become smaller as well.

Next update will include MUS to IMF. I wanted to get this fix out as soon as I could.

EDIT:
IMFCreator 1.0.10 is out
- Volume changes while a note is playing now work.
- MUS files can now be converted.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 6:43 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh goodie goodie, you finally got pitch bends to work Mr Green! So, what on your mind next?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:20 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Roy wrote:
Oh goodie goodie, you finally got pitch bends to work Mr Green! So, what on your mind next?

Well, I'm not sure I have anything on my mind for IMFCreator. Just fixin' what's broke when I find it. Hoping to start back on some projects that have been put off far too long, though.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:45 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I found a bug with pitchbend, if the pitchbend goes down it makes weird noises then becomes normal again after a second or two
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:46 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Roy/Gex: Well, I was hoping no one would get this error. I should've at least poped up a warning when it happens, at least I think I know what's causing the bug. Could you send me the troublesome MIDI so I can test?
Pitchbends are done by turning on the note and adjusting the frequency. The frequency is probably going out of range.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:50 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

For your Information, I discovered this when playing e1m8 of Doom so you might have it but if you dont you can get it here http://www.doomworld.com/music/d_e1m8.mid
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:52 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Roy: OK, thanks. I'll look into it. It might take awhile though. I'm going to be out of town for a few days. Meanwhile, you can try adjusting the pitchbend threshold and such in the Edit menu (I think).

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:03 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I seem to be having problems with "distorted" channels. "figment.mid" is one example where one or more channels are either distorted or cancelled out completely. Most of the distortion is caused through Channel #10, where all the drums, etc. are. Can anyone help? The MID file is found here:

http://www.gameroom.com/sxybr/midis/HALLOWEEN/


Last edited by Tricob on Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:05 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I haven't checked, but it probably means that this MIDI has too many notes playing at once for it to be nicely converted to IMF format (which only allows 8 simultaneous notes). You might try editing the MIDI down a bit and see what you can come up with.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:19 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The problem seems to be related to the setting of the instrument. What's strange is that it effects some of the instruments and not all of them. The "Sine" mode seems to be one such "sensitive" quality for the distorted instruments. I'll see if I can figure out the rest.


Last edited by Tricob on Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:38 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've figured out part of the problem. When two instruments have Primary Voice with both Carrier and Modifier set to "Sine", that's one time that the channels are distorted or cancelled out.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:41 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In measures 7-10, there are 10 notes at one time. This will cause notes to be lost.
Try unchecking "Track 6 - Choir Aahs" and most of your troubles go away.

EDIT: Before dropping track 6: 345 dropped notes. After: 106 dropped notes. If you look at the MIDI, track 6 mainly contains repeats of track 2.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:34 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've seen many programs that can add a new option to your MIDI output settings (directing your midi player to a different set of sounds if you select it). If you could do this with the GENMIDI.OP2 file, so that your midi player could always play those sounds normally, it would make it alot easier to know how your song is going to sound while making it in whatever midi program you're using (i.e. Cakewalk, Anvil Studios). I think that would make it much easier to perfect your song as you're creating it, too. Then, during conversion, all you'd really have to worry about is if some of the notes get truncated.

Another idea that could be fun would be to have a record button in IMFCreator. Say, you line it up so that your computer keyboard is the piano notes (say, with "asdfghjkl;" being the white keys, and "wer, yu, and op[" being the blacks), then have + and - make it change octaves, and pressing 2 numbers in a row would make it choose another instrument while you're recording. Would be a fun way to create some live music on the fly for people who don't want to have to buy a music keyboard or midi plugs/software.

Just a few random ideas (maybe a little over the top) that I've been pondering about for awhile. Smile
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:54 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It's actually pretty easy to record the playback of an IMF file. Just run the game in DOS-Box, and have the emulator record the audio output to a WAV file.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:44 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Tricob: Or you can get an IMF plugin for WinAmp and set its output to a WAV file. But Chris was talking about recording IMF data live, instead of converting a MIDI.

