DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

dynamic sounds
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Feature Fanatics View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 1:43 ago.

Topics: 115
Posts: 2929
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:49 am
   Subject: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

how is it difficult to "code in" local sounds into wolf3d engine? Like burning sound when you're near an animated fire sprite, water sound when near water, steam.... etc.
WSJ
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 30 Nov 2017

Topics: 24
Posts: 521

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:28 pm
   Subject: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The game already has local sounds, but alas, they no longer work under most systems... Sad However, if you run Wolf3D through DosBox, you'll get local sounds again... but as others have noted, things can really slow down in DosBox.

I'd really like to see a solution to the sound problem as well. It's very annoying when an enemy on the other side of the level gets alerted and you can hear him shouting like he's right next to you... or when someone is shooting at you from afar and you can't tell where it's coming from...
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:19 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yep, that's VDM Sound for ya. Sad If I knew more about Windows-based programming I'd take a shot at updating the code myself; making all the sound support of much higher quality and all.

Personally I'd use something else if there was something else. Actually there is, but it costs like 75 bucks and I have no idea whether it even does what it claims to do. I don't even remember what it's called, but considering its price, I doubt many people have bought it. Could even be out of print by now; I found the link about four years ago.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 1:43 ago.

Topics: 115
Posts: 2929
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:47 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I don't use DosBox to play wolf3d, it's just too slow.
I use pure VDMsound on winXP. works perfectly, with all the sounds
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:12 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yes, but it's lacking the Stereo sound that WSJ mentioned, and the sound isn't as high a quality as you can get through DOS Box. Listen to the "death sound" in Blake Stone through VDM Sound; it sounds terrible.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 1:43 ago.

Topics: 115
Posts: 2929
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:30 am
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yet it's still better than slow DosBox....
Raziel
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Last Visit: 03 Dec 2009

Topics: 49
Posts: 485
Location: Israhell
israel.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:00 am
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

if DosBox is slow.. Just add more FPS.. ctrl + F12.. If I'm not wrong... :]

_________________
Raziel A.
WLHack
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Last Visit: 18 Jan 2018

Topics: 66
Posts: 1241
Location: Loppi - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:23 am
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, when I tested DosBox with ToS demo, I had to increase FPS over 70000 cycles
and still the game were incredible slow (slower than the Wolfs Slow motion - mode)...

Though this might be due I used Windows Vista Premium (some how all games I play
with DosBox in Vista are incredible slow, no matter what the FSP is).

_________________
False Spear download
False Spear SDL download
Wolfenstein-blog
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:42 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What version of DOS Box? Only recent versions (like 0.70) will run the Wolf4GW game properly, and you should have the CPU type be "dynamic".

As for Windows Vista, I've been told that one of the five releases of the OS run DOS Box very, very well, and the rest of the releases run it terribly.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 1:43 ago.

Topics: 115
Posts: 2929
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:57 am
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I use the latest of course....but again, not for wolf3d....for games like Commander Keen Smile

I have no problems with VDMsound and good frame rate, and care less about a few sounds sounding less good. For me good framerate is more important
WLHack
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Last Visit: 18 Jan 2018

Topics: 66
Posts: 1241
Location: Loppi - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:23 am
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I downloaded the latest version of DosBox (I think it was 0.70, or somthing like that).
Well, maybe its the OS... Heh... Maybe I should search for Win98 installers.

_________________
False Spear download
False Spear SDL download
Wolfenstein-blog
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:42 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Since WinXP, installing Windows 98 on top won't work anymore. You'll need to remove the NTFS partition from your harddisk, wiping out all the data, put a new FAT32 partition in, and then re-format it. Surprised

It actually takes about 10 steps to complete the process altogether (seven through FDISK), but FDISK won't ever allow you to do the de-partition/re-partition work out of order. It'll just keep aborting the operation you tell it (there's only about 7 operations in all) until you select exactly the option it wants you to do next. I'd never used the utility before, found out in the middle of starting that I lost the instructions, and everything still ended up working perfectly. MS actually didn't blow it with FDISK; they did a great job. Oh, for the DOS days again.
WSJ
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 30 Nov 2017

Topics: 24
Posts: 521

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:39 am
   Subject: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

So does the sound location problem have to do with how Windows handles sound? Does anyone know if it can be fixed by just re-writing the sound engine part of the code? Or would you have to completely re-port the game so it no longer runs under DOS?
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:27 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, I know it's possible to call Windows commands *from* DOS, which would solve the sound-related problems. I don't know if BC3.1 supports this though, so it could require ASM-based instructions.
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 1:43 ago.

Topics: 115
Posts: 2929
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:47 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

from the time BC3.1 was created, it probably supports only calling Windows 3.11 functions Smile
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 14:05 ago.

Topics: 165
Posts: 8282
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:09 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Same would go for QB 4.5 (released in 1990, I believe), except that language can in fact call Windows OS functions without heavy-handed instructions. Ever heard of DirectQB? Very Happy
Ripper
Code Master - Developer
Code Master - Developer


Joined: 15 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Sep 2008

Topics: 21
Posts: 527
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:40 pm
   Subject: Re: dynamic sounds
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As far as I can remember, you have to change the version entry under [SB Controller.config] in your VDMS.ini to get the stereo sound working with VDMSound. I don't know the default value anymore, but try any of these values: 3.02 or 4.05 or 4.15
As far as I know, Wolf3D only knows SBPro to support a mixer (used for 3D sounds). So perhaps it does not recognize a SB16 (4.05) as SBPro compatible (well, actually it isn't completely compatible, but that's another story).
So I think 3.02 should be the correct value to try.

_________________
Life is an awful game, but the graphics resolution rocks ;D
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Feature Fanatics View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts WOLF4GW
Author: Tricob
110 39647 Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:17 am
Chris View latest post
No new posts [idea] Sniper Mode for Wolf3d
Author: MAREK17
3 112 Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:47 pm
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts "Awesomest Weapon" contest
Author: Dugtrio17
13 3808 Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:08 pm
Anonymous View latest post
No new posts Wolf3D and voxels
Author: Ripper
10 4066 Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:35 pm
Dugtrio17 View latest post
No new posts fire extinguisher weapon
Author: wolfwhips
3 1547 Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:45 am
wolfwhips View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group