DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

[Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels)
Page 1 of 2 Goto page 1, 2  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
wolf3dbreaker
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 09 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 29 Sep 2009

Topics: 31
Posts: 196
Location: Philippines
philippines.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 4:15 am
   Subject: [Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels)
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ummm.. anyone tried making breakable objects here? well, when you try to walk to it sidewards....

THERE WILL BE A DARN TOOOOTIIINN ROOOTIN WHAT IN THE NAME OF UNCLE SAM

invisible block. could anyone help me out.
thanks

P.S if you played spear ressurection, the breakable objects don't have an invisible block. OOHHH MCS! I HOPE THAT YOU WILL ANSWER OR ANYONE PLEASE!

_________________
Gone from the community for a while. Will be back on July
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:05 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable objects
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

wolf3dbreaker wrote:
Ummm.. anyone tried making breakable objects here? well, when you try to walk to it sidewards....

THERE WILL BE A DARN TOOOOTIIINN ROOOTIN WHAT IN THE NAME OF UNCLE SAM

invisible block. could anyone help me out.
thanks

P.S if you played spear ressurection, the breakable objects don't have an invisible block. OOHHH MCS! I HOPE THAT YOU WILL ANSWER OR ANYONE PLEASE!


Actually, MCS has already answered this question in the past.

MCS wrote:

In WL_DEF.H:

#define MINACTORDIST 0x10000l // minimum dist from player center
// to any actor center

#define MINPLAYERDIST 0xd800l // MCS: used in WL_AGENT.C instead of MINACTORDIST
// so player can pass between fake boss objects


In WL_AGENT.C:

if (deltax < -MINPLAYERDIST || deltax > MINPLAYERDIST)
continue;
deltay = ob->y - check->y;
if (deltay < -MINPLAYERDIST || deltay > MINPLAYERDIST)
continue;
// MCS: see comment in WL_DEF.H, orig. MINACTORDIST

You could adjust the 0xd800 value to suit your particular needs.
Also, you could use check->obclass to vary between both values, as to distinguish between fake objects and regular guards, to avoid the "running through" mentioned above.



The reason you get an "invisible block" is because of the "MINACTORDIST"
defined in WL_DEF.H. This number tells how close BJ can get to an actor object. If there are 2 of them side by side, BJ won't be able to pass between them. But by reducing the MINACTORDIST value, you can solve this problem. MCS uses an example of "MINPLAYERDIST" which equals 0xd800 instead of 0x10000.
Dugtrio17
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Oct 2013

Topics: 49
Posts: 901
Location: Seattle
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 12:22 pm
   Subject: Re: Breakable objects
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ah hah! I remember starting this topic on the old dome forums, but I forgot where I put the tip. Thanks for digging that up Wolf, and thanks go to MCS for stopping my gray hairs in the first place! Smile
and it's rootin tootin, by the way Smile (i think)

_________________
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:53 pm
   Subject: [Help] Exploding Objects
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

whos got the exploding objects tutorial?


----------------------------------

Edited by BrotherTank,

Please refrain from using foul language as per the rules of the forums.
Raistlin
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Last Visit: 18 Oct 2006

Topics: 24
Posts: 246

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:42 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding shit
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Uh.....is this a trick question?

Smile Smile

_________________
As I watched him on T.v, somehow it really bothered me...
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 4:36 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding shit
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In fact, there is only one tutorial on this on the net, on Paal Olstad website. But his tutorial suck, I have only use the exploding damage routine.

Hope that help

- Alex
jamez
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 17 Jan 2019

Topics: 13
Posts: 186
Location: Yorkshire, UK
uk.gif

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 12:46 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding [Censored by Mod]
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

theres one on my old site http://verdammt.ionichost.com which uses paals as a basis.

btw Paal rules, no dissen him please

_________________
~ James
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 3:09 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding [Censored by Mod]
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I know that Paal rules all his tutorials are VERY VERY VERY good but the one for the exploding barrel is a bit messy.
jamez
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 17 Jan 2019

Topics: 13
Posts: 186
Location: Yorkshire, UK
uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:32 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding [Censored by Mod]
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

DemolitionDerby wrote:
I know that Paal rules all his tutorials are VERY VERY VERY good but the one for the exploding barrel is a bit messy.


