DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
Page 3 of 4 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> SDL Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Andy_Nonymous
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Last Visit: 17 Feb 2015

Topics: 99
Posts: 589
Location: New Jersey, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:41 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
Erm... I'm pretty sure that only allowing WAVs for sound is a limitation in SDL_mixer. If I wanted to be REALLY pro, I could add some controls for loading OGGs as raw data and playing that through SDL_mixer, but that could get very messy very quickly. But I'll take a look. Smile

AlumiuN,

I noticed that Wolf Skevos-Jones' new mod, "Castle Totenkopf SDL Edition" has OGG files for the sounds. The DLLs are all from 2009, so they must be newer versions that support this. (SDL_MIXER.DLL is dated 14 November 2009, version is 1,2,11,0)

I copied those DLLs to my mod's folder, updated the ASMCREF.H to use the OGG files, and it works!

Thought you would want to know...

EDIT: There is one negative effect of using OGG for the sounds: the transition from the title screen to the opening menu takes a longer time now. It is particularly noticeable on a Pentium III 1.0 GHz machine, though I notice a small delay on my Quad-core 2.2 GHz machine too. Switching back to WAV files eliminates the delay. Wolf Skevos-Jones' SDL mod suffers from an even longer delay on my machines. I think the length of the delay may be proportional to the number of OGG sound files, but the exact mechanism causing this is beyond my comprehension. Confused

Andy
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:09 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Andy - OGG files, like MP3s, have a load-up speed based on the "kps" factor. If your MP3 or OGG file has a 320 kps setting, it'll take much longer to extract than one of 80 kps. In addition, MP3 and OGG files are compressed, while WAV and RAW files are not.

You might experiment and re-sample the OGGs to 11025 Hz and 80 kps. This could decrease the load-up time. WinLAME might allow you to do this. GoldWave also might, but you'll probably have to register the program to enable OGG output capability (I haven't tried it yet, though). You might also decrease file size further if you enable Variable Bit Rates (often referred to as VBR). I don't know if AlumiuN's sound code supports this, though.

For sounds at 22050 Hz, the kps should be 160 to ensure minimal distortion. For 11025 Hz, 80 kps would be used. For sound at 44100 Hz, you should use 320 kps.
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 13 Nov 2017

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:34 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I wana know how do you use OGG as Sound I'm slow with coding and i'm no Coding wiz

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
Andy_Nonymous
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Last Visit: 17 Feb 2015

Topics: 99
Posts: 589
Location: New Jersey, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:53 am
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Richter Belmont wrote:
I wana know how do you use OGG as Sound I'm slow with coding and i'm no Coding wiz

Change the file extensions in the ASMCREF.H file from .wav to .ogg. To avoid confusion, I would keep the same file names.
You have to 'rebuild all' because it's a header file.

Then use the .DLLs from Wolf Skevos-Jones' new mod and you should be good to go.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

My thanks also to you, Andy. Assuming my follow-up to WolfDX doesn't go to a more advanced engine (as its new features list is getting way out of hand), your help on this issue does fix a lot of problems for me. Smile
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 2:03 ago.

Topics: 37
Posts: 2401
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:59 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Oh. That's good to know, actually. Project X could have 50 mB instead of 300. Very Happy
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 13 Nov 2017

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 3:05 am
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
Oh. That's good to know, actually. Project X could have 50 mB instead of 300. Very Happy


MY music files are indeed OGG. Sadly there is no way to make them any smaller tho :\

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
doomjedi
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 4:41 ago.

Topics: 104
Posts: 2757
Location: Israel
israel.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 11:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I personally don't like my mods being large MB-wise.
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:02 am
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I downloaded the pre-installed code and I've come across some weird bugs...

1: Selecting knife causes game to crash with no error messages...
2: Exiting to the menu, then choosing "Back To Game on Floor 2 - Episode 1, game crashes with no error messages...
3: PlayerDeathSND doesn't play on Floor 3 - Episode 1...

This is my first time really playing with the Advanced Sound Manager, haven't replaced all the sounds yet, not sure what other KNOWN bugs there is to the engine. Has anyone else came across these bugs? Is it better to download the files and make the changes yourself over the pre-installed code? Not really sure, so that's why I ask.
Andy_Nonymous
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Last Visit: 17 Feb 2015

Topics: 99
Posts: 589
Location: New Jersey, USA
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:43 am
   Subject: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've applied the changes manually to my pre-existing code, using the instructions in the zip package, plus the instructions in this thread. Take your time, be careful, and you shouldn't have any problems. And you might learn something! Smile

In any case, first back up your data so if it doesn't work or you don't like it, you can always painlessly go back to what you had before.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:29 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Soldat 555 wrote:
1: Selecting knife causes game to crash with no error messages...
Do you have the game play back a sound when switching to a knife? If the sound isn't cached correctly, the program will crash every time.

