DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
Page 2 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:15 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

So here's a little status report:

Most of the new features and bug fixes are implemented by now. Unfortunately, I've found some faulty code in the zoom feature, so I'm currently fixing this - that's why I've postponed the release in the first place. After that I'll finish my work on the new features, which won't take long. I aim for a release this weekend, but I won't promise it.

In other news: I've started to implement the graphics and sound editing features (in a different development branch). So far I'm able to read graphics and sound files. The sprite support isn't quite done yet, as it's read in completely differently than anything else in the VSWAP.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:27 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hi, today I finally present to you the second update for HWE (v0.3.2). You can download it here. This release doesn't include as much new features as the last one, but it includes a lot of important bug fixes. Of course, there are also a couple of new features, e.g. the ability to save maps in the WDC file format. Here's the complete changelog of the latest version:

  • Ability to display map information (Amount of map type objects in the currently selected map)
  • Ability to create map definition structures for unknown file extensions within HWE
  • The main window of HWE is now completely variable in size
  • Native support for the floppy disk version of Corridor 7
  • Ability to save maps in WDC compatible format
  • Additional exception handling
  • Revised and updated help file
  • Map clearing functionality
  • Numerous bug fixes

The next version will finally include graphics and sound editing abilities.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:50 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Quick test/bug report:

I noticed that the "Find & Replace" doesn't work if I use values over 16 (i.e. I can replace walls 8 with walls 9, but I can't replace walls 21 with 22 or objects 110 with 140). Am I doing this right?

Also, when I try to erase stuff with object 0 (nothing) using the pencil tool, it doesn't refresh the picture for that square (and if I replace an object with a different object, both objects show up in that square) - though it does show as changed when I scroll over it and look on the Tile Information. This bug appears to happen only when I have "Show Floors" off in Map View Options (which I normally do, as I'm used to Mapedit 4.1 default and just pressing F when I need to see them).

Here's something else (random) you might find interesting... when I open the maps for DHW SDL Mapset - Spear Edition in HWE, it works - but seems to load a 3rd plane clone of the 2nd. Loading the original SOD maps works normally though.

By the way, thanks for adding the "Map Information" in v0.3.2! It certainly helps for knowing how close I am to the limits. And maximizing the HWE window gives me the exact full map height even on 1024x600 when I auto-hide the Windows Taskbar.
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:38 am
   Subject: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.2 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for the bug report, Chris. I'll take a look at these bugs as soon as I can. I haven't touched the project since October, as I've been really busy with college ever since then Confused

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:49 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
I noticed that the "Find & Replace" doesn't work if I use values over 16 (i.e. I can replace walls 8 with walls 9, but I can't replace walls 21 with 22 or objects 110 with 140). Am I doing this right?


There was a bug in the "Find & Replace" function. I've fixed that now.

Chris wrote:
Also, when I try to erase stuff with object 0 (nothing) using the pencil tool, it doesn't refresh the picture for that square (and if I replace an object with a different object, both objects show up in that square) - though it does show as changed when I scroll over it and look on the Tile Information. This bug appears to happen only when I have "Show Floors" off in Map View Options (which I normally do, as I'm used to Mapedit 4.1 default and just pressing F when I need to see them).


I've found the bug, but couldn't come up with a solution yet: It's caused by the stupid way GDI handles transparency. I'll release an updated version of HWE as soon as I've found a solution for this problem.

Chris wrote:
Here's something else (random) you might find interesting... when I open the maps for DHW SDL Mapset - Spear Edition in HWE, it works - but seems to load a 3rd plane clone of the 2nd. Loading the original SOD maps works normally though.


This is not a bug in HWE, but the way how ChaosEdit saves the maps, when the "3rd Plane" option is deactivated: ChaosEdit saves the third plane with the offset value of the second plane. You'll get the exact same result, with having the third plane seemingly being a clone of the second one, when you open the DHW SDL Mapset with WDC. If you activate the "3rd Plane" option in ChaosEdit, and then save the mapset, you'll see that the third plane is now empty, when you open the mapset in HWE or WDC.

