DieHard Wolfers Forum Index DieHard Wolfers
A Wolfenstein 3d Fan Community


  Hosted by: MCS & Areyep.com - Designed by: BrotherTank

Original Yahoo Forum - Die Hard Archives

AReyeP HomepageAreyep Homepage DieHard Wolfenstein BunkerDieHard Wolfenstein Bunker Log inLog in RegisterRegister Banlist FAQFAQ Search ForumsSearch

  Username:    Password:      Remember me       

@Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
Page 1 of 1
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page BottomView Next Topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Thirdkeeper
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Last Visit: 30 Aug 2019

Topics: 4
Posts: 22

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:41 pm
   Subject: @Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Clueless noob here.. DLd the editor and was right at home again.- After 20 years of going without an editor - I was
finally able to correct all ten levels of 'Wolfmax' that I built back when I was a green sprout of 43 years.

'File' Save project - ok, project saved. - I go into the game and there are no changes.

Back to the editor:

'File' - Export map - 'Yes/No?' - No - ok. Exported 10 map package as Wolfmax.hwe

Question - what can I now do with the file?

Back in the day, I was dealing with WL6 files - gamemaps, maphead, etc. - Drop them in my wolf dir and I'm set to go..

Love the editor and I'm so grateful to be fixing this project - like scratching an itch that's been bugging me for decades.

Please tell me - What now?

Thanks for any help - and for this wonderful creation !8 ) -> ?8 /
AlumiuN
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Last Visit: 0:40 ago.

Topics: 40
Posts: 2620
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:36 pm
   Subject: Re: @Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

I believe HWE is supposed to work the same - Save Project should overwrite the maps if you're loading the right ones. Are the changes saved if you close out of HWE and reopen it?

The Export option is for passing individual maps (or less maps than an entire WL6 file) around, so it uses its own format.
Chris
DieHard Wolfer
DieHard Wolfer


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Last Visit: 23 Sep 2019

Topics: 57
Posts: 2239
Location: Canada
blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:22 am
   Subject: Re: @Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

There is also a floppy disk button (second on the left) that should save the maps in HWE. If it doesn't, you might have placed your files in a directory Windows doesn't give you permission to save in or maybe the files are open in something else too (like wolf3d.exe) and currently set them to read-only? Not sure if HWE complains if either of those are the case.
Thirdkeeper
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Last Visit: 30 Aug 2019

Topics: 4
Posts: 22

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:52 am
   Subject: Re: @Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Next PostGoto Bottom of Posts

AlumiuN wrote:
I believe HWE is supposed to work the same - Save Project should overwrite the maps if you're loading the right ones. Are the changes saved if you close out of HWE and reopen it?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Haven't tried that since I asked the question - I'll give it a go.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AlumiuN wrote:
The Export option is for passing individual maps (or less maps than an entire WL6 file) around, so it uses its own format.


Oh - I thought so, but I didn't know how the .wl6 files were recovered. HWE will do that when I load save proj, I take it..

Thanks very much for the reply - I'm afraid that it might be a prob of my own making.. I have about 6 copies of Wolf and ECWolf
is probably targeted for another dir than the one I loaded the files from. - Another one of my usual messes.. <8-/

Thanks Again


Last edited by Thirdkeeper on Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Thirdkeeper
Registered User
Registered User


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Last Visit: 30 Aug 2019

Topics: 4
Posts: 22

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:01 pm
   Subject: Re: @Havoc Just call me - Thick As A Brick - saving .WL6?
   [ IP : Logged ]
Reply with quote
Goto Top of PostsGoto Previous PostGoto Bottom of Posts

Chris wrote:
There is also a floppy disk button (second on the left) that should save the maps in HWE. If it doesn't, you might have placed your files in a directory Windows doesn't give you permission to save in or maybe the files are open in something else too (like wolf3d.exe) and currently set them to read-only? Not sure if HWE complains if either of those are the case.


Thanks Chris - Man, I haven't seen a floppy drive in a few years - but I like having the button - kinda - cool ! : )
I believe that I messed up and loaded files from a different Wolf Dir than the one associated with ECWolf.
(Running Win 7 and have complete access to all directories.)

Sorry for wasting everyone's time 8-/ - I'll attempt to not be a pest in future..

Thanks so much for your kind consideration though. -> !
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Time synchronized with the forum server time
DieHard Wolfers Forum Index -> Beta Breakers View Previous TopicRefresh this PageAdd Topic to your Browser FavoritesSearch ForumsPrint this TopicE-mail TopicGoto Page TopView Next Topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Havoc's Wolf3D Editor (HWE) - Version 0.3.13 released!
Author: Havoc
89 30232 Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:16 am
Havoc View latest post
No new posts I'm making a new set of Wolf file formats - any requests?
Author: AlumiuN
7 2659 Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:43 pm
AlumiuN View latest post
No new posts Project: Omega
Author: Crane
0 2130 Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:00 pm
Crane View latest post
No new posts Problems with FloEdit II... (Please help!)
Author: Metal Overlord
13 6682 Wed May 17, 2006 11:24 pm
Codetech84 View latest post
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
   You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright ©2003-2008 DieHard Wolfers
A Modified subBunker Theme by BrotherTank
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group