DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

wolf4sdl problem
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 10:43 pm
   Subject: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I just tried to install wolf4sdl shareware on an old notebook and got this error when trying to run it:-

Unable to init SDL: No Available Video device

yet the same notebook runs Dosbox, which is an SDL application

anybody have any thoughts on what would be causing this?
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 11:35 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

What OS and specs does the notebook have?
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 11:40 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
What OS and specs does the notebook have?


windows xp - I suspect it might only be running a generic vga video driver
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 11:49 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

That might have something to do with it, although technically Wolf4SDL should still run on that.
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:00 am
   Subject: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Are there any older versions of wolf4sdl that I could test?
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:08 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I'm fairly sure Wolf4SDL has used the same way of creating a window and drawing it since it was created. Are you using a prebuilt EXE or one you've built yourself?
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:16 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

prebuilt...from Brian Lowes old wolf page (the yellow one)
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:27 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Hmm, that's probably quite an old version of Wolf4SDL Razz
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 3:00 am
   Subject: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Set up a xp box with minimal drivers (vgasave for video) and encountered the same error....looks like its just a video driver issue that needs to be corrected.

Wolf4sdl must use some feature(s) that dosbox does not????
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 4:56 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Which renderer do you use for Dosbox?
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:24 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
Which renderer do you use for Dosbox?


None, no scaler or aspect correction



edit:-

My customized dosbox.conf

[sdl]
fullscreen=true
[cpu]
cycles=7500
[autoexec]
mount c .
c:
wolf3d -nowait
exit
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:33 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Do Barry's exes here work? I think they use newer SDL 1.2.15 and SDL_mixer 1.2.12

http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/viewtopic.php?t=7740
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:41 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
Do Barry's exes here work? I think they use newer SDL 1.2.15 and SDL_mixer 1.2.12

http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/viewtopic.php?t=7740


Tried and failed with the same original error...but thank you for the suggestion
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 1:15 ago.

Topics: 36
Posts: 2393
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:00 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I can't remember what Dosbox's default render mode is, but it definitely has one Razz I believe the equivalent to what Wolf4SDL uses is surface, but I seem to remember Dosbox's default isn't that.
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:06 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
I can't remember what Dosbox's default render mode is, but it definitely has one Razz I believe the equivalent to what Wolf4SDL uses is surface, but I seem to remember Dosbox's default isn't that.


I actually use an older version of dosbox for wolf3d.... I don't think it has a selectable renderer anyway
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 7:15 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Installed correct video driver and wolf4sdl now works perfectly.....would be interested if anyone could compile an exe with 'lower level' SDL support, similar to dosbox 0.57 which works great for dos wolf3d
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 30 Oct 2017

Topics: 55
Posts: 2115
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 11:27 am
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

RaVeN72 wrote:
would be interested if anyone could compile an exe with 'lower level' SDL support, similar to dosbox 0.57 which works great for dos wolf3d

I'm using the latest Dosbox 0.74 svn in Linux. What advantage does Dosbox 0.57 have over this, in layman's terms / Plain English?
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:45 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 1:26 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I've found even the most broken, outdated video drivers work if you set up the right parameters through a batch file. On a laptop, you'll probably be able to get it running in Windowed mode. If your OS was older than WinXP, you might not have enough video memory to run Wolf4SDL, but that's not the story here. Smile
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 2:31 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
RaVeN72 wrote:
would be interested if anyone could compile an exe with 'lower level' SDL support, similar to dosbox 0.57 which works great for dos wolf3d

I'm using the latest Dosbox 0.74 svn in Linux. What advantage does Dosbox 0.57 have over this, in layman's terms / Plain English?


the only advantage I have come across with the older versions is they work better on old hardware....if 0.74 is good on your system than stick with it...great to see someone else getting in on the discussion as well Very Happy
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 2:34 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tricob wrote:
I've found even the most broken, outdated video drivers work if you set up the right parameters through a batch file. On a laptop, you'll probably be able to get it running in Windowed mode. If your OS was older than WinXP, you might not have enough video memory to run Wolf4SDL, but that's not the story here. Smile


I did try some parameters for wolf4sdl...but no matter what i tried the original error still persisted - as stated in another post, fixing the video driver solved the problem

would be interested to see if anyone can get it to run using parameters on a generic vgasave system
Tricob
Moderator
<B>Moderator</B>


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Last Visit: 0:45 ago.

Topics: 160
Posts: 7993
Location: Neo-traditions, Inc.
usa.gif

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 6:03 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I would try -

::: CODE :::
wolf4sdl --res 320 200 --windowed

This will run it on a 320x200 resolution in a window. It's not very visible on 1024x768 and above, but if you're dealing with odd resolutions or something smaller like a 640x480, it might be more practical.
RaVeN72
Can I Play Daddy
Can I Play Daddy


Joined: 06 May 2017
Last Visit: 27 Jun 2017

Topics: 7
Posts: 38


PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 7:26 pm
   Subject: Re: wolf4sdl problem
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Tricob wrote:
I would try -

::: CODE :::
wolf4sdl --res 320 200 --windowed

This will run it on a 320x200 resolution in a window. It's not very visible on 1024x768 and above, but if you're dealing with odd resolutions or something smaller like a 640x480, it might be more practical.



interestingly, this brings up the help menu, but not run the game



...and the irony of fixing the video driver on the notebook is that now dosbox can be run with full render/scaler options - giving better overall results then wolf4sdl

although it does mean the SDL TC's are now playable, as before the were not

all in all, a successful exercise - and I've learned a thing or two along the way....
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Wolfenstein 3d View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts YEEHAA!!! aka. The Ultimate DOSBox Discussion Topic No. 1
Author: Thomas
17 2238 Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:32 am
Thomas View latest post
No new posts [Help] Can't run Wolf3D anymore...
Author: Adam Biser
11 1984 Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:03 pm
Adam Biser View latest post
No new posts Wolf3-D Shareware v1.2...
Author: OBrasilo
22 3474 Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:31 am
GLENN View latest post
No new posts ChaosEdit: preRelease version available!
Author: Ripper
7 1535 Fri Jul 01, 2005 7:49 am
GLENN View latest post
No new posts floedit error
Author: Guest
3 132 Mon Mar 28, 2005 4:06 pm
Sporb2000 View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group