Edit: Fixed typos.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017


Last edited by Havoc on Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:58 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

So here's a little status update just to let you know that the project is still active: Last weekend, I finally found some free time to sit down and work on the editor for a while again. I've started to rewrite my map renderer which is now going to use OpenGL. This way I'm able to eliminate all graphical problems that HWE currently has with using GDI. I'm aiming for a Christmas-time release of the HWE update, but I don't promise that this undertaking will succeed. Stay tuned! Mr Green

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:22 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Sounds interesting Havoc. HWE is a nice light editor! I'll definitely give the OpenGL version a spin when it comes out.
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:49 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Status update: I've finally fixed the transparency problem without rewriting the whole renderer to use OpenGL, but let me explain from the beginning: I've got the OpenGL renderer working, but it's very slow and using way too much CPU power for just rendering some tile graphics. I surely would have been able to fix that, when I learnt more about OpenGL, but I decided to go back to my GDI branch for a last attempt to get rid of the transparency problem before trying to improve the OpenGL branch. After some debugging, I finally realized what I could do to fix the problem in the GDI branch. Now the problem is finally fixed and I'll release an updated version of HWE this weekend. The new version also includes some other bug fixes which I already did a year ago ????

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:04 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE (v0.3.3) has been released (Download from my website). This minor release doesn't include any new features, but some important bug fixes:

  • Fixed a bug that prevented the map editing area from refreshing correctly when the "Show Floor" option was deactivated
  • Fixed a bug that prevented the software update checker from comparing program versions correctly
  • Fixed a bug that prevented the "Find & Replace" functionality from working correctly in all cases


The next major version will include new features again.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017


Last edited by Havoc on Fri Mar 27, 2015 2:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 19:07 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7991
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:34 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

In all honesty, bug fixes are - IMO - the kind of releases I wish were more common. I can't count the number of times I see a piece of software updated countless times over the years, but no long-existing bugs are ever fixed. I admit that additional features can make software "feel" more functional, but the way I see it, bugfixing adds to a program's functionality as well. Smile
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 2:53 pm
   Subject: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.4 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE (v0.3.4) has been released (Download from my website). This new version adds WAD file support and some requested features, and fixes some bugs. It doesn't include the graphics and audio editing ability, as I've decided to start HWE from scratch using Qt and making the editor cross-platform, i.e. not only supporting Windows, but Linux and Mac OS X as well. This new version will start out as a map editor as well, and will get other editing abilities later on. Anyway, here's the changelog of the latest version:

  • Added WAD file support (Used in source ports such as ECWolf)
  • Added a project files selection dialog
  • Last opened project is now remembered by the "Open Project" option
  • The current map number is now displayed in the window title
  • Reduced the maximum map size to 180x180 tiles due to restrictions of the GAMEMAPS file format
  • Fixed several bugs in the "Find & Replace" functionality
  • Fixed broken Blake Stone support

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 19:07 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7991
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:38 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Good to see this utility updated again. Smile
ronwolf1705
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Last Visit: 2:22 ago.

Topics: 69
Posts: 3669

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Nice work! Thumbs Up
ThunderEnema
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Last Visit: 13:01 ago.

Topics: 4
Posts: 185
Location: Washington
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:18 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This is great news! I love this editor. Smile

_________________
"When I see someone wearing crocs in public, I have all the information I need to know that I will never get along with that person." -Me
linuxwolf
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 16 Oct 2012
Last Visit: 04 Nov 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 145


PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:16 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Excellent work. I'm especially pleased you considered Linux users. Smile
RichterBelmont12
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 06 Nov 2017

Topics: 97
Posts: 1505
Location: New Jersey
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:20 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Cool I can use this for the furture mods Smile

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/RichterBelmont12

https://www.facebook.com/RichterBelmont123

https://twitter.com/Richterbelmont6
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:07 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

linuxwolf wrote:
I'm especially pleased you considered Linux users. Smile

Same here.
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:10 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE (v0.3.5) has been released (Download from my website).

Adam Biser wrote:
[...]
Bugs I found:
- Autofloor puts a different floor code inside secret areas. The floor code should match that of the room from which the secret area is accessed.
[...]