Quote:
2: Exiting to the menu, then choosing "Back To Game on Floor 2 - Episode 1, game crashes with no error messages...
Do you also get this when loading up a saved game? If so, the code is trying to start the music from somewhere in the middle, rather than the very beginning. Make sure you haven't left out the code that tells this to the program. Smile

Quote:
3: PlayerDeathSND doesn't play on Floor 3 - Episode 1...
I remember Mac-enstein SDL 2.0 has the same problem with doors, when loading up a game, but I couldn't get the problem to occur consistently ... Confused
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:08 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well... I downloaded the "Code with installation instructions" from Pg. 1 of this topic and now the game doesn't crash anymore. I still couldn't fix that bug with the PlayerDeathSound on Map03 and Map07... The only thing I saw the 2 levels have in common was POW_MUS in WL_Play.CPP, so I removed that line of code from the engine and it works again, I'm still using the same MIDI though there's no flaw there. Smile

Anyway, thanks for the tip Andy, not using the pre-installed Wolf4SDL engine fixed some major crashing. Very Happy
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:29 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm curious, is it possible to set this code up somehow so that it only uses the half for Sound management and instead leaves the stuff with Music alone, allowing it to function with the AUDIOT instead?

I'd like to know because although the function works great with my SFX, it borks every now and again whenever the game restarts one of my MIDI tunes. Muting the game keeps the bug from occurring, but since I'd prefer IMFs, I'd like to know if such a fix can be implemented. (I would do MP3s, but I prefer files of up to 64KB to over 2MB files).

Thanks in advance for any information!

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:19 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor wrote:
(I would do MP3s, but I prefer files of up to 64KB to over 2MB files).
Try OGG files. Smile
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:46 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmmm, I suppose I'll have to look for a converter. But then, I'm not familiar with the size changes for that particular conversion. (I mean, are we talking 2MB to 1MB or from 2 MB to like 200KB?) I have considered OGG, but I wasn't sure of the overall differences of the format.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:16 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

OGGs can be converted using Goldwave. You might have to register the product to get this part working, though. OGGs are missing things like Artist name, Track number, and jargon like that; not really necessary for simple audio tracks in a game. OGGs are usually less than 60% the size of an MP3. From what I've worked with, OGGs are generally smaller when the tune is more complex and less redundant; most Wolf tunes were 25% the size of an MP3, while an instrumental jazz track was about 70% in size altogether.
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:30 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for the info, I'll try that and get back to you on the results. If I can get that work, I can forego more lengthy code-modifications.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:50 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sorry for bumping an old thread (and I know Alumiun's disappeared), but I believe I found a bug that could get looked into.

So I'm using a lot of MIDI files as I don't want my future Wolf3d projects to be really big in size because of MP3/OGG music. Anyways, went to the sound menu and tried to turn the music off... But the menu music just kept playing, even when I went into Read This and started a new game.

Any ideas? The sound/music volume sliders still work so could someone figure out how to reprogram the code to go straight to the volume slider options instead of the sound menu with the ON/OFF buttons?
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:42 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I have that problem too.

I don't recall if I posted this bug either bug:

When the music begins to loop, there's a chance that the game will crash. I don't think it happens with any other file format though.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 13 Nov 2017

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:58 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor wrote:
I have that problem too.

I don't recall if I posted this bug either bug:

When the music begins to loop, there's a chance that the game will crash. I don't think it happens with any other file format though.


Honestly I've never encounter this Problem :\

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:55 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Perhaps you have a later version?

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:35 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

It might also relate to the file itself. Try an OGG file from Mac-stein SDL2.
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:09 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, I've given up on trying to use OGG files, so I'd like to try and resolve the problem with the MIDI files present.

Anyways, I'm still incurring two problems with this code, namely:

1. The game crashes at certain times when the MIDI playing loops during gameplay (it also doesn't like it if this happens while a sound effect is playing).

