DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

"Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 12:40 ago.

Topics: 164
Posts: 8229
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:57 pm
   Subject: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I recently ported "Attack Of The Mutant Munchkins Of Doom" to SDL. Until it's posted in Wolfenstein Goodies, you can find it here.

Distorted music? Yeah, the in-game music has this for some reason. It appears that when the IMF playback is higher than a certain volume, it gets distorted in Wolf4SDL. I do intend to correct this when I redo the game with 128x128 graphics. But I don't have the midi file I used to create the IMF tune. At this point, all I can do is attempt to redo the Midi in IMF form again, and hope it sounds the same.
Soldat 555
Guest



Last Visit:





PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:00 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Before converting it to IMF, what you can do is use a program like AnvilStudio to lower the volume. Hope that suggestion helps. Smile
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 12:40 ago.

Topics: 164
Posts: 8229
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:46 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Thank you for the tip. Smile As a matter of fact, I already use Anvil Studio to fine-tune each Midi before it goes through the "IMF Creator" run. It was also used to create the tunes "Only One Survives", "There's Trouble Ahead", and "Into The Fire". That's right - all three of those tunes were created from scratch using Anvil Studio.

Anyway, back to the in-game music of this mod. I was able to recover the original Midi file after all, and make the changes, but the instruments are all just as loud as before ... no matter what volume the Midi file is set to. The instrument used is the Marimba. I have modified the instrument to play a little softer, but it doesn't sound quite the same. Sad
gerolf
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Jul 2018

Topics: 162
Posts: 1083
Location: Alabama
usa.gif

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:33 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Try changing the instruments, or deleting a few of the channels that are not audible over IMF.

The midi could be corrupted.

_________________
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 12:40 ago.

Topics: 164
Posts: 8229
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:07 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

gerolf wrote:
Try changing the instruments, or deleting a few of the channels that are not audible over IMF.
I have tried other instruments, but it doesn't have quite the same effect. As it is, only four channels are used in all, and it starts playing using only two.

Quote:
The midi could be corrupted.
Hm ... that wouldn't explain why its plays perfectly when the Marimba is changed to a Jazz Guitar or Acoustic Guitar. But like I said before, when I use those instruments instead, it doesn't have near the same effect or the same sound. Sad
Lozer_42
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Last Visit: 6:24 ago.

Topics: 49
Posts: 1164
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:21 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

This sounds like some of the problems I had with making/converting the music for Batman v Bane. It is definitely has something to do with how the IMF instrument is being generated. I'm not entirely sure what settings make certain instruments act this way, but it's the IMF instrument, not the midi...

_________________
Team RayCast YouTube Let's Play Commentaries
View Team RayCast on Mod DB
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 12:40 ago.

Topics: 164
Posts: 8229
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:26 am
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

From what I can tell, if the volume of the IMF instrument is Zero, it seems to ignore the Midi file's volume setting altogether.
linuxwolf
I am Death Incarnate
I am Death Incarnate


Joined: 16 Oct 2012
Last Visit: 14 Oct 2018

Topics: 7
Posts: 176


PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 6:30 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I played through level 1. Is there a level 2?
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 12:40 ago.

Topics: 164
Posts: 8229
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 8:56 pm
   Subject: Re: "Munchkins" DOS mod ported to SDL?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Nope; I'm afraid not. Sad The DOS version wasn't supposed to have more than one level, either. But being the inexperienced coder I was at the time, I didn't know how to disable levels beyond Level #1.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Addons/Mods/TC's View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Review of "Project Eisenritter" by Wolf Skevos-Jon
Author: Executor
5 6144 Wed Jun 23, 2004 12:32 pm
Executor View latest post
No new posts Review of "Operation Heimzahlung" by Wolf Skevos-J
Author: Executor
8 5081 Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:34 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts n00b... lol and first game
Author: Guest
6 215 Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:27 pm
TheTalentedMrLeo View latest post
No new posts Wolfenstein Coalition
Author: Guest
6 275 Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:12 am
Majik Monkee View latest post
No new posts "First Person"...RPG?
Author: Guest
8 237 Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:55 am
Commodore View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group