DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Orb of Dilaaria released!
Page 8 of 8 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 15:48 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8005
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:32 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The original code wasn't designed to let the rockets go by more than one map square in a single frame (nor any other actors, for that matter). If your arrow code doesn't compensate for this, and the arrows go through 2+ map squares instead of one in a single frame, then I think we've unveiled the problem. Smile
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:31 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This is what I found for the solution:

::: CODE :::
#define ARROW_STEPS   16

void T_FastProjectile (objtype *ob) {
   int x;
   unsigned oldtics = tics;
   long oldspeed = ob->speed;
   long totalspeed = (long)ob->speed * tics;
   long donespeed = 0;
   tics = 1;
   for (x = 1; x <= ARROW_STEPS; x++) {
      ob->speed = ((totalspeed * x) / ARROW_STEPS) - donespeed;
      donespeed += ob->speed;
      T_Projectile(ob);
      if (!ob->state) {
         break;
      }
   }
   tics = oldtics;
   ob->speed = oldspeed;
}


Then I just change s_arrow and s_uball (the weapons' projectile states) to use T_FastProjectile instead of T_Projectile. Basically it should just divide up a regular projectile move into 16 smaller projectile moves.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:17 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Does anyone who has experienced the inflictor bolt problem want to test the next version?

Also, does anyone have any v1.03 save games from various parts of the game they could send me?

EDIT:
@Metalor: What OS/CPU/RAM do you have? This choppiness was with the 1.03rc1 reissue, right? Did you try setting CPU cycles set to "max", which is the default?

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 19:58 ago.

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:51 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ummm, let's see, the OS is Windows Vista, the ram should be a good 2 GB, I'm not sure about the CPU. I just ran it from the get-go., and I downloaded the version provided on page 10. It's been running somewhat smoothly though. I'm already at the last level of the 4th act. It's just I can't play with Textured Ceilings and Floors, and a few other features.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 13 Nov 2017

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:10 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm using Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit and soo far everything is running really really smoothly on my end.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Metalor: Hmm, it should work with textures, etc on your machine. Would try it again with everything enabled and the CPU cycles set back to "max"? What graphics card do you have?

@Richter: Thanks for the info.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 15:48 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8005
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:02 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

IIRC, my setup is Win7 Home Premium, with 6 GB of RAM. I have a quad-core, 2 GHz, hi-end processor.

Oh - good workaround with the arrows, BTW. Smile
MrWolfForever
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 06 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 164
Posts: 1112

blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:52 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam, your link on the last page to the (new) DosBox from Windows version seems to be non-working, and I'd be highly interested in downloading it. Could you reupload the file please? That would be appreciated. Smile

_________________
My YouTube channel - Various Wolf3D and Doom videos; comments highly appreciated and welcomed!: https://www.youtube.com/user/kakhome1
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:30 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I took the link down temporarily while the new version is tested.

Good news is that the inflictor bug seems to have been fixed! Just a few more checks to make sure things are set up as best they can be and I'll release v1.04.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
MrWolfForever
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 06 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 164
Posts: 1112

blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:47 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I currently have v1.03 from ModDB. How do I get that to run properly for now?

Anyways I look forward to v1.04 and will be patient as I need to. Smile

Thanks.

_________________
My YouTube channel - Various Wolf3D and Doom videos; comments highly appreciated and welcomed!: https://www.youtube.com/user/kakhome1
Dean
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 23 Oct 2016

Topics: 52
Posts: 2187
Location: Australia
australia.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:27 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Just run the file and it will automatically install everything on your computer that you need to run the game.

_________________
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog
The Wolfenstein 3d Blog is now on Facebook!

"Strong minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, weak minds discuss people" - Socrates
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:01 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

ModDB doesn't have the installer version. I will be releasing v1.04 within 24 hours.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
MrWolfForever
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 06 Jun 2011
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 164
Posts: 1112

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:16 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for the help, Dean. Smile

However if 1.04 is going to be here tomorrow I'll probably just wait for that.

_________________
My YouTube channel - Various Wolf3D and Doom videos; comments highly appreciated and welcomed!: https://www.youtube.com/user/kakhome1
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:28 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I would recommend waiting, too. Smile

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:33 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

OK v1.04 is now up on my site. This version fixes the inflictor bolts bug that is noticeable when playing in DOSBox. I've noticed that most (not all) people experiencing lag use Win XP. I've checked over the CONF file several times and I'm not sure there's much I can do. If someone who initially experiences choppy play and happens to find settings that allow the game to run better, please let me know.

EDIT: v1.03 save games should still work with this release. Could someone confirm this for me?

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 15:48 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8005
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:07 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I have saved games from v1.02 or v1.03 - I can't remember which. My apologies, but I'm not good with remembering numbers. Sad
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:17 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Technically this should work with all but v1.00. v1.01 broke the compatibility of the save games.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:57 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
EDIT: v1.03 save games should still work with this release. Could someone confirm this for me?

