DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Orb of Dilaaria released!
Page 7 of 8 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 17 Oct 2017

Topics: 103
Posts: 2727
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:27 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Wow....This is the best Wolf3D mod ever...even relative to modern wolf3d mods........
Mapping, Coding features ,art, story..... Wow.... this is a MasterPeice
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 5:32 ago.

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:04 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Make an SDL VErsion of this Game....We Will seee TONS and TONS of New Codes we never saw in Wolf3d ^_^ I'll Support this

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
Arielus
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 7:15 ago.

Topics: 20
Posts: 699
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
argentina.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Quite some time has passed since this mod was released, and surely many people have played it now. I wonder, did anyone here ever get to "Journey's End", the mod's "true" ending, as ack would put it back then when this was still being developed and tested? I chuckle when I remember the graveyard on that level...

Ariel

_________________
Hot to Rock - Long Live Metal!
insurrectionman
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 07 May 2005
Last Visit: 8:56 ago.

Topics: 85
Posts: 747
Location: Wisconsin
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:53 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I only made it to Act 3 or 4. I upgraded to a 64-bit OS and I can't stand playing it in DosBox because of the slight lag in framerate. I have tried to make a happy medium, but it isn't as smooth as I'd like. If it was an SDL mod, I think I'd try at it again.

_________________
I'm back! I missed this community!
Youtube Channel: TreeSapThief

New Site: http://www.treesapthief.com
Twitter: @treesapthief
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 9:26 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 6:04 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

If I can just get the DOS Box source code running in my compiler, I'll definitely try to do something about the 20,000 CPU cycles cap. It annoys me, too. Smile
Dean
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 23 Oct 2016

Topics: 52
Posts: 2187
Location: Australia
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:02 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm with insurrectionman, i get a very choppy and lag in framerate also.

An SDL version would make my day for sure!

_________________
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog is now on Facebook!

"Strong minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, weak minds discuss people" - Socrates
insurrectionman
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 07 May 2005
Last Visit: 8:56 ago.

Topics: 85
Posts: 747
Location: Wisconsin
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:27 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sadly I don't think Adam has that kind of time on his hands. I'd try to, but I'm working on two mods, and college eats more time out of me than anything else. :/

_________________
I'm back! I missed this community!
Youtube Channel: TreeSapThief

New Site: http://www.treesapthief.com
Twitter: @treesapthief
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:32 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Orb doesn't run correctly in DOSBox anyway. The crossbow bolts don't fire correctly under DOSBox and I've never been able to figure out why. I will eventually port it over to an engine that works without DOSBox or VDMSound.

There are more things in the game that make me chuckle that no one has asked about in 4+ years.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 9:26 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:46 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
Orb doesn't run correctly in DOSBox anyway. The crossbow bolts don't fire correctly under DOSBox and I've never been able to figure out why.
I'll probably tinker around with the settings a bit to come closer to an answer. But I do know it's framerate-related. That's why I'm trying to up the maximum CPU cycles in DOS Box. Smile And here's something *really* weird; IIRC, when I enabled floor and ceiling textures, I swear the framerate actually went up. Confused
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 9:26 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:59 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam, to get Orb running at a decent framerate on DOSBox, go into DOSBox.conf and skim ahead to the "[cpu]" section. I got good results changing the CPU options to this:

::: CODE :::
core=dynamic
cputype=auto
cycles=180000
cycleup=500
cycledown=500
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:31 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks, Tricob. That did certainly help. I never would have guessed that the framerate was the reason the crossbow bolts didn't shoot correctly. I could not use cycles=180000 because at that number, the adlib sounds and music stopped. I did find a happy medium at cycles=140000 though. Gets around 38 FPS, has adlib music and digital sounds, crossbow bolts work at all angles. Seems good. Thanks for the info and for figuring out the values!

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

(Time for a necro-post. Sorry.)

With Orb of Dilaaria's five year anniversary, I'm preparing a reissue that bundles the game with DOSBox to make it easier to run on newer systems. Download, install, and double click the desktop shortcut. DOSBox is all setup for you. One some machines, there may be the normal choppiness, etc, but I've included a Game Setup program that allows you to change some of the DOSBox options that I think would help you get gameplay to be as it should. This reissue will probably be posted on Wednesday.

Granted, this isn't the same as a Wolf4DSL release. Maybe something like that for the ten year anniversary. Smile
(I shudder when I think of all the code files I'll have to DIFF to see my changes.)