Give him some slack Smile hes from amsterdam... plus if you read his tutorials over and over to understand the code in them, there generally quite wel done... I used his tut's for lots of stuff such as Rocket Launcher and exploading barrels (mainly jsut for the damage routine but itworks all the same!)

_________________
~ James
Martin
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 09 Sep 2014

Topics: 8
Posts: 150
Location: Wroclaw
poland.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 3:02 am
   Subject: Re: Exploding [Censored by Mod]
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yeah. A shame Paal isn't in the community now - he could bring some cool ideas or something. I remember he visited the DHW once, but then he left again. Sad

_________________
Martin
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:15 am
   Subject: [Help] How do I add Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I was wondering, how can you make an breakable column without modifying an enemy? I want to make a brand new object that is a breakable column. Can someone post the code here? or send it to me at <removed> . MCS? Smile

Thanks for responding,
KyleRTCW

P.S. Sorry for posting a lot of questions/problems mod. I just suck at coding.

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312


Last edited by KyleRTCW on Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:50 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Yo, breakable columns are very easy to do. Just create a new enemy (with MCS tutorial) with the number of frames you have for your column. Do not define any SpawnGuard or SpawnPatrol, and you will be able to create a breakable column. (It work for me at least).

Hope this help.

- Alex
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:00 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

DemolitionDerby wrote:
Yo, breakable columns are very easy to do. Just create a new enemy (with MCS tutorial) with the number of frames you have for your column. Do not define any SpawnGuard or SpawnPatrol, and you will be able to create a breakable column. (It work for me at least).

Hope this help.

- Alex


I split the Hitler boss into two instead of one, that I use for the breakable column right now and because of that, if you run along wall and it try to run (close to it) pass it, it stops you. I'll try experimenting with this, Thanks. If i have problems, I'll post.

Update:

How would I do this with a boss?

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:59 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

How can I do this? Razz

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 8:24 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

it has something to do with the ACTORSIZE in wl_def.h or maybe thi MINDIST thing too. also when an actor is assigned the FL_SHOOTABLE flag, it automaticaly assigns the actors 'size'. i think the answer will be found in wl_def.h.
ZuljinRaynor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 30 May 2018

Topics: 19
Posts: 559

usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:42 pm
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

MarioManiac is probably onto something. Just use those tutorials and make an objects that explodes but doesn't damage. That should be it! Laughing
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 4:11 pm
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Zeta_burn wrote:
it has something to do with the ACTORSIZE in wl_def.h or maybe thi MINDIST thing too. also when an actor is assigned the FL_SHOOTABLE flag, it automaticaly assigns the actors 'size'. i think the answer will be found in wl_def.h.


Anybody recommend what I should change this too? I don't like experimenting with actor stuff.

EDIT: ACTORSIZE wasn't found in WL_DEF.H, but I thought I saw that before...

MarioManiac wrote:
I never tryied to make breakable objects, but if you want, at Paal Olstad Tutorials there explosive objects too.


Thanks for your help, but that tutorial is based of the angel of death and I will not create 16 sprites for it Razz But maybe I will look into it to get an idea. Thanks for always offering me help a lot.
If karma was enabled, you'd probably have a lot.

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 1:13 pm
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

try lowering th MINDIST value. just a bit tho.
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 3:37 am
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It didn't work, (it didn't do anything) Crying or Very sad I tried lowering it to 900l and still no

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312
KyleRTCW
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 10 Aug 2019

Topics: 45
Posts: 510
Location: Ohio
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 3:26 pm
   Subject: Re: Breakable Columns...?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

oops, sorry Embarassed

_________________
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/stormx312
ZuljinRaynor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 30 May 2018

Topics: 19
Posts: 559

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:17 pm
   Subject: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Okay, I have tried this a lot of times but I still get errors. Does anyone know a simple way to do it? I have 5 sprites for my barrel (1 regular, 3 blowing up, one dead.) I am taking into consideration that I would have to add a new routine but Poet's tutorials are really confusing. Thanks.


Last edited by ZuljinRaynor on Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:18 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

try going to poet's website and go to the one below after you complete the exploding barrel tutorial.
Sockman
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 24 Jun 2008

Topics: 3
Posts: 67
Location: City 17
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've done this successfully. I need to know if you are using Wolf3D or Spear. If spear, you can follow the tutorial to the letter, but to get it to work in Wolf, modification needs to be done. I can show you how this is done; it's not as complex as it looks.

