DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2017

Topics: 91
Posts: 464

usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:38 pm
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

As all of you know, the original Wolf3D has only two keys -- gold and blue. However, if you look in the original Wolf3D source code, you'll see that it has code -- in fact, all the necessary code -- for two additional locked door and key types -- 3 and 4 -- but they are never used. In fact, in levels you create for the original, unmodified Wolf3D, you can even place locked door (but NOT key) types 3 and 4 (map codes 60-63 hex), so you can have locked doors that only enemies can open -- some add-ons for the original Wolf3D have this. And of course, to add two additional keys to a TC, all you have to do is create sprite graphics for the keys and modify the data in statinfo to mark the two objects you've used with the sprites with bo_key3 and bo_key4.

Do any of you have any idea why ID Software didn't use locked door and key types 3 and 4 in the original Wolf3D?
Haasboy
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 19 Oct 2017

Topics: 58
Posts: 581
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
southafrica.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:54 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

There's a lot of stuff on the source code the iD added, and never used in the final product - look at some of the code for the enemies....

_________________
Haasboy Engine - Currently under construction (To be used with future mods - F.A.D.E.D. - Mansion X - Rising Evil Series)
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 6:18 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2384
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:29 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

iD had almost even put in floor and ceiling textures themselves... I think. Take a look at WOLFSPAN.C in the original 16-bit code.
Codetech84
Code Master
Code Master


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 21 Sep 2017

Topics: 22
Posts: 1281
Location: Rauma - Finland
finland.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:10 am
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Actually it's WOLFHACK.C, I had to look it up because I didn't remember a WOLFSPAN.C:

I wonder if this would display the textures with greater accuracy than the DarkOne version. The DarkOne version leaves visible gaps along the walls and the gap grows bigger by distance.

The ID version almost works, but will crash if you turn your head and the textures display in weird color. I made a testbuild to try it out, don't mind the Wolfenstein Reloaded signon screen, it was the only one I had at hand that was in the right palette, it's still the original wolf source code.
>> Download here

Now waiting for a Wolf4SDL port, any takers?

Here's the contents of WOLFHACK.C, if anyone's interested:
::: CODE :::
// WOLFHACK.C

#include "WL_DEF.H"

#define   MAXVIEWHEIGHT   200

int      spanstart[MAXVIEWHEIGHT/2];

fixed   stepscale[MAXVIEWHEIGHT/2];
fixed   basedist[MAXVIEWHEIGHT/2];

extern   char   far   planepics[8192];   // 4k of ceiling, 4k of floor

int      halfheight = 0;

byte   far *planeylookup[MAXVIEWHEIGHT/2];
unsigned   mirrorofs[MAXVIEWHEIGHT/2];

fixed   psin, pcos;

fixed FixedMul (fixed a, fixed b)
{
   return (a>>8)*(b>>8);
}


int      mr_rowofs;
int      mr_count;
int      mr_xstep;
int      mr_ystep;
int      mr_xfrac;
int      mr_yfrac;
int      mr_dest;


/*
==============
=
= DrawSpans
=
= Height ranges from 0 (infinity) to viewheight/2 (nearest)
==============
*/

void DrawSpans (int x1, int x2, int height)
{
   fixed      length;
   int         ofs;
   int         prestep;
   fixed      startxfrac, startyfrac;

   int         x, startx, count, plane, startplane;
   byte      far   *toprow, far *dest;

   toprow = planeylookup[height]+bufferofs;
   mr_rowofs = mirrorofs[height];

   mr_xstep = (psin<<1)/height;
   mr_ystep = (pcos<<1)/height;

   length = basedist[height];
   startxfrac = (viewx + FixedMul(length,pcos));
   startyfrac = (viewy - FixedMul(length,psin));

// draw two spans simultaniously

   plane = startplane = x1&3;
   prestep = viewwidth/2 - x1;
   do
   {
      outportb (SC_INDEX+1,1<<plane);
      mr_xfrac = startxfrac - (mr_xstep>>2)*prestep;
      mr_yfrac = startyfrac - (mr_ystep>>2)*prestep;

      startx = x1>>2;
      mr_dest = (unsigned)toprow + startx;
      mr_count = ((x2-plane)>>2) - startx + 1;
      x1++;
      prestep--;
      if (mr_count)
         MapRow ();
      plane = (plane+1)&3;
   } while (plane != startplane);