Also, I'd like to mention the game's Facebook page again for anyone interested: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Orb-of-Dilaaria/107520985944473

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:34 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Orb of Dilaaria has been reissued as an install package bundled with DOSBox 0.74. The installer sets up everything for you so you (hopefully) don't have to worry about a thing.

This is marked as release candidate #1 in order to get feedback from users that have issues running the game. If you have to alter the DOSBox CONF file in order to get the game to run well on your system, please let me know what changes you made to do so.

You can download it here.

Once the dust settles and any problems that can be corrected get corrected, I will post it on ModDB.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 13:41 ago.

Topics: 69
Posts: 3662

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:14 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I didn't have to alter the settings, it worked fine this way on my computer. This is great, the closest thing to a 4SDL release for now. Smile
Schabbs
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 20 Sep 2017

Topics: 33
Posts: 564
Location: London, England
uk.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:32 am
   Subject: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I didn't have to alter the settings either. It runs at the right speed without any drag. Smile

_________________
Brian.
Cat Productions - mapper
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 21 Sep 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:59 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yeah same here runs smooth as ever, didn't try on the netbook however. I never had any problems setting it up manually, but this is good for those who struggle or just can't be bothered. And Ron, "technically" this is Wolf for SDL, as DosBox runs on SDL. Also I'd like to point out this awesome SVN build of DosBox that I've previously had very good results on running some more intensive games (Blood), though it was before 0.74 ever existed. Here it is: http://ykhwong.x-y.net/

Anyways, just reporting in.

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:09 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That's 3 positives, so that's good. Thanks.

Hopefully things stay positive when you get the inflictor. With DOSBox, sometimes the arrows would not fly straight, but using a higher CPU cycles settings (or max) corrected that problem on my machine. Actually, I think Codetech84 was the first to point that out to me.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 21 Sep 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:38 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yes I think I was the first to point out the problem, I used DosBox back in the day to play with full audio (Most people probably didn't use it much back then). Running in XP the problem did not occur and the framerate was better. But playing now on newer DosBox version it is quite a bit faster and the gameplay is very smooth.

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 28 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2113
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:59 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It runs ok for me. I get an average of 8 fps on my netbook (Windows XP), and it takes around 6 seconds to load the playscreen each time you start the game (which I think might have something to do with running the shading tables each time it runs SetupGameLevel instead of just during the signon), but if I turn off all the "Options" features I get around 14 fps. The music and sounds work good, and the graphics look nice... the game automatically scaled up to the whole screen when I first ran it so that's good. When I change the cycles from "max" to 140000, the framerate is better but everything is in very slow motion, and all the sound and music automatically get turned off from the menu, so I guess "max" is better. The game runs pretty much the same whether or not I use double buffering, run with or without full screen, or switch the SDL Output options.

Somehow, my "Game Setup.exe" turns into an icon of Winrar, my LICENCE.txt turns into an icon of Ms-Paint, my "Uninstall.exe" turns into an icon of Firefox, my "Orb of Dilarria.bat" turns into an icon of Subspace Continuum, and my "Orb.ico" turns into an icon of Windows Live Messenger after I play, or sometimes those icons disappear completely when I quit, but a simple F5 refresh fixes it. It doesn't seem to happen if I don't run in full screen though. Must be a DosBOX issue or something. Laughing

Codetech84 wrote:
Also I'd like to point out this awesome SVN build of DosBox that I've previously had very good results on running some more intensive games (Blood), though it was before 0.74 ever existed. Here it is: http://ykhwong.x-y.net/

Thanks, this is good to know. Maybe I'll try this sometime too. Thumbs Up


Last edited by Chris on Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:20 pm; edited 3 times in total
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15:34 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:07 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I can get the program to run, but everything runs choppy until I disable just about everything (sans the ingame messages), and bump up the cycles to 30000. Kinda cruddy to have to resort to that if you ask me. But It's playable, if a bit choppy still.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 9:26 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:19 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor - Check my post to Adam on Page 10 regarding DOSBOX.CONF. It should help you out. Smile
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15:34 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:21 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Way ahead of you on that. But I've found that disabling the textured ceilings/floors really makes the whole difference between playable and unplayable. So I'm able to play, just not with textured ceilings/floors. Also, I have the cycles up to like 50,000.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 17 Oct 2017

Topics: 103
Posts: 2727
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:42 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

How can you play without floors when some are damagable or interactive?
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15:34 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:15 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Simple: Orb of Dilaaria was coded so that if you turn off textured ceilings and floors, there would be VGA floors instead, but there could be different colors for different tiles. Green for Slime, Red for Lava, Blue for touchplates. And anything else is just bare floor or ceiling.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 17 Oct 2017