And after 4 years, this has been finally addressed with the latest version of HWE Laughing

Adam Biser wrote:
[...]
Havoc wrote:
I'm not a big fan of the RERO (Release early, release often) software development philosophy, because this release model include the possibility of more frequent crashes or even data loss, and that users must update the software more often (see WDC for example). I'm going with the alternative philosophy of "provide only polished, bug-free releases"...
[...]
Granted, I contrived the program crashing bugs to demonstrate that it's difficult to "provide only polished, bug-free releases". Smile
[...]


I still feel stupid that I posted this. Now that I've a few years of work experience as a software developer, I'd never say something like this ever again Embarassed

Anyway, the latest changelog is pretty short:

  • Autofloor functionality now takes secret rooms into consideration
  • Fixed grammar mistakes in several dialogs

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
fraggeur
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Last Visit: 05 Nov 2017

Topics: 11
Posts: 259

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:39 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hi Havoc,

I'd like to say firstly that your editor is the one I use for mapping because of the zoom feature. I can't cope anymore with the others since I found it some years ago.

I am 2 versions behind the latest, but I think there is a bug that has not been fixed yet.
In the "Zoom factor" area, it seems we can't reach some intermediary steps right away. I am using zoom X2, but I can only go to zoom X1 or X4 or X8, to reach X2 and X6, we have first to go one of the other and then hold the mouse left click and drag to the X2 or X6...

Hope it's not only me, and that the feedback may help.
Thanks again for this excellent editor!

Greetings
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:34 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

fraggeur wrote:
In the "Zoom factor" area, it seems we can't reach some intermediary steps right away. I am using zoom X2, but I can only go to zoom X1 or X4 or X8, to reach X2 and X6, we have first to go one of the other and then hold the mouse left click and drag to the X2 or X6...


Hi fraggeur,

I've fixed this bug now. The fix will be part of the next release. Thanks for reporting it! Beer

fraggeur wrote:
Thanks again for this excellent editor!


My pleasure! Too Cool

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:16 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE (v0.3.6) has been released (Download from my website). This minor release doesn't include any new features, but some important bug fixes and improvements:

  • Reimplemented flood fill functionality
  • Fixed a bug in the zoom slider control that didn't allow to directly select intermediary zoom factors
  • Fixed a bug in the solid rectangle tool that didn't allow to place rectangles that are only 1 tile wide

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
fraggeur
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Last Visit: 05 Nov 2017

Topics: 11
Posts: 259

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:18 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks Havoc, looks pretty good. I have upgraded!
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 11:57 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE (v0.3.7) has been released (Download from my website). This new version includes minor UI improvements, some bug fixes and support for Super 3D Noah's Ark:

  • Support for Super 3D Noah's Ark
  • Changed color of the map grid
  • The validation checks for map filenames and map definition filenames are now case insensitive
  • Added ability to browse the list entries of the map symbols and map symbol types dialog with the arrow keys
  • Fixed some UI bugs in the map symbols and map symbol types dialog
  • Fixed a memory leak in the map symbol types dialog
  • Fixed a bug that prevented the "Check for update at startup" option from being written to the main configuration file
  • Revised and updated help file

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
linuxwolf
Bring 'em On
Bring 'em On


Joined: 16 Oct 2012
Last Visit: 04 Nov 2017

Topics: 6
Posts: 145


PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:32 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That's more great news for mappers.

I have some experience with ChaosEdit. Does HWE have its own equivalent of files you typically find in a ChaosEdit project? I'm thinking specifically of the following files:
    Lists.txt
    sprinfo.txt
    Symbols.bmp

In other words does HWE have flexibility in the kinds of map support it can provide? This is important for completely custom mods.

EDIT: It seems HWE has this flexibility already. I just had a quick look. Good job.
fraggeur
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Last Visit: 05 Nov 2017

Topics: 11
Posts: 259

blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:43 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I can't see my plane 3 (extra) map symbols.
Even if I tick to show it in the "map view (F2)". If for example I disable plane 1 wall/floor and plane 2 objects, then my map is all black.