}




/*
===================
=
= SetPlaneViewSize
=
===================
*/

void SetPlaneViewSize (void)
{
   int      x,y;
   byte    far *dest, far *src;

   halfheight = viewheight>>1;


   for (y=0 ; y<halfheight ; y++)
   {
      planeylookup[y] = (byte far *)0xa0000000l + (halfheight-1-y)*SCREENBWIDE;;
      mirrorofs[y] = (y*2+1)*SCREENBWIDE;

      stepscale[y] = y*GLOBAL1/32;
      if (y>0)
         basedist[y] = GLOBAL1/2*scale/y;
   }

   src = PM_GetPage(0);
   dest = planepics;
   for (x=0 ; x<4096 ; x++)
   {
      *dest = *src++;
      dest += 2;
   }
   src = PM_GetPage(1);
   dest = planepics+1;
   for (x=0 ; x<4096 ; x++)
   {
      *dest = *src++;
      dest += 2;
   }

}


/*
===================
=
= DrawPlanes
=
===================
*/

void DrawPlanes (void)
{
   int      height, lastheight;
   int      x;

   if (viewheight>>1 != halfheight)
      SetPlaneViewSize ();      // screen size has changed


   psin = viewsin;
   if (psin < 0)
      psin = -(psin&0xffff);
   pcos = viewcos;
   if (pcos < 0)
      pcos = -(pcos&0xffff);

//
// loop over all columns
//
   lastheight = halfheight;

   for (x=0 ; x<viewwidth ; x++)
   {
      height = wallheight[x]>>3;
      if (height < lastheight)
      {   // more starts
         do
         {
            spanstart[--lastheight] = x;
         } while (lastheight > height);
      }
      else if (height > lastheight)
      {   // draw spans
         if (height > halfheight)
            height = halfheight;
         for ( ; lastheight < height ; lastheight++)
            DrawSpans (spanstart[lastheight], x-1, lastheight);
      }
   }

   height = halfheight;
   for ( ; lastheight < height ; lastheight++)
      DrawSpans (spanstart[lastheight], x-1, lastheight);
}

_________________
Click here to visit KFH Games website!
*UPDATED* Spear of Destiny Reloaded
KFH Games on Facebook
WSJ
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 08 May 2017

Topics: 24
Posts: 521

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:55 pm
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Interesting... I wonder if there's a way of modifying DarkOne/Adam's code to use the same texture alignment as in WOLFHACK.C. It might have to be a Wolf4SDL routine, though, because I'm guessing that some of those tables eat up a lot of memory.

On-Topic: I'm not entirely sure why the last two doors weren't used, but I've read that Id had originally intended for Wolf3D to have more complex gameplay, and a lot of stuff was cut out before its final release (including disguises, dragging bodies, enemies that "surrender," etc.) However, a few remnants of the stuff they didn't use got left in.
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 6:18 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2384
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:18 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

@Codetech: Yeah, that's right. It's been a while since I looked at the old C source.
@WSJ: It could work in the 16-bit code if you 'far' all of the tables. Although from my experience, don't try and do that with a table that is [1280][300]. Laughing
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2017

Topics: 91
Posts: 464

usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:40 pm
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In the original Wolf3D (at least in the "G" version), by opening doors with certain map codes other than normal floor codes adjacent to them to modify data in other areas of memory, it is possible to give the player keys 3 and 4 -- which gives the player the ability to open locked door types 3 and 4. I remember doing this once successfully in the "G" version.

Why did they remove the more complex elements of Wolf3D? Did it have anything to do with the memory limitations, or did they just want a simpler game?
BrotherTank
Forum Administrator
<B>Forum Administrator</B>


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 12 Sep 2017

Topics: 153
Posts: 2256
Location: Ontario
canada.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ah... someone who hasan't read the Wolfenstein FAQ.... lol...

The other features that WSJ mentioned were removed for gameplay. The game originally was more of an Role Playing Game... with objectives... But back in 1992, the machines didn't have the power to do everything that they wanted and still have the game remain exciting and fast flowing. So those features were sacrificed to give the game a better feel and still run well on those old 286 machines... Smile

One of these days I'll have to start work back on the Bunker site and get the "Hint Books" more involved than they already are over there.... Actually visit the Bunnker site and I think you will find that I may have posted the part about items being removed from the game for gameplay....

Greg
BrotherTank

PS: Hopefully during the second half of the summer I hope to rebuild and reshape the forums to bring the two sites together and add a whole lot more information that I have - to make us one of the best places to visit for wolfenstein, and all it's history of information....