Topics: 103
Posts: 2727
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:22 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Aaa...got it Smile
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 28 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2113
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:05 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
It runs ok for me. I get an average of 8 fps on my netbook (Windows XP), and it takes around 6 seconds to load the playscreen each time you start the game (which I think might have something to do with running the shading tables each time it runs SetupGameLevel instead of just during the signon), but if I turn off all the "Options" features I get around 14 fps. The music and sounds work good, and the graphics look nice... the game automatically scaled up to the whole screen when I first ran it so that's good. When I change the cycles from "max" to 140000, the framerate is better but everything is in very slow motion, and all the sound and music automatically get turned off from the menu, so I guess "max" is better. The game runs pretty much the same whether or not I use double buffering, run with or without full screen, or switch the SDL Output options.

Somehow, my "Game Setup.exe" turns into an icon of Winrar, my LICENCE.txt turns into an icon of Ms-Paint, my "Uninstall.exe" turns into an icon of Firefox, my "Orb of Dilarria.bat" turns into an icon of Subspace Continuum, and my "Orb.ico" turns into an icon of Windows Live Messenger after I play, or sometimes those icons disappear completely when I quit, but a simple F5 refresh fixes it. It doesn't seem to happen if I don't run in full screen though. Must be a DosBOX issue or something. Laughing

Ok, I tried it on my other laptop (Win7 Centrino w/2GB ram) and it runs a lot better. About 28 fps with the default settings. Smile

I'm slightly curious... how Orb w/DosBox performs on other netbooks. Has anyone else tried it on one? I've heard the newer AMD chips are slightly faster with graphics than Atom... maybe Win7 Starter instead of XP makes a difference too...
Dean
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 23 Oct 2016

Topics: 52
Posts: 2187
Location: Australia
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:03 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tried it on my home PC, which runs XP and it runs the smoothest I've personally ever been able to play it.

I know this is 'the next best thing to SDL' but I still think an SDL version would solve even more problems on more peoples PC's. I think we need to remember that there's a lot more people that play our mods than just the members of the forum here. We have little idea what difficulties they may be experiencing.

_________________
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog is now on Facebook!

"Strong minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, weak minds discuss people" - Socrates
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:17 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Chris: The DOSBox cycles setting is a tricky thing, I've found. I've found that "max" works pretty well on Vista and Win 7 computers, but not having an XP machine any more, I've been unable to test it first hand to discover a good setting. My guess is that 140000 is actually above your "max", which is why everything slows down and music/sound disappears. Try lower settings, maybe 70000 or 25000. I'm not sure if that will both make the game smooth and allow the inflictor to work properly.

I have poured over the projectile firing code and can't see anything that would be timing-related that would make them break on lower frame rates. I might give it another look and maybe post that code here for others to glance at.

Are your FPS counts those given by the game itself?

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 9:26 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7979
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
I have poured over the projectile firing code and can't see anything that would be timing-related that would make them break on lower frame rates. I might give it another look and maybe post that code here for others to glance at.
The original Wolf3D code always functioned erratically when the tic count (per frame) went beyond that of the values in the weapon arrays in WL_AGENT.CPP; I suspect something similar is happening here. I always avoid using weapon array values smaller than 4, for when more than three frames were skipped before the screen updated, that's when its behavior gets erratic. It much reminds me of my 80286 days, when framerate was crawling, and the chaingun never fired as fast at my enemies as it did if I just faced a wall and shot at it. Smile
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 16 Oct 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:36 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

EDIT: OK, I think I'm actually on to something now. I decided to make arrows stand still as they are fired to make sure they are created correctly and they were (the effect was a neat Matrix bullet-time look). So that lead me to T_Projectile.

My guess is that with the arrows are so fast (0x8000l) and the frame rate so slow (causing tics to be high), "(long)ob->speed*tics" in T_Projectile is becoming very big and this causes FixedByFrac to screw things up. Does FixedByFrac have a bug, or is it limited to 16-bit ints?

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 7 of 8 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts n00b... lol and first game
Author: Guest
6 214 Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:27 pm
TheTalentedMrLeo View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Coalition
Author: Guest
6 275 Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:12 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts "First Person"...RPG?
Author: Guest
8 237 Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:55 am
Commodore View latest post
No new posts Kreml: Last Announcement Before Release
Author: Martin
43 9236 Fri Mar 12, 2004 9:23 pm
Raistlin View latest post
No new posts Super Blitzkrieg - my first TC!!
Author: Hair Machine
27 7400 Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:41 am
Hair Machine View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group