Also all tiles categories are ticked to be displayed (the ones for plane 3 are all "other tiles").

I use v0.3.6 but I think it is only me, otherwise the bug would have been reported already... any clue someone?

EDIT:

It does the same with 0.3.7, also, I can't preset the zoom factor to 2, even by editing the ini file, is that normal?
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:16 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Plane 3 has the "Split into low and high bytes" feature enabled by default, so if you're working in the 16-bit mode while this feature is enabled you can't see the tiles on plane 3.

You can deactivate the feature in the Plane Manager (You can find the Plane Manager under "Map > Plane Manager" or by pressing Ctrl + D): Select "Plane 3 (Extra)", uncheck "Split into low and high bytes", and click "OK". You should now be able to see the tiles, if you made plane 3 visible under "Map View Options (F2)" or directly in the Plane Manager (Check "Show Plane").

I can't reproduce the problem with zoom factor 2, it works fine for me.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
fraggeur
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Last Visit: 05 Nov 2017

Topics: 11
Posts: 259

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:33 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thanks for your quick answer!

Hmm... Indeed if I select low byte, I can see plane 3 tiles that are integer like 127 etc... the other are above 40 000 and those don't show. Makes full sense I guess.
If I don't split then I see everything. Ok got it, so I guess in my case I have to work in Int16 mode, otherwise I should rework my ID's to segregate low and high bytes, that would also add more flexibility in the floor/ceiling combinations.

About the zoom factor, in the ini file, 0 is for 1, 1 is for 2, 2 is for 4, 3 for 6 and 4 for 8. And that's true that the ini file gets updated correctly when I close the progam. But then if I reopen and load my definitions, it is reset to 0 (1 in the UI) everytime.

[General]
ExtendedMapNames=0
WDCCompatibleMaps=0
Compression=1
RLEWTag=43981
NearTag=167
FarTag=168
MapGrid=0
ZoomFactor=1
WADFile=0
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:14 pm
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

fraggeur wrote:
Thanks for your quick answer!

Hmm... Indeed if I select low byte, I can see plane 3 tiles that are integer like 127 etc... the other are above 40 000 and those don't show. Makes full sense I guess.
If I don't split then I see everything. Ok got it, so I guess in my case I have to work in Int16 mode, otherwise I should rework my ID's to segregate low and high bytes, that would also add more flexibility in the floor/ceiling combinations.


Wolfenstein 3D maps are using unsigned 16-bit integers to store map tile values, so the highest tile ID you could use in the 16-bit mode is 65535.

fraggeur wrote:
About the zoom factor, in the ini file, 0 is for 1, 1 is for 2, 2 is for 4, 3 for 6 and 4 for 8. And that's true that the ini file gets updated correctly when I close the progam. But then if I reopen and load my definitions, it is reset to 0 (1 in the UI) everytime.


Okay, this is a bug. I thought you meant you couldn't set the zoom factor to 2 while using the editor.

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017
Havoc
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 16 Mar 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 190
Location: Germany
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:10 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

A new version of HWE ( v0.3.8 ) has been released (Download from my website). This new version includes a small bug fix:

  • Fixed a bug where the "ZoomFactor" option was reset in the map definition file of a project when the project was reloaded

_________________
Havoc's Wolf3D Page - updated 02/20/2017


Last edited by Havoc on Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
fraggeur
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Last Visit: 05 Nov 2017

Topics: 11
Posts: 259

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:57 am
   Subject: Re: Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.12 released!
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That works just fine, and again thanks for your dedication!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 2 of 3 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts WDC
Author: Adam Biser
556 46630 Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:13 am
Adam Biser View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit preRelease released ;D
Author: Ripper
177 23921 Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:03 pm
Tricob View latest post
No new posts Problems with FloEdit II... (Please help!)
Author: Metal Overlord
13 4012 Wed May 17, 2006 11:24 pm
Codetech84 View latest post
No new posts Wolf3-D Shareware to Registered VSwap importer
Author: OBrasilo
0 1503 Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:07 pm
OBrasilo View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit: Second beta phase started!
Author: Ripper
151 24726 Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:42 am
Zombie_Plan View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group