DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Creating a new Palette.
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Artists Archive View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:08 pm
   Subject: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As everyone knows. I'm working on Operation: God Hand. One thing that puzzles me though, and that's how to create a new palette. If anyone could explain how to do so, that would be quite nice seeing as how I'll be needing Deathshead to Implement them as soon as possible so Screenies can be taken and etc.

Best Regards
Erick
Zombie_Plan
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Last Visit: 07 Jun 2016

Topics: 101
Posts: 1614
Location: A hole in the wall
australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 10:03 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In the Addons Section, Wolf3DArchitect asked the same question yesterday. JackaL kindly wrote up a quite step by step instructions list. Hope that helps!
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 7:48 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmmmmm..... I'll have to take a look.
Xarkon
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 19 Apr 2006

Topics: 18
Posts: 203
Location: West Australia
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:04 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

i am gay

_________________
Trying is the first step to failure
Sporb2000
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Last Visit: 26 May 2009

Topics: 19
Posts: 383
Location: New Zealand - Invercargill
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:52 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Xarkon wrote:
i am gay

WTF - thats the third random non sensical comment ive seen posted today - what gives?

_________________
I Like (Brackets)
Dugtrio17
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Oct 2013

Topics: 49
Posts: 903
Location: Seattle
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:55 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm guessing a random relative/friend got on from his computer and posted something stupid.

_________________
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:33 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Okay. I get how to save palette files. However, it doesn't seem to be going all that great. How would i make it record all the colours and not just a few shades. Also; how would i combine 2 or more palettes in to one? If that's even possible.

Cause i would like to send my palette into Haasboy so it can be implemented and Screenshots can be taken! WOO Screenshots, something i've been wanting to take and show people for a long time.

Best Regards
Erick.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:33 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 7:14 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Spiritblade-inc wrote:
Also; how would i combine 2 or more palettes in to one? If that's even possible.

I'd just use the Copy-and-Paste method. If the palette file is in pure text form, use a simple text editor to save yourself some time; it's better than copying and pasting each cell individually.
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 7:30 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

....

You know, I didn't see a smiley face at the end of your message Tricob, so I immediately associated this forum with a human being and thought "where are your legs?".

Xarkon wrote:
i am gay

Quit advertising it palette, you know how overprotective I am of you! *whacks you with my purse*
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 8:13 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In text? It can be in text. I never knew that. OKay for starters, i'm new to making palettes so i don't know crap all about them.
Second of all, how do i make a palette that will keep all the colours and not kick some out, cause i have more than 256 colours :/.

Someone give me a thorough explanation please.

Best Regards
Erick
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:33 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Spiritblade-inc wrote:
In text? It can be in text. I never knew that. OKay for starters, i'm new to making palettes so i don't know crap all about them.

I found out myself by pure accident. I don't know about Paint Shop Pro, but Neopaint (which I use quite a lot), has text-based palette files. Some graphics utilities have the palette files written in Binary form rather than ASCII, though.
Quote:
Second of all, how do i make a palette that will keep all the colours and not kick some out, cause i have more than 256 colours :/.

Uh oh. I'm sorry, but you might be out of luck here, if you don't want to switch to a higher resolution (which is likely to !@$%& up just about everything drawn on the screen). The 320x200 modes are kind of limited. An exception would be a Windows-based version of the code, such as Lone Wolf. Source code for this release *is* available, but it still has several bugs that really need fixing before I could call this conversion complete.
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:43 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, would it be possible to use NewWolf then?

Best Regards
Erick.
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 21 Sep 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:52 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I have a method to create a good palette. Just place walls of different colors (The ones you wish to use) to one 24-bit bitmap
and use the reduce color depth feature of jasc paint shop pro. If you don't know what I mean, send that image to me and I will try to do the palette for you. Smile

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:33 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:37 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Codetech84 wrote:
I have a method to create a good palette. Just place walls of different colors (The ones you wish to use) to one 24-bit bitmap
and use the reduce color depth feature of jasc paint shop pro. If you don't know what I mean, send that image to me and I will try to do the palette for you. Smile

Uh, Spirit's problem is that the graphics mode the actual game uses only has 256 colors. If you save a 24-bit image and display it in an 8-bit display, you'll still get only 256 colors in all; if you try to display Color #256 in the image, you'll get Color #0, if you try to display Color #257, you'll get Color #1, etc..
Spiritblade-inc wrote:
Well, would it be possible to use NewWolf then?

I assume so, but then - NewWolf isn't complete, either. Shrug
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 21 Sep 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 2:18 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

No shit Sherlock! Rolling Eyes

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 4:03 pm
   Subject: Walls.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmmm. Does anyone know of a Doom Editor that i can use to Extract Walls out of a WAD file?

Best Regards
Erick.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:33 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/viewtopic.php?t=3221
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:35 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Doesn't seem to help at all. Especially since i need to open Custom Texture wads as well as WolfenDoom Wads. However, every time i do. Everything isn't under the right palette and comes out all nasty.

best Regards
Erick.

P.S: Damn you XWE
Megabyte
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 07 Aug 2013

Topics: 1
Posts: 193

finland.gif

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:17 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I use DeepSea to export graphics from doow wads. I also have all wolfendoom wads so I could do the exporting for you if you want.

_________________
"I cannot sleep at night
That's what the day is for anyway"
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:20 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

To use the appropriate palette in XWE, you need to find the COLORMAP or GAMEPAL chunk (something like that), then you tell it to use that palette. I don't have XWE open so I can't be very specific as to where everything is located.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Spiritblade-inc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2017

Topics: 30
Posts: 185
Location: Canada
canada.gif

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:21 pm
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmm... Deepsea works good. But i can't seem to extract any of the files into BMPs. It's always saving them as a .WAD file.

What's with that?

Best Regards.
Megabyte
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 07 Aug 2013

Topics: 1
Posts: 193

finland.gif

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:19 am
   Subject: Re: Creating a new Palette.
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Click on the export lump on the deepsea gfx editor and then you can export all gfx you want to bmps.

_________________
"I cannot sleep at night
That's what the day is for anyway"
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Artists Archive View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Anyone interested in Artist for MOHMA?
Author: insurrectionman
2 838 Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:11 am
insurrectionman View latest post
No new posts Advanced palette editing
Author: Dugtrio17
6 852 Sat Mar 25, 2006 7:20 am
Ringman View latest post
No new posts Creating new walls
Author: Guest
3 104 Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:45 am
lucky_foot View latest post
No new posts Need help making a flag-like thing.
Author: Metal Overlord
4 977 Fri Nov 05, 2004 4:21 pm
Xarkon View latest post
No new posts <IMPORTANT:> Can anyone make a bunch of actor sprites
Author: Xarkon
15 3578 Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:10 am
Raistlin View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group