2. The music sound slider will decrease both the Music and Sound volume, rather than just the Music volume.

Also, Tricob, you once talked about using your WolfDX sound code. If all else fails, how would I go about using that? (That would include using/importing those special IMFs that only work in WolfDX)

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 17 Dec 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2116
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:30 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I haven't tried the Advanced Sound Manager yet (I always found it weird that the tutorial was in a download instead of a post), but you've got me curious as well... maybe I'll try it this weekend to see if I get similar OGG/Midi results as you, or I'll post some tips/instructions here if I get it working.
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:10 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor wrote:
Also, Tricob, you once talked about using your WolfDX sound code. If all else fails, how would I go about using that? (That would include using/importing those special IMFs that only work in WolfDX)
Please forgive my ignorance, but I don't really know what sound code you're talking about; the IMFs from WolfDX ran fine when I put them in other mods.

I don't recommend the WolfDX code personally; it has lots of bugs I was never able to fix. I even plan to port it over to the Base Of Operations code in the future, so the game can finally be bug-free.
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, I meant the IMFs wouldn't play in Winamp and the like, or I couldn't convert them to MP3s. Maybe it was just my mind playing tricks on me, but I thought that WolfDX had some sort of special modification to its sound code to make it superior to Wolf4SDL's. Well, I guess I'll have to contend with the MIDI problem until I can see about a better method (I just hope this issue is resolved before public release, I doubt players would favor dealing with these issues).

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:37 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8011
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:26 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor wrote:
Well, I meant the IMFs wouldn't play in Winamp and the like, or I couldn't convert them to MP3s.
You actually can get the IMFs to play in WinAmp, but you need an IMF plugin of some sort. It doesn't work with WinAmp3, which is my personal preference, so I can't really say where the plugin is found or how it's installed. Sad

Quote:
Maybe it was just my mind playing tricks on me, but I thought that WolfDX had some sort of special modification to its sound code to make it superior to Wolf4SDL's.
I made a bugfix to the Adlib Sounds playback, but this also exists in my Base Of Operations source code. I also posted the bugfix in the DHWs message board, in the main Wolf4SDL thread, IIRC.

Quote:
Well, I guess I'll have to contend with the MIDI problem until I can see about a better method (I just hope this issue is resolved before public release, I doubt players would favor dealing with these issues).
I think you either have a corrupted DLL file, or something in the source has broken the Midi file's playback code. I have yet to replicate your problem in any mod using AlumiuN's Sound Manager feature.
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:52 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I can get regular IMFs to play no problem, but the weird ones that IMFCreator makes for WolfDX won't play for me.

Hmmm, perhaps the Midi's playback is being messed with in the source as you suggest, but I wouldn't know where. I'm certain I input the files just as the instructions told me to. Maybe the DLL file is corrupted, perhaps also. But I'm certain that I've tried it at least once with another DLL and it netted the same results.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 17 Dec 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2116
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:25 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Metalor wrote:
1. The game crashes at certain times when the MIDI playing loops during gameplay (it also doesn't like it if this happens while a sound effect is playing).

I got the "Pre-Installed on Wolf4SDL v1.6" + "VIEASM v0.9.1 Patch" to compile in Code::Blocks (using the Wolf4SDL v1.6 cbp file and just including/removing the right files), and was able to get some midis to play in the exe, and oggs to play by adding libogg-0.dll, libvorbis-0.dll, and libvorbisfile-3.dll to the game directory. I'm pretty tired now though, maybe tomorrow I'll see if I can get the code to bomb upon midi end/start looping too - heh. Will let you know if I come across any similar behavior.
Metalor
DieHard Mutant
DieHard Mutant


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Last Visit: 15 Dec 2017

Topics: 95
Posts: 901
Location: California
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:46 pm
   Subject: Re: Advanced Sound Manager - first working Beta!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've found that the game bombs more when sounds are playing when the MIDI loops.

_________________
- Taking a hiatus from Wolfenstein for a while...

...But I'll be back, you can count on it!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> SDL Code Crackers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 3 of 4 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Announcement: Wolf4SDL released
Author: Ripper
522 155233 Mon May 22, 2017 2:04 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts [help] Adding teleporters in wolf4sdl
Author: Mortimer
35 7362 Fri May 26, 2017 8:19 am
Military View latest post
No new posts [WOLF4SDL Help] Blake Stone Style doors
Author: Haasboy
3 2197 Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:56 am
Haasboy View latest post
No new posts [Wolf4SDL Help] Inserting a second palette (like in SoD)
Author: Andy_Nonymous
10 2403 Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:59 pm
Adam Biser View latest post
No new posts [Help] Problem with Checkweaponchange function (wolf4sdl)
Author: Mortimer
4 2335 Sat May 17, 2008 11:26 am
Mortimer View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group