DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Other Wolf3d Based Games View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Per-Scn
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013

Topics: 7
Posts: 70

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 12:41 pm
   Subject: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Just wondering if it's remotely possible to convert Super Noah's Ark. I emailed Wisdom Tree months ago regarding a possible update to SDL but I never heard anything back.

So, I was thinking; could some clever person here reverse engineer/hack the game and convert it to SDL, at all?

I think it's a really fun diversion and I'd love to see it running smoothly and at 640x400... Maybe even make some new maps for it! Smile
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 1:58 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8008
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:49 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

From what I've heard, Super Noah's 3-D Ark mainly has changes to the files themselves, rather than the code. But that's going strictly by the SNES version.

I'd really have to run the DOS version before I can give any more feedback on this issue. Sad
vermil
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2016

Topics: 17
Posts: 258

uk.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:18 am
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The SNES version plays like a reskin of SNES Wolf3D with walk over end level triggers.

The PC version plays identically to the SNES version with the following additions:
Blake Stone style textured floors (i.e. not Operation Body Count styled)
Midi music
Mac Resolution graphics
8 directional sprites for bad guys
A powerup that upon pickup, pops up a screen asking a random multiple choice bible related question; a right answer gives the player a stat boost IIRC.

What version of the Wolf engine that the PC version is based off though... well here's the startup screen:

Per-Scn
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013

Topics: 7
Posts: 70

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:58 am
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The game also contains an automap. With this and the above mentioned differences I think the game is a real step up from the original engine. Though I do have a soft spot for the IMF music sound...

Tricob, just wondering, do you have a copy of the game to hand?

It's a pity that the game code has never been released. Between that and the loss of the Blake Stone source it's a shame... Sad
vermil
DieHard Guard
DieHard Guard


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Last Visit: 05 Oct 2016

Topics: 17
Posts: 258

uk.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:30 am
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

The automap was in the SNES version of Wolf, hence why I didn't mention it Smile
Per-Scn
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013

Topics: 7
Posts: 70

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:05 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ah, I forgot about that. Wolf3D on the SNES had the automap too didn't it? It's a feature I wish would turn up in some more of the modern W3D projects...
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 1:58 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8008
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:26 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Per-Scn wrote:
Tricob, just wondering, do you have a copy of the game to hand?
Sort of; it's part of a *large* torrent file I downloaded several months ago. I downloaded the torrent to get a few obscure Shareware releases, and the Noah game happened to come with it.

I gave the Noah game a whirl last night; it has many more code changes than the SNES version did. But from what I see so far, the changes aren't mind-blowing. I think I should locate a PDF manual for this game to learn more about its features.
Per-Scn
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013

Topics: 7
Posts: 70

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:53 am
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'll have a look around as well to see if there's a manual somewhere though I'm not sure how informative it'll be.

BTW, thanks for showing some interest this topic. I half expected that nobody would care a jot about the game. Smile
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:33 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

vermil wrote:
Mac Resolution graphics

The only PC version of SNA-3D I've seen has 64x64 walls/sprites and 320x200 native resolution just like Wolf3d for PC. In fact, you can open pretty much every file for it in ChaosEdit except the AUDIOT... so aside from a few new coding features, different palette, midi music, and some picture/frame alignment stuff, most of it should already work as a straight port to Wolf4SDL.
Per-Scn
Don't Hurt Me
Don't Hurt Me


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013

Topics: 7
Posts: 70

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:04 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Ooh, that's interesting. I take the AUDIOT can't be opened due to the whole MIDI thing and the lack of support for it in ChaosEdit?

So, you think it could, at least in theory, be a fairly straight forward port?
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 1:58 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 8008
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:22 pm
   Subject: Re: Is it possible to convert SNA-3D to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Well, some parts are more straightforward than others. I know the VGAGRAPH layout is quite different; it uses several chunks in the title screen alone, while the Wolf3D/SOD code uses just two maximum (The Wolf3D screen uses one chunk, while the SOD screen is split into two chunks for the top and bottom). You'd have to reprogram the GFXV_WL6.H file and two CPP files before the EXE would even execute (WL_MAIN.CPP and WL_INTER.CPP).

The Noah game uses quizzes as well, and there's more than one way to program that sort of feature. But you don't need that particular feature for your very first functional EXE; it can always be added later.

As I said earlier, I'll have to look over the manual to get more details.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Other Wolf3d Based Games View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Has Anyone else Played this Game
Author: BrotherTank
49 13472 Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:46 pm
Frenkel View latest post
No new posts Another similar to wolf game
Author: Born4battle
1 1342 Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:13 am
Ringman View latest post
No new posts Super Noah's Ark 3-d
Author: Guest
30 1910 Sun Nov 06, 2005 10:41 pm
Chris View latest post
No new posts Ken's Labyrinth (Not a Wolf3D engine game, but close)
Author: Guest
16 575 Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:24 pm
Ringman View latest post
No new posts Can anyone remember this game????
Author: nova
21 385 Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:59 pm
Guest View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group