_________________
This isn't revenge; it's punishment.
ZuljinRaynor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 30 May 2018

Topics: 19
Posts: 559

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:24 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I have Spear.
Sockman
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 24 Jun 2008

Topics: 3
Posts: 67
Location: City 17
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:47 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This is easier. That is, unless you don't want to use the AOD as your barrel. I wouldn't in your case, seeing as how frames/enemy AI are somewhat wasted there. I'd go with Trans Grosse, but of course changes are required.

Poet uses A_StartAttack for the detonation and range damage of the barrel. This is an AOD AI already coded in and changed. You, of course will want to use a new one. Copy it the same, but be sure to define it as something new (I used A_Explode) and change Void A_StartAttack to your new definition.

You've changed sprites, so now you want to change the enemy code. In WL_Act2.c, under the statetypes, change the second NULL in the first death statetype to your exploding routine.

You'll want to add a sound in there also, but that's straightforward. Throw it in at the start of your explosion routine.

That's about as much help as I can be to you without looking through my code or the tutorial itself. If you're sill lost in the jungle w/o a machete, I'll try and simplify this.

Good luck.

_________________
This isn't revenge; it's punishment.
ZuljinRaynor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 30 May 2018

Topics: 19
Posts: 559

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:53 pm
   Subject: Re: Exploding Barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Uh, I am using Trans as a boss (different name and sprites). I want a new barrel object from nothing/copy and pasting. Trans is now Jose Schiltz.

I'll try something with this (maybe) but I would rather have a tutorial with adding a new object and its routines. It would be most helpful.
Xarkon
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Last Visit: 19 Apr 2006

Topics: 18
Posts: 203
Location: West Australia
australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:08 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I wanna make a toilet that self destructs! Where do I gte this tutorial??

Joel Corrigan Smile

_________________
Trying is the first step to failure
Dugtrio17
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 03 Oct 2013

Topics: 49
Posts: 901
Location: Seattle
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:27 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

You make it like you would any other explodable object.
And about Poet's tutorial: It's simpler than you think. He shows you not only how to make the explosion routine, but how to convert an existing boss into an explodable object. All you really need is the routine (the A_Explosion or whatever it's called code). Once you've got the routine in, you can use it for anything: Exploding objects, exploding missiles, or even exploding enemies! To make an exploding object, just stick the routine into the enemy's code like so:
::: CODE :::
statetype s_barreldie1 ={false,SPR_BAR_DIE_1,15,NULL,A_Explosion,&s_barreldie2};
statetype s_barreldie2 = {false,SPR_BAR_DIE_2,15,NULL,NULL,&s_barreldie3};
statetype s_barreldie3 = {false,SPR_BAR_DIE_3,15,NULL,NULL,&s_barreldie4};

That way when it dies, it booms.
But if you're experiencing errors of another nature (which they CAN occur; I seem to remember Wolf3d bombing out with an error like "An active object called SightPlayer!"), then that's something I can't help with without a better description or an excerpt from the source.

_________________
ZuljinRaynor
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 30 May 2018

Topics: 19
Posts: 559

usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:26 pm
   Subject: Re: [Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

You can get a tutorial on my site. I was able to add barrels.
http://clik.to/zrtc

Should be up soon.
Guest




Last Visit:





PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:47 am
   Subject: Re: [Info] Breakable or Exploding Objects (colums or barrels
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've followed the tutorial from ZuljinRaynor, and I compiled with no errors.

But what do I have to do next?

I did add 5 sprites after the Chaingun in FloEdit, and add a new record (with proffesional mode)

But I don't see a thing in the game Sad
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 2 Goto page 1, 2  Next
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts [Help] Setting RocketLauncher: Explosive Range...?
Author: KyleRTCW
17 7221 Thu Jun 03, 2004 3:21 am
Codetech84 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Tricks - Dogs that shoot - Modifying Behaviour
Author: Guest
19 288 Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:31 am
Dugtrio17 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Alarm Sounding in game?? WSJ...??
Author: Guest
7 310 Tue Jun 17, 2003 10:04 pm
Reivax44 View latest post
No new posts [Info] Silent Gun? - Adding a Silencer
Author: Guest
4 194 Fri Apr 18, 2003 8:34 am
BrotherTank View latest post
No new posts [Info] Adding Locked Doors
Author: Guest
3 244 Thu Apr 17, 2003 6:30 am
Ripper View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group