Greg
BrotherTank
totixtreme
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 11 Feb 2008
Last Visit: 02 Nov 2016

Topics: 4
Posts: 20
Location: Santiago, Chile
chile.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:39 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Codetech84, The link is broken!!! Crying or Very sad
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 28 Sep 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2113
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Codetech84 wrote:
The ID version almost works, but will crash if you turn your head and the textures display in weird color. I made a testbuild to try it out, don't mind the Wolfenstein Reloaded signon screen, it was the only one I had at hand that was in the right palette, it's still the original wolf source code.
>> Download here

I was looking at the Blake Stone source, and was surprised to find out almost all of the exact same Textured Floors/Ceilings code it uses was already in Wolf3d (under different filenames, in Blake Stone they're called 3D_DRAW2.C and D3_DASM2.ASM).

To fix the colors/crashing in the wolf version, I just opened WHACK_A.ASM and replaced this:
::: CODE :::
pixelloop:
   shld   ebx,esi,22            ; shift y units in
   shld   ebx,esi,7            ; shift x units in and one extra bit
   and      bx,63*65*2            ; mask off extra top bits and 0 low bit
   add      esi,edx               ; position += step
   mov      al,[bx]
   mov      al,[eax]
   mov     [es:di],al              ; write ceiling pixel
   mov      al,[bx+1]
   mov      al,[eax]
   mov     [es:di+bp],al           ; write floor pixel

   inc      di
   loop   pixelloop

With the Blake Stone version:
::: CODE :::
pixelloop:
   shld   ebx,esi,22            ; shift y units in
   shld   ebx,esi,7            ; shift x units in and one extra bit
   and      bx,63*65*2            ; mask off extra top bits and 0 low bit
   add      esi,edx               ; position += step
   mov   ax,[bx]              ; get two source pixel
   mov   [es:di],al           ; write ceiling pixel
   mov   [es:di+bp],ah        ; write floor pixel

   inc      di
   loop   pixelloop

To test it in the game, I just opened WL_DRAW.C and replaced this in ThreeDRefresh():
::: CODE :::
//
// follow the walls from there to the right, drawwing as we go
//
   //
VGAClearScreen ();
   DrawPlanes ();


   WallRefresh ();

And the textures it uses by default (0 and 1) look like this and are in WOLFHACK.C (if anyone was curious):
::: CODE :::
   src = PM_GetPage(0);
...
   src = PM_GetPage(1);

There is a strange quirk with the ID version though: When you open doors on a certain angle, the textures will shift slightly as the door is opening and closing. This is in Blake Stone as well, but isn't as obvious because the doors open from the middle and the textures are usually solid squares (possibly both of these were done on purpose to make it less noticeable?). The quirk is also in Super Noah's Ark 3D and is a lot more noticeable there. Maybe I'll look into what causes this "shifting" later...
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2017

Topics: 91
Posts: 464

usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:17 pm
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It would have been so nice if the original Wolf3D had had floor and ceiling textures.

They could have made it so that it could be enabled and disabled, so that computers not fast enough to run it could still run the game.

Here's something I just thought of: Maybe with my version of Wolf4SDL, I'll make it so that it adds synthetic floor and ceiling textures to levels that just have floor and ceiling colors. This would allow you to have floor and ceiling textures with levels that weren't designed with that in mind.

This would be similar to how I've already made it so that it adds light shading (in 32-bit RGBA color) which is designed to go along with vanilla Wolf3D.

My goal with this project has been to show what vanilla Wolf3D might have been like with these features, and allow you to experience them in add-ons that weren't designed for them.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 15:29 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7980
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:07 am
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

OT -

Matthew wrote:
Here's something I just thought of: Maybe with my version of Wolf4SDL, I'll make it so that it adds synthetic floor and ceiling textures to levels that just have floor and ceiling colors. This would allow you to have floor and ceiling textures with levels that weren't designed with that in mind.
Let me know if you want any BMPs the code can use a base for tiles, carpets, and dirt textures. The algorithm to brighten and darken the edges of the tiles is actually very simple, as the edges simply use half the amount of colors the front does. The stone textures would use four different colors in all, and the number of colors would increase by 50% to create carpet textures and dirt textures.

Although my algorithm uses a 256-color palette to create the BMP files, they're very easy to save in 24-bit form.
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2017

Topics: 91
Posts: 464

usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:11 am
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Actually, what I'm thinking of doing is making it use synthetic textures, which means textures that are generated using an algorithm.

With The Thirteenth Floor: Special Edition, I created floor and ceiling textures that were designed to go along with the original Wolf3D graphics (the original version of TTF was a levels-only set). To create the floor texture, I took a high-resolution texture of a surface (maybe stone or concrete, I'm not sure) and downscaled it to 64x64. This resulted in it having a "pixelated stone" appearance. I then changed the overall color so that it was the same as the floor color in the original Wolf3D. This resulted in a floor texture that went perfectly with the original Wolf3D levels -- it had the vanilla Wolf3D feel.