@Chris: The live music recording is a pretty interesting idea, perhaps not for IMFCreator, but some other program. It will definitely be worth looking into. As for the instrument mapping, I do plan on changing some things to help facilitate this when I get to updating IMFCreator again. I don't know when this will happen, but I do agree that it should. Right now, my focus is on Orb, so I can't say that too much will get done until it has been released.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:00 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmmm. Quite well done. I like it. Now i know what my music sounds like in IMF format. Very Happy Unfortunately. Some of the great music i had picked out sounds goofy and not very military like at all. Sad

best regards
Erick

P.S: Keep it up. Great.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 9:18 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

On composing a Midi with IMFTools, it plays perfectly, but with IMF Creator, it has lots of problems ... notes cancelling each other out, among other things. This is the Level 6 Midi of Doom 1, found here:

http://www.midishrine.com/index.php?id=170

Can anyone replicate this problem? Thanks. Smile
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 11:49 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The only problem I had with the MIDI was that the volume for the two alternating notes was too loud in the beginning, then it suddenly dropped to where it should be. There were 0 dropped notes. I'd have to debug the program to see what's up with the volume and then do a side-by-side comparison with the MIDI and such to see how well it works.

EDIT I fixed the initial volume problem and will have an update posted within a couple of days.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 7:10 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
I fixed the initial volume problem and will have an update posted within a couple of days.

Where can I find the update?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 7:41 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

LOL... thanks for pointing out that it wasn't there. I thought I had posted it.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 7:41 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It looks like I've messed up the settings of IMF Creator somehow when installing Version 0.13 on top of 0.12. The instruments Pizzicato Strings, Miramba, Vibraphone, Pad 2, and Pad 3 play, but seem to be oblivious to their volume settings. Whether the channel's volume level is set to 127 or 10, it always plays the volume at full blast! What option should I change to fix the problem?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:38 am
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It's probably something I changed. I'll check.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:36 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
It's probably something I changed. I'll check.

Any luck duplicating the problem? I could send you a couple of Midis with the Vibraphone set at two different volumes that replicate my volume troubles.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:45 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Go ahead and send me a MIDI for testing... it'll simplify things.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:55 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8007
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:08 pm
   Subject: Re: IMFCreator
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
Go ahead and send me a MIDI for testing... it'll simplify things.

I've sent the Vibraphone-related Midi to the E-Mail addy on your website. Thanks. Smile
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:29 pm
   Subject: Odd Imf problems.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Here's something kind of odd; With these last few midis that i have been turning into IMF's they come out elongated. For some reason the IMF Creator seems to add on an extra minute and a half to the beginning to some of these songs, yet.. there isn't anything wrong with the MIDI itself. I've looked at it in MAGIX Midi Studio and they're fine.

Kind of ODD. This sounds like a question that Chris could Answer ( Or Adam Biser could as well Razz )

Best Regards
Spiritblade-Inc
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:37 pm
   Subject: Re: Odd Imf problems.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

RTFM.





.....

On second thought, send me your files and I'll see what's up. Seems interesting.
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:52 am
   Subject: Re: Odd Imf problems.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sure, there is one definite one that i can send to you, i have to find the 2 others. Also, i won't be sending them right away. Once i get home from school, i'll send 'em over. Thanks.

Best Regards
Spiritblade-Inc

P.S: RTFM? What does that mean.. or was that random?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:11 pm
   Subject: Re: Odd Imf problems.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sysex commands in the MIDI will cause IMFCreator to add silence to the beginning of the song. I need to fix that.

EDIT: In the meantime, you can probably just delete the sysex commands from your MIDI file.
RTFM = Read The Freakin' Manual.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 2 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts WDC
Author: Adam Biser
556 48005 Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:13 am
Adam Biser View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit preRelease released ;D
Author: Ripper
177 24510 Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:03 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts Problems with FloEdit II... (Please help!)
Author: Metal Overlord
13 4065 Wed May 17, 2006 11:24 pm
Codetech84 View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit: Second beta phase started!
Author: Ripper
151 25845 Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:42 am
Zombie_Plan View latest post
No new posts Beta Testing - How do you go about it?
Author: BrotherTank
1 1551 Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:51 am
Zombie_Plan View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group