Yes, works for me. Smile

It's nice that there's 60 save slots. In ATAW, I just let it save your stats from the start of every level (health, ammo, score, etc.) so you could warp back to any previous levels with F1 (takes up like 10 bytes a level/checkpoint), but this way works too.

By the way... "max" still works better than any cycle number on my XP computer, if you were curious. "auto" was the worst, it takes literally 33 seconds with a frozen screen to load the shading tables every time I start a level/die in that mode. Laughing
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:15 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks, Chris.

Are you able to play the game decently? Or is it too choppy?

I found "auto" to be terrible for me, also. And the pre-load pause seems unavoidable (though maybe I should look to try to stop it when you die) since the shading tables differ per level. It's probably all the math involving doubles slowing it down, but I'm not sure.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:26 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Adam Biser wrote:
I found "auto" to be terrible for me, also. And the pre-load pause seems unavoidable (though maybe I should look to try to stop it when you die) since the shading tables differ per level. It's probably all the math involving doubles slowing it down, but I'm not sure.

Hi Adam,

Yeah - it's pretty easy to stop loading the shading tables again when you die (with an if statement) I guess...

http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/viewtopic.php?p=50979&post#50979

You're probably right. I remember when we had a 386, it took like 2 hours to make a fish on El-Fish, then we got a math co-processor and it went down to like 10 minutes! That's what the difference between "auto" and "max" reminds me of. Laughing

EDIT: Ok, guess what? I bought a new netbook yesterday (Acer Aspire One 522), and it runs Orb in DosBox the exact same speed as my old Acer ZG5 (8 fps); lol! Like Metalor, the framerate is pretty smooth once I disable Textured Flats though (about 16 fps).
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:32 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Chris: Well, cool that it runs on your netbook. Have you tried using different SDL displays like openglnb? I get about 30 fps with all options on using my desktop.
And thanks for pointing out the shading table solution. I figured it was probably something pretty easy. Actually there is a shading table and a lightning table that can load, I believe. It has been awhile since I looked in that code. Obviously though, a similar solution would apply.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:23 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hey Adam, I was just thinking... if you send me the DOS source code by email, I can take a stab at making an SDL exe for you (most other big name addons are being ported already anyway). I kind of enjoy doing this stuff, and Orb would be a nice challenge, that would keep me busy for a while (ie. porting over it's file structure and features). I'd aim to get everything, and send you the SDL source code to look over if you wish. Let me know if you're interested.
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:54 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Version 1.05 has been released!

Full list of changes:

  • Fixed upper bound for map amount for various checks. This bug allowed the player to exit "Subterfuge" and go to "Looking Glass" instead of "The Unholy" as it should. Probably broken since v1.02.
  • Fixed a reinforcement tag so a guard spawns correctly in "Devil's Library" allowing the player to get 100% kills on that map.
  • Changed a few ceiling tiles to open sky in "The Unholy".
  • Corrected some book text.
  • Reworded the bestiary text for the Warrior.


Currently only available at: http://winwolf3d.dugtrio17.com/downloads.php
Both an installer and a ZIP version are available.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 7:36 ago.

Topics: 37
Posts: 2401
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:31 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Did the SDL port ever end up getting made?
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:13 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
Did the SDL port ever end up getting made?

No, never got around to looking into the SDL stuff. Have some other plans for it for the future though.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:46 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
Did the SDL port ever end up getting made?

Just for clarification: My post was never responded to by Adam and the source code was never sent (as far as I know).
Adam Biser
Utility Developer
Utility Developer


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 10 Dec 2017

Topics: 46
Posts: 2291
Location: USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
AlumiuN wrote:
Did the SDL port ever end up getting made?

Just for clarification: My post was never responded to by Adam and the source code was never sent (as far as I know).

Sorry for not responding. I appreciate the offer and it is very tempting. I did put the Orb source into a private git repository so that the code changes could be seen more easily.

I'd actually like to write my own engine for an updated version of the game. Something with original graphics as well instead of patched together rips. Basically something that frees the game from any copyright issues.

Too many plans, too little time. Seems to be my mantra.

_________________
Orb of Dilaaria now has a Facebook page
Star Wars: Bloodlines now has a Facebook page
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:40 am
   Subject: Re: Orb of Dilaaria released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks Adam. I probably could have done it in under a month in 2011 but I don't really use SDL much any more. Your approach definitely sounds unique and interesting! You have done more wolf-projects the last 10+ years than me, I'm pretty sure. Laughing
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 8 of 8 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts n00b... lol and first game
Author: Guest
6 214 Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:27 pm
TheTalentedMrLeo View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Coalition
Author: Guest
6 275 Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:12 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts "First Person"...RPG?
Author: Guest
8 237 Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:55 am
Commodore View latest post
No new posts Kreml: Last Announcement Before Release
Author: Martin
43 9683 Fri Mar 12, 2004 9:23 pm
Raistlin View latest post
No new posts Super Blitzkrieg - my first TC!!
Author: Hair Machine
27 7882 Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:41 am
Hair Machine View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group