Such a texture also can easily be created using an algorithm with random number generation. I'm planning to make it generate the textures whenever a level is spawned (they will be stored in save game files). It will do this for both floor and ceiling textures. This will allow you to play vanilla Wolf3D levels with floor and ceiling textures.

This should be very easy to do. I have written programs before that used fractals to randomly generate 3D landscapes and allowed you to navigate them. This will be far simpler -- since Wolf3D's textures are so low resolution, it won't use fractals; they will be "pixelated stone" textures.

Since the textures will be separate from Wolf3D's normal texture storage system, and since my version of Wolf4SDL does rendering in 32-bit RGBA color, the textures will be generated and stored, as well as used, in 32-bit RGBA.


Last edited by Matthew on Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 3:46 ago.

Topics: 162
Posts: 1074
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:03 am
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The additional doors were used in early builds, but were removed when the game became more action oriented.

_________________
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 15:29 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7980
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:34 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It's probably just as well, all the locked doors are the same color, so you have to find a key and hope that it unlocks the door you want. I don't like going through that with 4 different types of locked doors. At least MOTM had colored locks on the doors.
Cyanosis
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 07 Aug 2014
Last Visit: 12:52 ago.

Topics: 34
Posts: 507
Location: Newport, Oregon
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:43 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Matthew's last two posts is exactly what I was thinking about recently, if ECWolf for example could have a feature to turn on pre-defined flats for the respective ceiling/floor color (red texture for a red color, blue texture for a blue color etc.) so any vanilla Wolf sets (without source code modifications) could have floor/ceiling textures for those who don't like the default textureless look.

I don't think that'd be too hard to program in, but being I'm not a programmer I'm probably wrong.
Matthew
DieHard SS
DieHard SS


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2017

Topics: 91
Posts: 464

usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:58 pm
   Subject: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Actually, I've done it already. Smile

Last night, I added this feature to an experimental version of my modified version of Wolf4SDL. Tonight, I was going to add it to the "actual" version, but didn't have enough time. I expect to upload it within a few days (hopefully tomorrow).

It uses a simple algorithm to generate textures for a given floor or ceiling color.

It works perfectly. It allows you to experience vanilla Wolf3D levels with floor and ceiling textures, without having to have any additional data at all.

Since the textures are not normal Wolf3D textures, they are in full 32-bit RGBA color, and of course are rendered that way (everything is rendered in 32-bit RGBA color with RGB light shading).

EDIT: I now have uploaded it. See this thread: http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/viewtopic.php?t=7274
Barry
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2017

Topics: 64
Posts: 565

blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Interesting question. I have always wondered this myself. I have always been a big fan of the key hunting aspect of the game and always wondered why id only included two keys in the original Wolf3D when four were in the code. The additional two keys could be easily activated with a hex editor back in the day (though you had to compile the source to get status bar icons for them).

I think it goes back to the level design of the original levels. To do a four key map and do it well requires much more complex mapping than most of the original levels. Each key should be found in its own separate area rather than immediately in a room behind a locked door opened by the previous key. Also, to make such large levels while still having as much realism as possible in the Wolf3D engine really pushes the limits as far as static objects, actors, and doors hard coded into the original Wolf3D. Of course, this as well can be modified but in 1992, the game had to be able to run on PCs with 286 and 386 processors with 640K RAM. It's for this reason that light shading and floor/ceiling textures were not implemented.

_________________
Atomprojekt Download: http://www.wolfenvault.com/files/barry/ATOM.3.zip
Passage to Hollenteufel Download: http://www.wolfenvault.com/files/barry/PTH.2.zip
Cyanosis
DieHard Officer
DieHard Officer


Joined: 07 Aug 2014
Last Visit: 12:52 ago.

Topics: 34
Posts: 507
Location: Newport, Oregon
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:15 pm
   Subject: Re: Why didn't the original Wolf3D use locked door types 3-4?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

vaultkeeper wrote:
Of course, this as well can be modified but in 1992, the game had to be able to run on PCs with 286 and 386 processors with 640K RAM. It's for this reason that light shading and floor/ceiling textures were not implemented.


And the relatively scarce decoration in id's levels. Then again the original object limit makes it hard to populate every area with as much detail as possible.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Fact Time - Wolfenstein 3D For Consoles
Author: experiencedgamer
14 2520 Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:55 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts Wolf3D Newsletter
Author: IanFranken
88 12697 Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:25 pm
Zombie_Plan View latest post
No new posts Secret levels stats
Author: Guest
0 76 Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:41 pm
Guest View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Map Making Guide Project
Author: Adhesive_Boy
28 4640 Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:37 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts What I find off about Wolf3D
Author: Majik Monkee
11 2638 Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:21 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group